We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel....great location!”
Review of Ohio House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ohio House Motel
Ranked #131 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed two nights in June 2012. The motel is absolutely old and dated....but our room was very clean. Carpet was relatively new and the bed was a tad saggy....but it worked. Location was great....we walked to all the sites. It is a noisy, busy intersection so be prepared with ear plugs! The diner takes you right back to the 70's......good food and cheap prices. Bascially you won't find another hotel/motel downtown at these rates.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ernst-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Thank you for your excellent review of The Ohio House Motel! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and I can assure you that it will be passed along to the appropriate departments. Please come back and see us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

Spent one night in transit in a spacious, air-conditioned room with about one hundred channels to choose between on the TV! The bathroom was clean and the beds allright. The staff was very helpful with printing of boardingcards and storing luggage before departure. And the location is fantastic, very close to the centre of town. The walk along Grand to the nearest station on the Blue Line for O'Hare airport is quite long, however. All in all, an affordable and recommended motel alternative in the centre of Chicago.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrLicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Thank you so much for your review of The Ohio House Motel. It sounds like you really enjoyed our neighborhood and took advantage of all that it had to offer! You really can walk to everything from here. I hope that you enjoyed your time here in Chicago, and that we can welcome you back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Dirty. Bedbugs. Human fluids on the comforter (hey - that's not comforting), thin blanket, and sheets. Room smells like death. I stayed here because everything between downtown and ORD was booked. Next time, I'll upgrade and sleep in the bus station.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank aronsolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for staying at The Ohio House Motel during your recent trip to Chicago. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your visit. Over the past two years, we have made many upgrades to our motel, such as new carpeting and furnishings in most rooms. As you know, the only room available on that day you checked in was a smoking room. We are sensitive to the fact that for a non smoker, a smoking room can be unpleasant, but you agreed to take the room under the circumstances. Please allow me to reassure you that our rooms are inspected daily for cleanliness and to give our guests the highest level of guest satisfaction. And, like most hotels, we employ a nationally known pest control company to ensure that our rooms are pest-free. Anything less that that is unacceptable to our motel. Upon your return to Chicago, please call me directly so that I may make a reservation for you in one of our newly renovated rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on a road trip across the states. We chose this hotel mainly for the location and the free parking. The motel has the same comforts as motels you find along the highway, only this one is downtown of a major city. The biggest advantage of this motel is also the biggest disadvantage. Being in the middle of the city you get a great deal of noise. 2 busy streets, a gym and a nightclub around the corner can affect your night sleep. It didn't bodder us at all, great stay for a reasonable price!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dimitri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I assure you that this has been addressed by proper management. We truly appreciate your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Great value and location.. but beds are very uncomfortable...cardboard would ne better...and if you are not a heavy sleeper,then prepare to not get any sleep.you can hear everything through the Windows..and sat night at three in the morning.when the bars let out is like the movie fast and the furious.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank piz26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lmanager, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you for choosing The Ohio House Motel for your stay in Chicago. We apologize we did not meet your needs during your last stay. Our recent upgrades have included all new bedding as well as new air conditioning, renovated rooms, and microwaves and refrigerators in select rooms. We assure our guests a most clean comfortable stay. Please call us again and we will asign you to a room that best meets your needs Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My girlfriend and I drove through Chicago and stumbled upon this place. It was the only place we could afford so we decided to give it a try. Boy were we sure disappointed! There was a couple days of heat, 90+, and our room was super hot. We asked the office folks to turn on the a/c and they said they would. It came on for maybe a few minutes. We thought if we went sightseeing and came back later, that the room would be cool. Sadly, it was still hot even after the sun went down. The place is decent and the rest of the stay was fine; staff was nice, rooms pretty clean. But I wouldn't recommend coming here on really hot days.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JT357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lmanager, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Thank you for choosing The Ohio House Motel during your visit to Chicago! We have been making many improvements to our property recently. Our goal is 100% guest satisfaction and comfort. We are making the necessary adjustments to our new and upgraded system assuring you a most comfortable stay. Thank you for letting us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Was told by an employee at the thermostat in the rooms are DUMMIES and that if a guest calls to complain that staff is to tell them that the temperature can be controlled remotely.

Their home office does not want guests to know that the thermostats are dummies.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Withheld798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lmanager, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Thank you for choosing The Ohio House Motel during your visit to Chicago. We have made many upgrades and improvements here to reassure our guests they have the most comfortable stay! We are currently making the necessary changes to our new a/c system to continue to be the best value in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Near North Side
FieldHouse Jones
FieldHouse Jones
#102 of 192 in Chicago
110 reviews
Kenwood
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago - Lake Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Felix
#119 of 192 in Chicago
1,645 reviews
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#123 of 192 in Chicago
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohio House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohio House Motel

Address: 600 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £72 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ohio House Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ohio House Motel offers 2 star accommodations in the heart of downtown Chicago. We are walking distance from Chicago's finest attractions and are located in Chicago's River North neighborhood with free parking, Wi-Fi, HDTV, and free breakfast when you book us direct! The Ohio House Motel offers the best value lodging in downtown Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Ohio House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohio House Hotel Chicago
Ohio Motel Chicago
Ohio Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing