We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chicago's Best Kept Secret”
Review of Ohio House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ohio House Motel
Ranked #122 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chicago's Best Kept Secret”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is my third stay at the Ohio House and I will continue to stay there for my Chicago visits. While my colleagues were spending 2 or 3 times for their hotels, the Ohio House allows me to save a bunch of money and still enjoy all Chicago has to offer. It's not fancy and for less than 150 per night in Chicago, don't expect it. BUT, the rooms were clean, comfortable with a small fridge and microwave and free wi fi. I didn't have a car, but there's free parking too! Nice staff too!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hello, Albert.
Thank you for your kind words! You hit our goal right on the head, for our guests to enjoy a clean comfortable stay at the Ohio House while saving their money for the finest Chicago has to offer!
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    225
    118
    25
    39
See reviews for
88
186
49
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

If this hotel were located anywhere else, the price would be laughable. But because it's only a mile from the miracle mile, it's reasonable. Ohio House not a big chain, and it shows. The mattress we had, sagged to the middle, and the temperature had to be controlled by the main desk. My girlfriend and I didn't stay in the room, except to sleep. If you plan on lounging in the room, look elsewhere. But if you're using this room as a place to shower and sleep, Ohio House is a passable hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globe_trottin_Polak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us.
I can assure, these issues have been resolved.
We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Ohio House and attended a game at Wrigley Field. What a terrific find this motel is! Our room was as clean as any place we have ever stayed and when we opened the door our car was 20 feet away. Parking is free and no limits on in and out. We easily walked to Michigan Avenue and to the subway stop that took us right to Wrigley. What more could you want? I imagine you have to reserve early to get a room here because there isn't a better deal anywhere.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there are any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Onnieon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us! It was a pleasure to see you! Tell all of your friends, and Go Cubs!
This could be the year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Doesn't exactly ooze street appeal in my opinion - but everything else makes up for it. I wanted to stay longer but was all booked up sadly. Located on the fringe of the CBD - but still a great location and well priced for the location. Modern, comfortable room, and wifi worked well. There are places close by to eat - walking distance for breakfast and dinner. Staff were friendly. Would recommend to any visitor going to Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JK1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for visiting with us during your stay!
After all, they say it's what's inside that counts and to us that means it's all about the service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Chain hotels in the Loop area charge up to $60 for parking and some charge extra for internet. At Ohio House both were free. Cool old-looking exterior, kind of like a '60s motel, cool new interior. Our room (one queen bed) seemed very recently renovated. It was attractive and comfortably furnished; great bed, nice linens, decent TV, fridge. It was a good size for us but if you're traveling with rambunctious youngsters or you plan to spend a lot of time in the room you might want to ask for something a little bigger. We asked for an extra-quiet room so our window (which actually opens) looked out on an alley, but it was a picturesque alley. Really! And it was nice and quiet. The woman at the reception desk was friendly, helpful, and accommodating. This may truly be the cleanest place I have ever stayed. The room had no fragrance, just a wonderful pure clean-air smell and the bathroom was absolutely, stunningly pristine. The hotel is in a great location. You can easily walk to tons of restaurants, shops and attractions. If you are looking for a high-end, glittering, fancy, cutting-edge hotel, don't stay here. But if you're looking for a good price, good location, good value, then this is a great place. And fun, too.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank axlotl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for choosing The Ohio House Motel in Chicago!
As much as we move forward in life, it is nice to enjoy the simple side of life once in a while.... and that's what we are, the "simple" side of life with the service! Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
141 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Don't be turned off from the outside appearance of The Ohio House Motel... Step inside! Absolutely everything we asked for and so affordable. Very clean, nice bathroom and even had a microwave and refrigerator reserved in our room, just ask. Chicago is expensive but this hotel is not. And free parking? Great location next to the Rock and Roll McDonald's? Heck yes! Next time I have to stay downtown I'll stay here. Absolutely.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank spartyharty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your generous thoughts! Our guests are our second family!
We're almost like a "Petticoat Junction" of Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
212 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

You cant beat $50/night with free parking in downtown Chicago! Didn't expect much but this place was awesome! Very clean, great shower pressure, comfy bed, refrigerator and microwave in the room...all we needed. Would definitely stay here again next time I'm in town.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SpartyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you!
They say we are the best value in Chicago! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#110 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Hotel Felix
#117 of 188 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohio House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohio House Motel

Property: Ohio House Motel
Address: 600 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ohio House Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ohio House Motel offers 2 star accommodations in the heart of downtown Chicago. We are walking distance from Chicago's finest attractions and are located in Chicago's River North neighborhood with free parking, Wi-Fi, HDTV, and free breakfast when you book us direct! The Ohio House Motel offers the best value lodging in downtown Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ohio House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohio House Hotel Chicago
Ohio Motel Chicago
Ohio Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing