We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd recommend this place to anyone!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #37 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We took a trip out to Chicago for a bachelor party. For accommodating 15 people, I didnt want to pay an arm an a leg so i found theWit. I read some reviews about how it was a great place but didn't expect so much from it. The looks great. It has very modern appeal inside and out. The rooms were nice as well. It wasn't very far from anywhere we needed to go either. Definitely make sure to visit the rooftop bar, good food and a great atmosphere. The staff here is what really went above and beyond. We had a pretty riled up group but everyone there was very welcoming from the moment we go there to when we left. they help us out without hesitation with cabs, restaurant recommendations, and even took the liberty of printing out some airline tickets we needed. not to mention they have these cookies they give out which is always a huge plus. Any time i come back to Chicago, i will be staying at theWit. they have won my business and i would recommend this place to anyone! keep it up!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hi Jason,
Thank you for selecting theWit for such an exciting occasion. We are thrilled that you and your friends were able to enjoy ROOF on theWit, our globally-recognized lounge in addition to other restaurants and nightlife in downtown Chicago. Congratulations to the groom! We hope to see you back again soon at theWit Hotel Chicago. Best, theWit Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,564 - 1,570 of 2,634 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

This was a business trip that was booked by my employer and I was very satisfied with the hotel. I would highly recomend this hotel for either business or personal use. Great location and great Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hi Dale,
Thank you for choosing theWit Hotel Chicago for your business trip. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and feel strongly enough to recommend theWit to other TripAdvisor readers. Our entire team at theWit hopes to see you again, soon, Dale. Kindly, theWit Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

i went for my birthday i had a great weekend there the workers had great service a little high for parking i had a great view of the city the hotel had a great roof top bar cant wait until my next next i look forward in doing it at the wit

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Tiosha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The experience was pretty average overall. Everything was just…. okay. Had a kitchenette in the room and it wasn't the cleanest. It wasn't nasty, just needed a deep clean. The bathroom really needed updating. Front desk attendant was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hi Craig,
Thank you for posting a review of theWit Hotel Chicago along with your positive feedback about the friendliness of our front desk staff. Next, we are disappointed we did not exceed your expectations in regards to the kitchenette and will pass along your feedback in order to maintain the usual AAA four-diamond standards in a consistenct manner across the property. Kind regards, theWit Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

From the first greeting and helpfulness of the doorman, to the people at the front desk, I couldn't have had a better experience at a hotel. I was staying at the hotel on a business trip, but when I'm back in Chicago for fun, this will be the only hotel I'll make reservations at.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Jeff,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a special and gracious review of theWit Hotel Chicago. We work tirelessly to deliver an exceptional level of service to our guests and it's always nice to receive postive feedback. We look forward to passing along your comments to the team and, most importantly, having you back at theWit Hotel Chicago for fun next time! Kind regards, theWit Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is a pleasant and well located hotel. I probably won't stay here again, though, since the Internet access is an extra charge. There are far too many just as good options that don't offer that hassle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Frederic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Frederic,
Thank you for your review of theWit Hotel Chicago. Internet usage is complimentary on our first and second floors. Due to customer demand, we have installed exceptional Internet bandwidth whereas all 310 guest rooms could be streaming a movie simulteaneously and no one would get bounced. You will not find this level of bandwidth at any other option in the city. This premium connectivity, however, does come at a high cost and we must pass a very small part of that along to our guests. Most appreciate the ability to stream, sling, game and download with this level of security and speed. We apologize for this inconvenience. Sincerely, theWit Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I was able to get something to eat during my stay for my business purpose. I come from a family with very restricted diet for religious reasons. I was able to eat enough with satisfaction. I was able to get something to eat during my stay for my business purpose. I come from a family with very restricted diet for religious reasons. I was able to eat enough with satisfaction.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Aruloli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Aruloli,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of theWit Hotel Chicago. We are pleased you were able to meet your diet requirements while you were here. We invite you to return soon. Kind regards, theWit Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,937 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#16 of 192 in Chicago
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £95 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing