We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable, Clean, Nice Neighborhood” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heart O' Chicago Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heart O' Chicago Motel
Ranked #141 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Affordable, Clean, Nice Neighborhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed here for two nights while visiting Northwestern University with my son. This is exactly what you hope for in a hotel: decently comfortable beds, a television, air conditioning and locking doors and windows. It's clean - I didn't smell smoking or anything else. Reasonably quiet at night. The person at the front desk was friendly and efficient.

The neighborhood is great and the location affords easy access to all parts of Chicago either by driving or on the subway.

I so appreciated having somewhere affordable to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    59
    36
    11
    12
See reviews for
32
42
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

The guy running it was so lovely! But I guess it's not the motels fault it's in a shabby area. I was travelling with my Dad and he was kept awake all night with the goings on in the room beside him, culminating in armed assault, police, the whole works. We left the next day only to find that maybe this was just a 'Chicago' thing.
The rooms were clean, but dated.
Keep that latch on the door at night, you never know whose going to kick it in!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank megantravels_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookeville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

My best friend and I stayed her for 4 nights. Its a basic motel no extras except free parking (thank goodness!) The man that checked us in took was friendly and nice. Appreciated the mattress covers to keep bed bugs away. Breakfast was cold ceral, donuts, muffins,oatmeal packages, o.j, coffee and whole milk. I just wish there was a fridge in the room...

Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
St. Paul, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

After reading other reviews and searching for a reasonably priced hotel in the area we decided to stay here. My experience was just what I expected for the price. This Hotel/Motel was $60-$70 cheaper than anything else we could find near Wrigley Field. Plus, there was free parking! We knew that we weren't going to be hanging out at the hotel all day, and would only be there to sleep and shower. So, to have an affordable, clean room, with free parking only a 15 to 20 minute bus ride from Wrigley was fantastic.The front desk staff was courteous to us, and the free continental breakfast was a nice bonus.

Bottom line: If you are looking for an affordable, clean, place to sleep fairly close to Wrigley, in a nice neighborhood, then this is your place. If you aren't planning on exploring the city, and are looking for a place to relax with your family during the day, then this might not be the hotel for you. But, for me it was the perfect option.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gsmith463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I wouldn't recommend this motel unless you're a smoker. They didn't have any non-smoking rooms and everything stunk.

If you can get beyond the smell of smoke, it's a great location, within walking distance of both the Thorndale & Bryn Mawr L lines and the restaurants and shops in Andersonville. We were able to walk almost everywhere and when we needed a cab ride, it was only about $20 with tip.

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor room if possible. We weren't able to crack the window to freshen up the room be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

You can't beat free parking in Chicago! This is a clean and comfortable place. My friends stayed there while visiting the city. It's nothing fancy, but they weren't visiting for the hotel. It's convenient if you need to be on the north side of the city, and it is close to Lake Shore Drive.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

A great option while visiting Chicago. The rooms are immaculately clean. The staff is always friendly, free parking, great location for the Northside of Chicago. There is free coffee and snacks in the morning. This motel is a great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AISW16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
Rogers Park
Hampton Inn Chicago North - Loyola Station
Super 8 Chicago IL
#7 of 8 in Evanston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#143 of 187 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#131 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Lincoln Park
Days Inn Chicago
Days Inn Chicago
#84 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,555 reviews
Southwest Side
Quality Inn Midway Airport
Quality Inn Midway Airport
#145 of 187 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart O' Chicago Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart O' Chicago Motel

Property: Heart O' Chicago Motel
Address: 5990 N Ridge Ave, Chicago, IL 60660-3263
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Heart O' Chicago Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Heart O' Chicago Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart o` Chicago Hotel Chicago
Heart o Chicago Motel
Heart Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing