We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Wit was wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #40 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Huntley, United States
1 review
“The Wit was wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

My family and I recently stayed at The Wit Hotel in downtown Chicago. The purpose of our visit was to attend a wedding being held at the same location. Our stay, from start to finish, was wonderful! The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Our room was clean and spacious. The event room was beautiful, clean and the atmosphere was lovely. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Debra B, Thank you for sharing this wonderful review of theWit Hotel Chicago. We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your Wit experience while attending the wedding. Our staff works very hard to provide every guest with our remarkably unique Wit experience. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon! Best Regards, theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,396
    608
    199
    70
    53
See reviews for
386
759
124
702
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

There is a nightclub on the roof of this hotel. It blares loud, long-lasting, sleep-disruptive music late into the night. The top eight floors of the hotel are probably uninhabitable. Hotel management knows this, but continues to rent rooms to unsuspecting guests. What a terrible business practice! Otherwise, the hotel is fine. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Just don't plan on sleeping!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear John L, Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay at theWit. We are disappointed to hear that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. Should you have any further concerns regarding your stay please feel free to contact us directly. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future to theWit! Sincerely, theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The staff from reception to concierge service were very nice and friendly. They were able to give us great information to get around the city. The room was clean and comfortable. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Christine M, Thank you for your fantastic review of theWit Hotel Chicago. Our staff will be proud to hear of the great service provided. We cannot wait to see you back soon at theWit! Warm Regards, theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Absolutely horrible experience! This hotel is a joke. We booked a room for a couple of nights. The shower headwas leaking, bathroom light switch was broken, bed runner was ripped and the service was terrible. We rrequested a fridge about eight times because we were told not to move anything inside the minivan or we would be charged. We explained that there was a nursing mom in the group and she needed to store her expressed milk. They promised to send one but never did. We were forced to make room in the mini fridge that already in the room- well we got charged for it. We had to call four times to take off the charges. They also charged us for the dirty ripped runner that was already ripped when we got there. They also charged us for smoking in the room none of us are smokers. We had to pay for WiFi, which didnt even work. They also charged us for vacuuming the room. What!?!? We specifically asked if there would be charged for cleaning the room, and they said there was not; still, we cleaned up our mess before checking out so the staff would have minimal work to do. Their customer serviceis iinferior. I will never... ever... ever.. salary there again. Absolute trash.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nrizzo41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear nrizzo41, We are disappointed to hear that your stay was less than expected. As you can see from a majority of our reviews and our 2014 Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor, your recent experience is an exception rather than the norm. Thank you for your feedback. Sincerely, theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noblesville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here for a work trip. The hotel is beautifully updated and has such a refreshing contemporary feel. The rooms are clean and brightly colored. The meeting rooms were beautiful as well. All of the staff was very accomodating and pleasant; especially one of the bellhops. Every time I entered or exited the building, he remembered my name and was extremly helpful and friendly. He exemplifies what customer service is all about.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Carlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Carlie G, Thank you for reviewing theWit Hotel Chicago and for recommending theWit Hotel to other reviewers. We are thrilled to hear your kind works regarding our staff and their exemplary service. Please feel free to contact us should you remember our bellman’s name as we know he will be proud to learn of his great service provided. We do hope to see you again soon at theWit!-Best Regards, theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at theWit for the first time last night. Overall, GREAT EXPERIENCE! We live in the suburbs, and usually take the train, but decided to drive. The only negative of this hotel is the drop-off area out front. The valets work very hard, but it's just a very awkward area to try to stop a car and unload due to the amount of traffic and the very small sidewalk area in front of the hotel.

Check-in staff was very helpful, and very quick to open up a new check-in line when the crowd in the lobby started to grow. We were able to check into our room around 12:45 pm, well before the published check-in time. We requested a quiet room, and two of the staff members actually huddled up together to go through the available rooms before deciding which room would be best. We ended up with a corner room on the 14th floor. We could see some of the lake, and we did hear the train and city noise, but the "white noise" of the city was not unlike any other city hotel I've stayed in, in any location. If city noise bothers you, turn on the a/c and bring ear plugs.

Room size were better than average, amenities were good, and the rooftop bar was awesome! We went in the afternoon for a drink, and the view could not be beat.

We will be back to stay at this hotel. The staff tries very hard, and I would say that they exceed expectations!

Room Tip: As for a corner room - there's a stairwell on one side, so you will only have one neighbor. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WindyGirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Windygirl007, Thank you for choosing theWit for your recent weekend getaway and for taking the time to recommend us to other reviewers. We are thrilled to hear your great comments regardong our staff as we try our hardest to provide every guest with a truly unique Wit experience. Our staff will be proud to learn of the great service provided as we accomplished our goal of surpassing your expectations. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon to theWit for another great Wit experience. Best Regards, theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel was perfect from the location, to the service, and the cleanliness. We were able to check in early, leave our car with valet, and walk to just about anywhere we wanted to go. I manage a hotel in Indianapolis and this was the perfect getaway. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Brett S, Thank you for choosing theWit Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to recommend your experience to other travelers. We are thrilled to read your positive feedback of our hotel as well as your kind recognition of our team's efforts to ensure the best Wit experience. Our great location is perfect for exploring all that Chicago has to offer and we are thrilled to hear that we were able to assist by providing an early check-in. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon to theWit! Best Regards, theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
LondonHouse Chicago, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing