We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rates, free parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heart O' Chicago Motel
Ranked #141 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great rates, free parking”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

You can't beat free parking in Chicago! This is a clean and comfortable place. My friends stayed there while visiting the city. It's nothing fancy, but they weren't visiting for the hotel. It's convenient if you need to be on the north side of the city, and it is close to Lake Shore Drive.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    66
    36
    11
    12
See reviews for
33
45
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A great option while visiting Chicago. The rooms are immaculately clean. The staff is always friendly, free parking, great location for the Northside of Chicago. There is free coffee and snacks in the morning. This motel is a great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AISW16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Love it!
Every time I come to Chicago I book a room here. Its the classic 60 motel with free parking. Don't expect much luxury to be honest but the place is clean and rooms and toilets have a reasonable size. Aircon works fine and wifi is free. And yes there are smoking rooms. Shower is good and bed is comfy. If you are on a budget and you have a short staying in Chicago Thats all You need.
We asked for a room with two queen size beds and we pay $87 (split with 4 friends) which is a very good price considering this very same week other hotels in Chicago with similar service were asking for more $100-$150 a night.
Regarding the noise, obviously the Motel its not located in the green prairie but hear plugs always worked good to me. Breakfast will not win any International cuisine awards but hey! its free.
In our last visit the staff in reception also kept our bags after check out while we did some city sightseeing for almost 5 or 6 hours which was very nice of them.
No complains here!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheReegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Far away from downtown. You need to take the bus (or walk 15') then the subway, about 45'. Quite noisy because of the road is just outside your room's door. Breakfast is basic: muffin / donughts. No hairdryer, no shampoo.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank andreleroychina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Creek, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We asked for a non-smoking room. The first night, we were in a non-designated smoking room which they said was non-smoking. It had a shared door with the room next door. The walls were thin and the people in the adjoining room talked all night and smoked, with the smoke leaking under the door into our room. The next morning, my allergies were raging so I asked to be moved which they took care of promptly, to a designated non-smoking room. It still had the smell of smoke so I had to leave the exterior door ajar to let in fresh air each morning. There was no shampoo, lotion or hair dryer. The front desk did give us shampoo. This was the first hotel that I have stayed in that had no hairdryer!! I had to buy one to use as the front desk said that they didn't have one. Location was good except at a really inconvenient intersection requiring a driver to go around a block to drive north. Really inconvenient. Got lost several times. Front desk staff very courteous which made it worth the stay. The continental breakfast was the usual.

Room Tip: If you want non-smoking, make certain that you notice if the door to the room has the non-smoking si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda Thompson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I stayed here my second time a while ago and have been pleased both times. The motel seems trapped in the 50s but in a very pleasant, quaint way. The rooms are clean, quiet,and comfortable, and a bargain at 80something dollars. Amenities are few ( wi-fi, a free breakfast, free parking). But if all you want is a place to sleep in Chicago, it's hard to beat. Granted, the motel is way north, but it's a very short drive over to Lake Shore Drive and you can thus be in the middle of the Loop in fifteen-twenty minutes. No complaints here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WDemaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

rude staff and owner....over charge me on my credit card,, rooms have mold... phone didnt work and they suggested I get I fix it... owner screams at you when you ask him a simple question.. extremely bad value....

Room Tip: stay away better to pay more than suffer here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
Rogers Park
Hampton Inn Chicago North - Loyola Station
Super 8 Chicago IL
#6 of 8 in Evanston
406 reviews
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#136 of 190 in Chicago
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
FieldHouse Jones
FieldHouse Jones
#98 of 190 in Chicago
79 reviews
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#149 of 190 in Chicago
226 reviews
Rodeway Inn Chicago
#157 of 190 in Chicago
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart O' Chicago Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart O' Chicago Motel

Property: Heart O' Chicago Motel
Address: 5990 N Ridge Ave, Chicago, IL 60660-3263
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Heart O' Chicago Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heart O' Chicago Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart o` Chicago Hotel Chicago
Heart o Chicago Motel
Heart Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing