We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #37 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Spent six days for a business conference. Hotel staff were always friendly and willing to help. Rooms were great and the food was good throughout the stay. All the staff I encountered were willing to put in a little extra effort to help. Loved the warm cookie on check in! The ground floor bar had a wide range of craft beers. The gym was a little small with no pool but the hotel is located close to the riverwalk and convenient for the lake front run. Great place for a stay downtown. Some reviews complained about the L but I never heard it at all during the stay. Windows were double glazed.

Room Tip: Just ask to be located so you don't hear the L (metro).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warwick John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Good morning, Mr. Warwick John F., Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at theWit Chicago! We pride ourselves on our "Whatever It Takes" culture and desire to exceed our guests expectations. I am thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience when you visited. We hope to see you the next time you visit Chicago. Have a fantastic weekend! Sincerely, theWit Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,427 - 1,433 of 2,634 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here for a business trip and it was perfect. The staff, the facilities, the bed and bedroom were really good. Service was top class, always attentive, not in your face and people seemed genuinely nice and wanted to help and serve. To top it off, the omelette at breakfast was to die for.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Good morning, Mr. David J., Thank you for your glowing review of your stay at theWit Hotel Chicago. We strive to deliver excellent experiences to our guests, which has helped us secure the Top Hotels in the U.S. award from Conde Nast Traveler as well as maintain our AAA Four Diamond Award. We look forward to welcoming you back to theWit the next time you visit Chicago. Have a wonderful weekend! At Your Service, theWit Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We decided to try out this Hilton Family Hotel and we were pleasantly surprised. We had a Jr. Suite - a great room with an excellent view. The Sports Bar had good food and good service and hotel staff were courteous and aware. We will stay at the Wit again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank UWACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Mr. UWACE,

Thank you for taking taking the time to review your recent stay at theWit Hotel Chicago! We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience while visiting. We strive to deliver excellent service for our guests which helped us secure Tripadvisor’s Traveler’s Choice Award. We look forward to welcoming you back to theWit Hotel Chicago the next time you make it down to the city. Have a fantastic weekend! Warm regards, theWit Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I liked the location on State street, not far from Macy's , bus stop as well as the Michigan Bridge! Design of the hotel is lovely, room in good size and bathroom cozy. Hotel is clean, most rooms have nice view. Breakfast, offered in restaurant operated by separate company, has several good choices. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank railis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Good morning, Ms. Railis

Thank you for your wonderful feedback of your stay at theWit Hotel Chicago. We pride ourselves on our fantastic location which allows our guests to enjoy Chicago with ease and comfort. Positive feedback like yours has given us the honor of being designated "Top Hotels in the U.S." by Conde Nast Traveler in 2013. We look forward to your return. Have a fantastic day! Warm regards, theWit Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I've stayed at the Wit probably a dozen times since it's opened and always have a good experience. The rooms are quiet and clean, and the staff has always been helpful down to the cookies upon check in. I rented their theater (yes they have a cinema in the hotel) and had a wonderful screening with family and friends. It gets crazy on Friday and Saturday nights when the ROOF bar is invaded by the young and beautiful of Chicago, but aside from making me feel really old, the parade of people is great entertainment in and of itself. I always book and pay in advance and get great deals, including AAA discounts. Terrific value!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuggieDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Good afternoon, Mr. AuggieDaddy, We greatly appreciate your fantastic comments and continued patronage of theWit Hotel Chicago. Our goal is to offer an excellent experience to every guest who enters our doors. When we receive such glowing remarks from a returning guest, it helps to show that our efforts are successful. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay at theWit Hotel Chicago. Have a fantastic day! Sincerely, theWit Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our first stay at The Wit was good from the start at the front desk to our late pm The Purdue desk clerk was very nice and interesting.Our 2oth floor room had a great view w loads of glass.The bathroom view was cool and unique.One of our fav Chicago rooms!Our deal w Priceline made it very affordable.The Rooftop was fun but once might be enough.Our pass made the trip free but I wouldnt pay a cover just to see the rooftop.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up for the views especially at night..Try expedia hotwire priceline for a good p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hemingwayscantina45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Good afternoon, Mr. hemingwayscantina45, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at theWit Hotel Chicago. We enjoy the diversity and personality of our team members as they work to provide each guest with a unique “Wit” experience. Our windows are great to view the amazing Chicago skyline and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed this experience. We look forward to seeing you back at theWit Hotel Chicago soon. Have a fantastic day! Sincerely, theWit Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We had a quick 1 night stay at this hotel with my family of four and will definitely be back. Location is great just off the miracle mile. Welcoming updated rooms with nice views. Booked with Hotels.com.

Staff is the best reason to stay though. Attention to detail. Very courteous answering many questions before we asked them. Derrick the bellhop was great. Helped us tour our room and explained amenities, including what was complimentary and what was not.

Tip well, these folks earn it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank dsign95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Good afternoon, dsign95 Thank you for your kind review of theWit Hotel Chicago. We strongly believe that our staff is our most important asset. We were delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations and hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Chicago. Have a wonderful day! Sincerely, theWit Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,939 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#16 of 192 in Chicago
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £95 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing