We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience during Marathon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chicago Parthenon Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chicago Parthenon Hostel
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good experience during Marathon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

A great place if you are planning to run the Chocago Marathon. Many guest that weeken dare runners, the race runs in front of hte Hostel, so your team can cheer without going to far. The Hostel serves a decent breakfast. Only bad thing is hte very angry guy (may be the owner) keeping watch of the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    73
    39
    17
    15
See reviews for
9
31
53
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
st. petersburg florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Be very careful when booking here. You cannot see what you are getting over the internet. The rooms are very shabby. If they would go to a few garage sales, they could update this place. The kitchen is ridiculous ...it's a joke. The tv did not work so that wasn't going to entertain me. When you reserve over the internet, they keep a part of the rate...once you get there and change your mind they will not refund your money. They would not let me see the room first. They like to blame everything on the computer. These people are not Americans. They are in fact parasites. Good luck to you if you read this and go there anyway. Oh my goodness. You will find out like I did.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank periodontal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

The location is ok. It's close to the Blue Line and the Greyhound Station. It's 1 mile to walk downtown. The rooms are not well ventilated. It was warm an sticky in there. You have no cooking facilities - just a fridge, a microwave and a water boiler (no dishes, no water in the kitchen). I hade to change rooms, but both betts were dirty (there have been a lot of hairs in there before I used it). The water pressure in the shower is not very high. If you sit on a toilet, your knees touch the door, which couldn't been locked most of the time. For breakfast you get toast, pre-peeled eegs, 2 types of jam, bananas, cornflakes, tea, water and coffee. That's it. For $33 a night in a 8 bett dorm it''s ... not enough.

Room Tip: Don't book here except you have to take the Greyhound bus in the early morning (3am) like me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rudisoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashgabat, Turkmenistan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

The lady at the reception named Cookie was helpful. She actually managed to reserve me a bed for 5 days when it was available only for 2 days.

Pros:

- Good location to visit sights and get to the metro station
- Friendly environment
- Staff is helpful
- Free wi-fi and breakfast provided
- No curfew
- Walmart and walgreens are very close if you need to get some cheap food


Cons:
- No air conditioning and windows are closed
- Not cheap. $35 per night including tax in a 8 bed room.
- No alcohol is allowed
- The stairs are too high to descend if you have a heavy luggage
- The old manager at cafeteria is rather rude, than polite to all visitors. He scares every visitor and I observed it during my 5 days stay. You need to change him.
- The men's shower is not always clean.
- No hostel spirit at all. Feels like a regular hotel
- Everyone is by themselves and you do not actually come across women to get to know them or just talk.
-Same type of breakfast every day.
- Our room did not get cleaned up at all.
- All staff are very old for a hostel, no nice looking female staff
- Disco bars and jazz bars are very far from this distance if you like a night life
- Wi-fi is slow

Overall, other than the price and the canteen man I have a good impression of this hostel. Recommend it. Almost all hostels I visited in Chicago offer similar or higher prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Great hostel with clean excellently priced rooms.Greek restaurant beside with great food also.Would highly recommend a stay here whilst in Chicago especially if on a budget.Staff very friendly and welcoming. Very nice place and close to all amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OirishMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Lady at the reception wasn't that nice. Boyfriend and I got a private room that wasn't good at all. Sheets had stains and boyfriend woke up with bites on his legs, we cannot be 100% positive that the bites came from the room, but we did notice them the next day. Breakfast was good, though. We will not be back and we can't really recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elmundoaldia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Good location and within walking distance of Downtown. The buffet breakfast was really good with a choice of cereals, toast, eggs, fruit, coffee/tea and juices . The common area was nice and our twin private room was spacious. No proper kitchen, just a microwave and fridge. Apparently there was a proper kitchen further down the road but we did not go there as it was too much hassle to have to get a key etc. The hostel was very noisy at night with people shouting on the streets and slamming doors in the corridor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Strawberry3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Loop
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#110 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#16 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#96 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chicago Parthenon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chicago Parthenon Hostel

Property: The Chicago Parthenon Hostel
Address: 310 S Halsted St, Chicago, IL 60661-5406
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chicago Parthenon Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Chicago Parthenon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aae Chicago Parthenon Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing