We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wit Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #34 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
chicago, United States
1 review
“The Wit Chicago”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel is beautiful, and in a great location to visit the Oriental Theater about a block away. The valet parking was a little difficult at check-in, but the staff was very quick and helpful. It was pricey, but worth the location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Hi Jennifer,
Thank you for taking the time to review theWit Hotel Chicago. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hear the complaint about the price of parking often and it is something we really can't get around. There are a couple of parking garages closeby which we can recommend that will save you a few dollars on your next trip, but Chicago parking rates are steep. We Chicagoans complain about it, too! Thank you again. -Guest Relations at theWit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    626
    206
    71
    56
See reviews for
423
802
128
735
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This was, by far, the best place I have ever stayed. The rooms are converted apartments and you like you are at home. There are full kitchens that are supplied with everything you need and
separate couches so that you do not have to hurt your back watching tv.
If you like dining and shopping this is the place to be. It is only four blocks from Michigan Ave
and, if you want to can to Ditka's, owned by the player as well as The Cheesecake Factory or atop The Hancock Building and the staff is courteous and really want you there. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I would not drive No room and costs too much to park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This was a pleasure trip and it truly was a Pleasure! I was given a corner room with a city view and it was spectecular. Right in the heart of Shopping/Theatres. I did request an upgrade to a higher floor, but the hotel was fully booked. I look forward to my next visit to Chicago, because from now on...Only the Wit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at theWit Chicago for a weekend getaway and loved every minute of it. From check-in to check-out, everything was perfectly executed. Management has found the secret sauce to customer satisfaction. Every employee we met in the hotel, or at the attached restaurant seemed to be in good spirits and quick to offer assistance for anything we needed, which was always preceded by a pleasant greeting and smile. The floor to ceiling windows in our 22nd floor suite provided excellent city views and even a sliver of Millennium Park and Lake Michigan between the buildings. Although we didn't make it up to the ROOF, which according to signage inside the elevators is rated as "one of the top three rooftop lounges in the world", we did dine at the comfortable State and Lake Chicago Tavern for breakfast and late-nite eats. The property is a short walk to Cloud Gate, aka the 'Bean', the Art Institute of Chicago and Grant Park. It's also conveniently located near an "L" stop if you'd prefer to not have to worry about what can be costly, and limited parking. We have found our favorite place to stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hi Terry,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and thoughtful review of theWit Hotel Chicago. We are appreciative of your efforts and also feel lucky to have guests like you stay with us. Next time, we hope you will make it to ROOF - it does not disappoint! Thank you, again. -theWit Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

When I entered my room, it was clear that the carpet had not been vacuumed. Later, when I went to the fitness center, there were cleaning supplies laying haphazardly around the free weights. One highlight was the restaurant. The food and staff were excellent. My impression is that the hotel has fallen prey to it's own success.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Elvin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Hi Elvin,
Thank you for taking the time to review theWit Hotel Chicago. We assure you that we are addressing your concerns with our service teams as this is not typical nor the type of environment we strive for at theWit. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. Best, theWit Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

As a frequent (60+ nights per year) business traveler, as well as a Hilton Diamond Member, I was anxious to stay here, based upon the reviews. Disappointment from the first impression to the fifth day.

After not receiving and upgrade (no big deal... this is no guarantee for a Diamond member) The elevator would not take me to my floor. There is a very complex sequence you need to follow to get to your floor... This is due to a trendy bar on the top floor that they do not want bar patrons stopping on guest floors. Understandable, but why inconvenience the guests. From here, I return to the front desk for a tutorial on how to use the elevator. Finally get to my floor and I am underwhelmed by the scuff marks on the doors and walls. Once in the room, totally uninspiring view. Low floor with views of the el and inside of an adjacent building's college classroom. When I went to use the ice bucket, it was full of water. This hadn't been cleaned or emptied since the last guest.

Downstairs for lunch, the bar menu was only sandwiches and burgers.

The first night I enjoyed turndown service. This was the only night of turndown. DOes the hotel offer turndown or not?

Breakfast was served in the downstairs bar. I waited for five minutes and was almost ready to walk out when someone from the kitchen noticed I had been sitting unattended. Finally I received service and had a better than average breakfast.

The aforementioned trendy bar on the roof was indeed trendy, if not overpriced. A vodka tonic and glass of house cabernet came to $25.00, before tip.

With the long list of fine hotels in Chicago, this will be far down on the list for my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Hi Bruce,
Thank you for taking the time to review theWit Hotel. We are sorry you struggled with the elevator access. In the interest of the security of our guests, we ask that they insert their key before pressing the button to access a particular floor. As you correctly surmised, this is to allow access to our globally-recognized lounge on the 27th floor, without comprimising the safety or comfort of our guests. Our first floor restaurant, State and Lake Chicago Tavern has a wide array of salads, soups, entrees and appetizers in addition to the burgers, paninis and sandwiches you mentioned within your review -- a complete menu can be viewed at www.stateandlakechicago.com. In regards to your remarks about service and scuff marks, we can assure you that we are addressing this with our teams. This is not the type of experience we strive for at theWit and this feedback is being taken very seriously. We are committed to providing a AAA four-diamond experience for all of our guests and sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Thank you again for your feedback. Best regards, theWit Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola Hills, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I was actually booked here for 3 nights for work, and another hotel for the last 2 nights for a quick fun trip with my husband. As soon as I checked in, I immediately cancelled our other reservation and extended our stay at The Wit. Such a fun, hip, cool little hotel with rooms that include giant soaking tubs, a great restaurant, fun rooftop bar and close to everything we wanted to do. As a business traveler, I have stayed in at least 15 other hotels within a 3 mile radius in the city. This exceeded ALL expectations!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank 508KimW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Hi Kim,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of theWit Hotel Chicago. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy a full range of amenities, including State and Lake Chicago Tavern and ROOF lounge on the 27th floor. Our staff appreciates earning the good graces of clients like you and we hope to have you stay with us again, soon. Kind regards, theWit Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 190 in Chicago
1,018 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,595 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing