We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Ohio House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ohio House Motel
Ranked #128 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Ohio House is a fixture of Chicago's River North and has one of the best locations in the City in terms of tourist attractions and nightlife. This area of Chicago is open 24 7 and very safe. The hotel is admittedly on the older side, but well kept and free parking.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigIsland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2016

Thank you for your excellent review of The Ohio House Motel! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and I can assure you that it will be passed along to the appropriate departments. Please come back and see us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2010

This old school motel is in a great location, close to the downtown loop, the pier and if you want to go a little north its perfectly located. Ok the rooms are basic, with a good strong smell of Febreeze to make the place smell ok but its pretty damn clean for what it is. The coffee shop is the best in Chicago for a genuine dinner experience with great food. I would definitely stay here if I came back! The only bad thing is the back rooms face into a lane and the cars that periodically drive down it blow their horn at the end to warn any passing pedestrians, but I bought ear plugs and it was fine. My room was at the very end of the lane so possibly the reason it was the loudest in my room. Stay here and rent a bike and you wont be disapppointed.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2016

Dear Guest. I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. If you’re traveling to our area gain soon, don’t hesitate to call us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

The rooms here were fairly big and clean enough, the porcelin lamps were an interesting adition.
The satff at reception were helpful with any queries that we had.
There was noise fro on eof the adjoining rooms till quite late one evening but it was xmas eve!
The location was quite central. with in easy walj to most attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlepinkalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I assure you that this has been addressed by proper management. We truly appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

If you want a place to stay downtown Chicago with a reasonable price, Ohio House Motel is perfect match for that purpose.

Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
Thank JiabR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Dear Guest. Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here last may when we came up to visit our friend in the Navy. It wasnt bad. It was clean and located right in the city (which is excellent for us, as we walk everywhere). It was alittle over priced, but the location was unbeatable and they offered (free!) ample parking. Theres a mcdonalds right next door, an onsite dinner/coffee house, and a great supermarket just around the corner. I'd reccomend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a basic, no frills, place to pass the night.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beck048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Dear Guest. I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. If you’re traveling to our area gain soon, don’t hesitate to call us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Not fancy, no frills...just what we needed to be frugal on a room where we spent barely a wink. (Who spends time in your room in Chicago?) Everywhere we went we walked; everywhere was within 15 mins.Desk staff was helpful when asking questions. Perfect for people on a budget, or wanting to spend money elsewhere in the city! Not to mention...FREE parking!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bblover25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Thank you so much for your review of The Ohio House Motel. It sounds like you really enjoyed our neighborhood and took advantage of all that it had to offer! You really can walk to everything from here. I hope that you enjoyed your time here in Chicago, and that we can welcome you back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

My sister and I went to Chicago on whim on the weekend, just to get away from everyday life. We went to the Cultural Center, asked for cheap places to stay in the heart of the city, and this is one of the few options they gave us. We LOVED our stay here. It was simple, cheap, and right next to everything you would need to have fun in Chicago. There was really nothing grand about it, but it's really all you need. Gives you a place to rest your head, park your car, and not have to worry about anything but having fun, which is what we had came to do. Thanks Ohio Motel for making our stay in Chicago that much better! We will defiantly be back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnmpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Dear Guest. I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. If you’re traveling to our area gain soon, don’t hesitate to call us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Near North Side
FieldHouse Jones
FieldHouse Jones
#107 of 192 in Chicago
100 reviews
Hotel Felix
#118 of 192 in Chicago
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Kenwood
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago - Lake Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohio House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohio House Motel

Address: 600 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £79 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ohio House Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ohio House Motel offers 2 star accommodations in the heart of downtown Chicago. We are walking distance from Chicago's finest attractions and are located in Chicago's River North neighborhood with free parking, Wi-Fi, HDTV, and free breakfast when you book us direct! The Ohio House Motel offers the best value lodging in downtown Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ohio House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohio House Hotel Chicago
Ohio Motel Chicago
Ohio Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing