We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ohio House Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$678
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$614
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$452
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$370
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Central Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$664
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$508
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$771
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$659
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$711
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$665
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
River Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$624
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$583
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$681
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$614
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$626
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$599
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$727
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$692
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$832
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveller rating
181
256
128
31
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
256
128
31
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationdowntown chicagowithin walking distancerainforest caferoom was cleanfridge and microwavefree breakfastthe loopnavy pierthe magnificent milefew blocksenjoyed my stayblue linemichigan avenueleghornlodgingrates
Filter
Updating list...
375 - 380 of 638 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Fabolous location and nice price for an unpretentious authentic Americana motel. Unbelievable it could survive inside the center of Chicago. A simple diner is located nearby the entrance where to enjoy breakfast in the same style. I love it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skardanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hello!
Thank you for your kind words! Ah yes! The Fabulous Fifties! Those WERE the days when life was simple! We carry that tradition on here at The Ohio House! "Simple yet meaningful!
We're looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I received Chicago CityPasses for Christmas and decided to put them to use right away. We love historic Route 66 so naturally thought this was a unique place to stay. We loved that it was only a few blocks away from the Magnificent Mile and felt very safe in the neighborhood. It was also located next to lots of fun restaurants, including Ed Debevic's, the Hard Rock Cafe, Rainforest Cafe, and of course the Rock and Roll McDonalds right across the street. The onsite free parking was a great plus, and we were given complimentary breakfast tickets served across the street by the Best Western. The staff was also extremely helpful and understanding when we had to add a few extra days onto our stay due to the extreme weather. Also, if you don't mind a longer walk, my husband and I enjoyed the 3 mile walk down to Museum Campus. I will definitely recommend this hotel to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cassie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Thank you so much for your review of The Ohio House Motel. It sounds like you really enjoyed our neighborhood and took advantage of all that it had to offer! You really can walk to everything from here. I hope that you enjoyed your time here in Chicago, and that we can welcome you back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

And another great stay at the Ohio House Motel.
10 min alk from the mag mile.
The OHM is central to many great restraunts.
Mag Mile,Water tower,Hancock obsevertory,Art inst of Chicago,Navy pier,Clod Gate AKA the bean,a nise walk or short ride too Adler planatarium,Shedd aquarium,Solider field,Sears Tower,Wrigley field,China town Licoln park Zoo,a 15 min train ride too brookfield zoo..resytraunts Lou Mitchelles ,Carsons Portillos,AH!!!! too many to list. Just go check out the Ohio House motel and the great sites Chicago has to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2016

Thank you so much for your review of The Ohio House Motel. It sounds like you really enjoyed our neighborhood and took advantage of all that it had to offer! You really can walk to everything from here. I hope that you enjoyed your time here in Chicago, and that we can welcome you back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

For me and my husband, the location of the hotel is far more important than the rooms. This hotel was great for exploring downtown Chicago. Restaurants, bars, shopping - all the excitement of the city is right there. Less than a 10 minute walk from Clark/Lake on the blue line.

The room is average with no frills. No fridge for leftovers. Clean. The front desk staff was not friendly, but everyone else in the city was. So who cares!

We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2016

Thank you so much for your review of The Ohio House Motel. It sounds like you really enjoyed our neighborhood and took advantage of all that it had to offer! You really can walk to everything from here. I hope that you enjoyed your time here in Chicago, and that we can welcome you back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

All throughout the mid-1900s, major American cities struggled with urban blight, a process that continued for many decades. By the 1980s, the approach most cities used was gentrification; a process whereby developers made urban areas attractive enough for middle class people to move back into the cities instead of fleeing to the suburbs. One of the side effects of this development is that businesses have become more homogenous, and those that look like they are from even the 1970s are considered passe, if not problematic. To describe a motel as having not been upgraded since the 1960s is a rather pejorative statement.

Chicago in the neighborhood of “River North” is no exception to this – the area is filled with the same chain restaurants, shops, and lodgings that you’ll find in most American cities. One exception is the Ohio House Motel – it’s almost as if they are saying, “Stuck in the 1960s and PROUD OF IT.” A sign at the entrance of their office, apparently quoting a review about the place, states the place, “stands out precisely because it hasn’t been subject to the uber-hip makeover that transformed the rest of this downtown Chicago neighborhood.” Fortunately, the motel ALSO has a good price for its location and amenities.

Chicago is one of those rare American cities where mass transit is good enough to get you to almost all the places you’d want to visit. Thus, location is a critical factor in deciding where to stay. Getting a cheap place to stay outside the city might save you money, but only if you’re willing to (1) hope that driving in the city won’t be a nightmare, (2) pay extortion prices for parking once you get there. The Ohio House is thus a real gem in two ways:
1) close enough to the Loop, the Lakeshore, and a subway stop for easy access to the best of Chicago.
2) free parking – a REALLY rare amenity in this town. Just be aware that the parking lot can NOT handle large trucks, and paying for a room does NOT guarantee you a parking space!

Our room was neither expansive, nor did it have a view (unless you count seeing an alley through metal bars as a “view”), nor was its furniture very up to date. However, it was clean, well maintained, quiet, and secure behind two doors requiring room keys. It had a full bath, phone, microwave, hair dryer, and TV with over 100 channels. Room temperature is controlled by the front desk, so you’ll have to contact them to adjust that in your room. At present, you can get a complimentary hot breakfast (NOT a buffet) served at the coffee shop across the street. Fresh coffee is available at all hours at the front desk. Wifi was free and surprisingly fast. There is no pool, exercise room, or “party area;” but there are PLENTY of places, within a couple of blocks or so, for any kind of entertainment you’d like.

If you need fancy rooms or a party atmosphere, the Ohio House is NOT the lodging you want. If you want to visit Chicago without blowing your entire budget on lodging, check out this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RabePaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2016

Thank you for your excellent review of The Ohio House Motel! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and I can assure you that it will be passed along to the appropriate departments. Please come back and see us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews