We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #40 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bakersfield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

In Chicago for the first time on business. I found it to be in a great location. Food at hotel was good and within walking distance of several great places to eat and shop. Easy walk to Millennium Park. Staff was friendly and the hotel looked pretty upscale not like other Double Trees I have been in. Overall enjoyed the staty and I would return to the Wit.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cajun007Bakersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,396
    608
    199
    70
    53
See reviews for
386
759
124
702
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

No way this falls into a classic Double Tree style. The Wit is upscale fun without the stuffiness of other similarly styled hotels.

In fairness I a am a Diamond Hilton traveler and get nice upgrades when available. The Wit is no exception. Spa rooms are awesome and offer the best views. I have stayed here at least 6+ times to date.

But, start from the easy Midway airport access for $2 on the orange line. Killer location and no luggage lugging as you get off at State and Lake street stop and boom. There!

The Wit is always well staffed and you can tell the Hilton training is followed to the "T". Lots of smiles and attention.

The food at the State & Lake restaurant has always been great quality and worth consideration for any meal while in Chicago where there are tons of options.

The Roof Top bar is perhaps the hotel highlight especially in summer months. Killer views, expensive drinks and plenty of active young adults going til all hours. Or older folk wanting to be young!

Next time you don't click on this hotel because it is assumed to be a boring Double Tree I suggest you take a Double Take as it is really, really fun.

Room Tip: Spa rooms. Go high so you don't hear the L train or street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We had an enjoyable time at The Wit Hotel. Friendly staff and knowledgeable "experience architect" concierge Sean Patrick Wagner who was very helpful. We had breakfast included in The Wit Package at the State and Lake Restaurant that was awesome!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Fantastic hotel, perfectly located for romantic weekend downtown for us, city-born couple in our 30's who now live in the burbs. Service was spot on, restaurant State/Lake was wonderful for breakfast and dinner, the Roof was superb if you are not up there during primo club hours (I'm getting old) because then it does get packed. HOWEVER, staying at theWit allows you to bypass the suckers waiting downstairs. We plan on staying at least once per year.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the very top floor on a Fri/Sat night unless you are in your 20's and stay out la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael30309
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

I was truly looking forward to my stay at theWit, but was left dissatisfied, particularly because of a subpar staff.

The good: i stayed in a king suite-1202 (intrinsically tied to the bad described below). the room was nice (nothing spectacular) and the bathroom was beautiful and moder-nice tub, great shower, awesome view, large, etc. The toiletries were beyond the quality of other Hilton brand toiletries. The tv was large and (thankfully!) wasn't controlled using lodge net (those who travel know how annoying/slow lodge net is). The iPod doc would have been great had it been functional (missing electrical plug). Unlike other reviewers, I found the elevators very fast and efficient. Finally, the fitness center was large (for a boutique-like hotel) and had good, new equipment.

The bad/ugly: There are better hotels in Chicago for a lower price, and all that I've stayed in have a more professional staff. The staff was inconsistent, inattentive and unprofessional. Examples:
1. I had numerous large holes in my fitted bed sheet (thereby exposing the mattress) and had pillows that smelled like feces. In spite of notifying the hotel concierge and housekeeping, the bedding wasn't changed and neither were the pillows. I woke up with a terrible rash on my face and need to see a doctor (on Chritmas, no less!).
2. The staff was particularly crass late at night...cursing in the lobby, discussing inappropriate and insulting topics, not greeting guests, etc.
3. I was yelled at by staff for trying to use the side lobby door at night.
4 Check in was annoying and slightly degrading. Although the hotel was rather empty, I had to practically beg to get an upgrade to a nicer room (as a Hilton gold member, this was disappoingting considering Marriott and Starwood readily upgrade me based on my gold statuses, and theWit had plenty of upgrades available for the night). The manager (I'm assuming) came to the front desk and allowed for the upgrade, but it was like pulling teeth with them (at one point I had to mention the it is Hilton policy to upgrade if available...concierge floor or not). So much for hhonors!!! I'm 2 stays away from diamond..this solidified my decision to focus on other chains that actually care about loyalty).

Overall, I wanted to love this hotel, but didn't because of the staff (and i NEVER have complained about the staff in any of my other reviews). If you're looking for simply a nice bathroom and hip bar, this is a great hotel. But the rooms are "worn" in spite of this being a new property. The staff is mediocre at best and from my experience, doesn't care about the customer.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael30309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

The cost of car valet was $46 a day plus tips making it quite high. There is not a self-parking option so unless you want to park in a self-park garage several blocks away, the cost adds up. The staff, room, housekeeping and everyone associated with the hotel were quite nice. I was also expecting a concierges floor as most Doubletrees I stay in have this for frequent travelers, but The Wit does not have such a floor. Was disappointed. So my 2 day stay went from the expected $196.00 using 50,000 points to achieve that price to almost $400 for 2 nights stay having to use the valet services for both car and luggage checking and checkout. Too expensive for what we received

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slscheffer1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
Thank you for the feedback.

theWit consistently aims to provide a value for the services, amenities and location that truly make a visit- More Experience Than Hotel. We constantly assess the competetive marketplace, the cost for providing services and our ability to pacakge experiences to ensure that each and every guest stay exceeds expectations, to the best of our great team's ability.

Parking in the downtown area has approached new levels with a premium on space, additional taxes and expenses. Look for weekend package specials which may include parking, shopping discounts and more as we partner with other great downtown venues.

We value all critiques!

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

My first reaction when I walked into the lobby was a pleasant surprise. Unlike most Doubletree's that I've stayed at, theWit is trendy, clean, fresh and kind of has a bit of a W-esque vibe (be ready for this).

Rooms: My husband and I were upgraded to a suite. The room was huge! It was actually 2 rooms, living space/kitchen and then the bedroom. The rooms were incredibly clean and hip. Every night at turn down, they left you a little fun quote with a trinket to match the quote. Our bathroom was huge with a soaking tub that for $25 you could have the spa staff draw you a bath with special bath soaps, suds and oils.

Service: The staff was great. Very accommodating, knowledgeable about the area and friendly. The attention detail is excellent.

Location: It's at State and Lake, which if you know Chicago, is in a heavy business district and right on the brown line. It may not be the best location for a tourist new to Chicago, but it is a GREAT location for business travel and if you don't mind walking 8-10 minutes to Michigan Ave.

And of course since this is a Doubletree property you always get your unlimited supply of warm chocolate cookies. : )

The hotel has a great restaurant attached to it. Great food- we ate breakfast and lunch one of the days there. There is also a great bar on the top floor- very cool, hip vibe. Nice spot for a drink.

Overall, great property, we will return.

Room Tip: Highly recommend trying to upgrade to the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJFigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
We continue to be excited about the number of guest reviews we receive, and the general positive feelings regarding theWit experience.

Business, convention and toursit guests find our location to be readily accessible to offices, meeting locations, museums, shopping, theater, great restauarnts (including our own), sports venues and more. In fact, on our internal surveys transportation in general (our close proximity to all major CTA lines and even METRA stations as well as bus and taxi ease of use) ranks very high.

Exceeding our guest expecations at every turn is our number one goal, and TripAdvisor reviews help us refine and improve in all areas.

Thank you.

Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
LondonHouse Chicago, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing