We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern/Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #37 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here for a work trip. The hotel is beautifully updated and has such a refreshing contemporary feel. The rooms are clean and brightly colored. The meeting rooms were beautiful as well. All of the staff was very accomodating and pleasant; especially one of the bellhops. Every time I entered or exited the building, he remembered my name and was extremly helpful and friendly. He exemplifies what customer service is all about.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Carlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Carlie G, Thank you for reviewing theWit Hotel Chicago and for recommending theWit Hotel to other reviewers. We are thrilled to hear your kind works regarding our staff and their exemplary service. Please feel free to contact us should you remember our bellman’s name as we know he will be proud to learn of his great service provided. We do hope to see you again soon at theWit!-Best Regards, theWit Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,456 - 1,462 of 2,634 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at theWit for the first time last night. Overall, GREAT EXPERIENCE! We live in the suburbs, and usually take the train, but decided to drive. The only negative of this hotel is the drop-off area out front. The valets work very hard, but it's just a very awkward area to try to stop a car and unload due to the amount of traffic and the very small sidewalk area in front of the hotel.

Check-in staff was very helpful, and very quick to open up a new check-in line when the crowd in the lobby started to grow. We were able to check into our room around 12:45 pm, well before the published check-in time. We requested a quiet room, and two of the staff members actually huddled up together to go through the available rooms before deciding which room would be best. We ended up with a corner room on the 14th floor. We could see some of the lake, and we did hear the train and city noise, but the "white noise" of the city was not unlike any other city hotel I've stayed in, in any location. If city noise bothers you, turn on the a/c and bring ear plugs.

Room size were better than average, amenities were good, and the rooftop bar was awesome! We went in the afternoon for a drink, and the view could not be beat.

We will be back to stay at this hotel. The staff tries very hard, and I would say that they exceed expectations!

Room Tip: As for a corner room - there's a stairwell on one side, so you will only have one neighbor. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank WindyGirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Windygirl007, Thank you for choosing theWit for your recent weekend getaway and for taking the time to recommend us to other reviewers. We are thrilled to hear your great comments regardong our staff as we try our hardest to provide every guest with a truly unique Wit experience. Our staff will be proud to learn of the great service provided as we accomplished our goal of surpassing your expectations. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon to theWit for another great Wit experience. Best Regards, theWit Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel was perfect from the location, to the service, and the cleanliness. We were able to check in early, leave our car with valet, and walk to just about anywhere we wanted to go. I manage a hotel in Indianapolis and this was the perfect getaway. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Brett S, Thank you for choosing theWit Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to recommend your experience to other travelers. We are thrilled to read your positive feedback of our hotel as well as your kind recognition of our team's efforts to ensure the best Wit experience. Our great location is perfect for exploring all that Chicago has to offer and we are thrilled to hear that we were able to assist by providing an early check-in. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon to theWit! Best Regards, theWit Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights while attending a conference. Staff was friendly. My room and bathroom was spacious and comfortable with a great view. I didn't find the street or train to be too noisy right by my room - but other might if they are light sleepers. The hotel is in a great location and in walking distance to many places. The hotel has a roof top bar with great food/drinks and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heatherNkyle0827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear heatherNkyle0827, Thank you for your fantastic review of theWit Hotel Chicago. We are delighted that we made both your stay and conference as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. theWit’s great location and commitment to excellence makes us a the perfect choice when hosting a conference in the Chicago Loop. We hope to welcome you and your entire group back to theWit in the future. Warm Regards, theWit Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hotel staff is excellent, the hotel is clean and trendy. We had asked for a QUIET room at the time of booking and checking in. Our room overlooked the L train and we were unable to sleep all night. As we got to the room about 11PM after dinner and then experienced the noise we did not make attempt so change rooms. We had to check out by 8AM the next morning to get to an appointment. If not for this issue of NOISE we would of enjoyed the room. Steep price for a terrible nights sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Jim A, Thank you for taking the time to review theWit Hotel Chicago. While we are very delighted to hear your kind feedback regarding our staff, we are sincerely disappointed to hear that the rest of your time with us was not enjoyable. We strive to provide a peaceful, relaxing, and rejuvenating stay in the heart of the Chicago Loop for all of our guests. We do apologize that we did not meet this goal for you. We do hope to be able to welcome you back to theWit as we know your next stay will be extraordinary. Sincerely, theWit Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Located toward the middle of the city in Chicago, somewhat hard to navigate to for a first-time Chicago visitor. Sleep was marginal, as the hotel is located right next to an elevated train that runs all night long. Very clean, staff was courteous, hotel has a very nice/reasonably priced restaurant on-site.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Stephen K, Thank you for review of theWit Hotel Chicago. We are very proud of our team and they will be thrilled to read your kind response. Our convenient location provides east access to all the popular attractions and our Concierge team is readily available to assist you in navigating around our beautiful city. We hope to welcome you back to theWit in the future. Best Regards, theWit Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

this hotel has a great location. it was super close to macy's where I was able to do some shopping. there are lots of restaurants nearby. the el is very close which makes it convienient if you want to hop on, but noisy if you don't. the room was comfortable and clean. the elevators were a little slow. it was difficult for them to fulfill my request for an early check in, which I understand, but it made it difficult to change before my conference at the hotel which started at one. the rooftop bar was very nice. the indoor area appealed more towards a young twenties crowd but the outside was filled with a variety of people.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Lisa M, Thank you for taking the time to review theWit Hotel Chicago. We are delighted that our great location in the heart of the Chicago Loop was able to provide you with a great starting point for shopping and dining alike. Unfortunately, on the day of arrival we could not accommodate an early check-in as we do not guarantee room availability until 4pm. However, if a room did become available we would of happily assisted with your request as we try our hardest to accommodate all of our different guest’s needs. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon to theWit! Best Regards, theWit Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,938 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#16 of 192 in Chicago
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £95 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing