We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to rest your head and beat the Chicago Hotel Prices!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heart O' Chicago Motel
Ranked #145 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 13 July 2007

My wife and I stayed in the Heart O Chicago Motel so we could look for apartments. It was the perfect place to stay for us simply because it had free wireless internet so we could look for apartments online, and a CTA bus stop that is right in front of the motel that takes you directly to the bryn mawr red line stop. There isn't anything special about this place at all other than that it is clean, cheap and a safe place to stay. Also the staff was very nice and helpful. The motel offers probably the best continental breakfast that I've ever had. It consists of dunkin' doughnuts, otis spunkmeyer muffins, orange juice, coffee.... basically as simple as you can get. We both really enjoyed our time hear and it served its purpose.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank j0nnyappleseed000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2007

Great little place! Clean, old, but nice for the price! We will go back!

Took the Red Line to Addison and the Cubs game and then on to Bryn Mar. There is a bus that runs right by the Motel if you get there before 10 p.m. but they start back up at 6 am! This is how to enjoy Chicago on a budget! We stayed to late at the game and walked to the motel. Not too bad of a neighborhood, nor too long of a walk.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unknown14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2007

This was our first stay in Chicago. When I was looking for hotels, the prices were unbelievable and some of the reviews for these high price hotels were worse. I am so thankful for the reviews on Heart O'Chicago because I was not disappointed. This two-night stay was great. The motel is retro--yellow everywhere! The breakfast was adequate for us--fresh apples, coffee, and a gigantic muffin. The bed was comfy and everything was clean. We paid $77.00 per night and understand this was a great bargain. We fell in love with Chicago--what a great city--it seems safe and the ride down Lake Shore Drive is priceless. We did the boat tour showing the different buildings and history of Chicago, we toured Moody Bible Institute and the Pacific Gardens Mission. The Millenium Park is beautiful. We were very pleased and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danbarbcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2006

We just came back from a long weekend in Chicago, spending 3 nights at this hotel. I chose this hotel from the reviews on this board. Well, I was not disappointed at all. Actually, it went beyond my expectation. When I called to book the room, I asked for the one upstairs away from the street. I got room 206. I did not hear any street sound at night. What surprised me was that they changed my bed sheets and pillow cases everyday. There was no need for that for the price of $74 a night but I did not complain. The room was very clean, no smell even though it is not a brand new hotel. We felt safe walking around at night. Clark Street is a very busy thoroughfare. We got 3-day pass and it was worth the $12 we paid for. We used it from Midway to the hotel and the whole weekend on all our transportation needs.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ggg5312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2006

For the past five years I have gone to the Taste of Chicago and stayed at this hotel with NO problems. Its nice, safe and above all its CLEAN. It offers a simple place for you to rest your head where you dont have to worry about someone breaking into your car at night. The overnight check in is located at the one and only entry/exit so they keep an eye on everything going on. Book early the rooms fill up quickly.

  • Stayed: July 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrbogok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2006

We stayed in this motel in July 2005, at the peak of the busy travel season in the US. When we booked the motel, we read other Trip Advisor reviews and were expecting a no-frills but clean and decent motel at a great price. That's exactly what we got. I gave it 4 stars not because of how fabulous it is, but because it is a fabulous value. Sure, the place is dated and is nothing fancy; sure, you get a single dougnut for your 'continental breakfast.' But if you would rather save a few bucks and use it for the rest of your trip, it's well worth a stay at the Heart.

One point worth mentioning - I'm not so sure this place would have been as convenient if we weren't driving a car. It is NOT downtown proper, and although there is of course public transportation, it's not always the most convenient option. Bottom line: if we had a car in Chicago next time we visit we would stay here again, but if we were on foot, we might look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank american_girl_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
glenview, IL
11
Reviewed 16 April 2006

I'm a wheelchaired patron and I found this hotel uniquely accessable given it's size and age. I have personally written to the ADA commenting on how well they caitered to my needs. The rates were reasonable, and the retro atmosphere kept me amused between the nights.

Stayed: March 2006
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
Rogers Park
Hampton Inn Chicago North - Loyola Station
Super 8 Chicago IL
#7 of 7 in Evanston
421 reviews
Amber Inn
#166 of 192 in Chicago
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#146 of 192 in Chicago
232 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Rodeway Inn Chicago
#159 of 192 in Chicago
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart O' Chicago Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart O' Chicago Motel

Address: 5990 N Ridge Ave, Chicago, IL 60660-3263
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £79 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Heart O' Chicago Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Heart O' Chicago Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart o` Chicago Hotel Chicago
Heart o Chicago Motel
Heart Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing