We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel for my itinerary”
Review of Ohio House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ohio House Motel
Ranked #123 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“The best hotel for my itinerary”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I visit Chicago every year, and stayed at Ohio House for the second straight year.

3 days of my 5-day itinerary, I took public transportation. Rest of the days, I drove a rental motorcycle. So the motel is convenience for me in terms of downtown location and accessible parking.

The facility is a little bit worn but enough for me. Friendly front desk, careful cleaner staffs...
I probably choose Ohio House for next year Chicago visit.

Room Tip: North side rooms face backyard of restaurants. Sometimes strangers pass and make noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kotaro2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Dear Guest. I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. If you’re traveling to our area gain soon, don’t hesitate to call us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    225
    119
    26
    39
See reviews for
90
187
50
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

To echo others, the location is terrific for touristy activities, but the room did not live up to the price. My stay cost more than a friend's at the Fairfield Inn 3 blocks away. His room was nicer, cleaner, and didn't give me the creeps. The alley behind the Motel looks a bit shady for me!

Room Tip: You can get a better room somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for choosing The Ohio House Motel for your recent stay in Chicago. I appreciate your comments in regards to your stay. I deeply apologize regarding any issues you may have had! If for any reason you are not 100% satisfied with your room, please contact the Front Desk and we will be most happy to relocate you to a room for your 100% satisfaction! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was an awesome place to stay. The bonus of parking along with the friendly staff, make this a place of definitely return. Right in the "Chicago Loop", it easy to grab a cab and your about $10 away from anything you want to do!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Well, thank you Bruce! It was certainly great having you as our guest as well! We really take a lot of pride in our property here and having the pleasure of welcoming guest such as yourself, remind us as to why we chose to work in the Hospitality Industry! Take care and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The location was great. The price was very reasonable. Our air conditioning never worked even after asking to have it fixed.. Mattress tilted. 24" ironing board. No lobby. Street noise very loud. Antique television.
Otherwise, fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clcerrato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us. As a service to our guests, we control the temperature from the front desk. I hope you come back to see us again once we have our new flat screens installed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Motel is in a nice location for walking. The parking is free but is first come first serve. Room was very clean. Staff was very friendly. The street noise outside of the room kept us up most of the night and the temperature in the room was way too warm (office controlled). The toilet ran loudly every half hour. We booked this motel because it was dog friendly but there was no place for her to go potty and they did not have any suggestions, we had to walk her quite a ways to a weed patch along the side of a fence that was filled with garbage. Breakfast was a coupon across the street with a couple of selections which was very good. Bring ear plugs, a fan and leave the dog with a sitter.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msrthas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I assure you that this has been addressed by proper management. We truly appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed in 121 (ground floor next to entrance door, facing Ohio Street) between 5/24 - 5/29. Considering the history, we're a little worried about the room, but the room is spacious for the price + surprisingly clean (carpet, bedding), and bathroom is updated. My complains are about noises. Some of them is out of control by the hotel.

Pros:
* The location is super convenient. Michigan AV is 5min walk. If you want, you can walk to anywhere around loop on foot within 25min, but we had a 3-day pass.
* Many options for dining: Rock's'Roll MacDonald's in front of hotel. Portillo's Hot Dog is across from Rock'n'Roll MacDonald's. Lou Malnati's & Dino's Pizza are 2-block away.
* Cheap for location. You can't get a room under $100 near Michigan AV.
* Staff is accommodating. They cut off AC for entire motel when we told that our room was freezing.
* Neighborhood is safe for late night (after 10pm) + early morning (4pm) for us to walk from/to motel

Cons:
* Motel has several locked entrances. The door makes roaring sound when opened/closed.
* Walls are paper-think. We can literally hear what the next room guests were talking.
* Staying on the ground floor, the foot steps from upstair rooms were troubling for me.
* Traffic on Ohio/LaSalle are heavy, especially weekend night. I wonder other nearby hotels, e.g. Best Western across the stree has the same noise level.

If you want to save money as Chicago attractions are costly, bring a set of ear plugs.

Room Tip: If possible, choose the room far away from the entrance door on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I assure you that this has been addressed by proper management. We truly appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McGregor, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The motel is located close to everything in Chicago. We were within walking distance to Water Tower Mall, Magnificant Mile, Navy Pier, and the subway for Wrigley Field. The only negative thing, was the temperature of the room. It is regulated at the front desk, so it was warmer than I like. The room was clean and people were friendly. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Thank you so much for your review of The Ohio House Motel. It sounds like you really enjoyed our neighborhood and took advantage of all that it had to offer! You really can walk to everything from here. I hope that you enjoyed your time here in Chicago, and that we can welcome you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Near North Side
FieldHouse Jones
FieldHouse Jones
#97 of 189 in Chicago
72 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#143 of 189 in Chicago
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Felix
#115 of 189 in Chicago
1,585 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohio House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohio House Motel

Property: Ohio House Motel
Address: 600 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ohio House Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ohio House Motel offers 2 star accommodations in the heart of downtown Chicago. We are walking distance from Chicago's finest attractions and are located in Chicago's River North neighborhood with free parking, Wi-Fi, HDTV, and free breakfast when you book us direct! The Ohio House Motel offers the best value lodging in downtown Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ohio House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohio House Hotel Chicago
Ohio Motel Chicago
Ohio Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing