We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing rooftop bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #39 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Make it a priority when in Chicago to go to this rooftop bar. The view from this place is absolutely amazing. I like how the roof has retractable sections, making it possible to use it year round. This is unlike the Banyan Tree in Bangkok, which is wide open and isn't subject to Winter like Chicago.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank BadBadMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear BadBadMonkey,

Thank you for taking reviewing your recent experience at theWit Hotel Chicago! We are glad that you enjoyed our ROOF so much.

Our ROOF has been a wildly successful and extremely popular addition to the city since its opening, which has helped us achieve the "Top 3 Rooftop Bars in the World" award from "Travel & Leisure Magazine" as well as Trip Advisor’s No.4 Trendiest Hotel in the United States.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Chicago. Have a fantastic day!

Sincerely,

theWit Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,452 - 1,458 of 2,671 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great location. Traveled from Midway on the train for 3 dollars. Pleasantly surprised as I only had the name of the hotel and did not know it was a Hilton property. My perennial complaint is the outrageous rates charged for wireless internet access. I travel mostly international so have become accustomed to free internet most other places in the world or included in the price for the room. I really feel the charges are way too high. Just another way to gouge profits from customers in the USA.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank professorDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear ProfessorDubai,

Thank you for your recent feedback of your stay at theWit Chicago! We are fortunate to have an excellent location that allows our guests to explore the city from a centralized location.

We strive to offer services at a competitive price, including our internet which is pretty comparable to other properties in our area. We are currently looking into an option which will allow our basic services at a complimentary rate.

Please note that our HHonors Gold and Diamond members enjoy complimentary internet services at all Hilton properties.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Chicago. Have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

theWit Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel was a wonderful place to stay in Chicago. Located close to the Mag Mile, Millennium Park, the L, great restaurants, etc. We enjoyed the gym and the restaurant downstairs had excellent food. We did not eat at the restaurant upstairs, but the views were nice. The best part about the hotel - the staff. Jonah was amazing in helping us get around the city and suggesting activities. All of the staff were so professional and helpful - they made it a great place to come back to every day. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Good afternoon, Ms. Lisa A,

Thank you for your recent review of theWit Hotel Chicago! We sincerely appreciate the glowing feedback you provided.

We are glad that Jonah was able to make such a great impression! He is dedicated to delivering amazing service to our guests and comments such as yours go a long way in motivating our team. I will let him know you mentioned him.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Chicago. Have a fantastic day!

Sincerely,

theWit Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I spent 3 nights in the hotel for a conference. Only issue we found were crowded elevators. On the rest, meeting rooms, catering and staff were great. The rooms are modern and nice with a good rain shower. Gym and general installations are good. As per the roof top bar is nice but was expecting higher altitude the ones in Bangkok are way more impressive

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank kcanavan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Kcanavan2010,

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay at theWit Hotel Chicago! We are fortunate to have a fantastic, centralized location for our guests to enjoy the city in all its splendor.

Thank you as well for your warm comments about our staff. We strive to make every guest feel special and at home while visiting theWit Chicago.

We look forward to welcoming you back to theWit Hotel Chicago on your next visit to the city. Have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

theWit Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great hotel with high end feeling rooms without the high rates. As a gold member, you are supposed to receive free faster internet; however, they billed me each time for it. Once I contacted the concierge it was cleared up immediately. Glad I caught it, each trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Good Morning, Mr. Ryan W,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay at theWit Hotel Chicago! Our teams works hard to deliver a luxury experience whenever we interact with our guests, which helps us maintain our AAA Four Star status.

I sincerely apologize for the billing oversight. As a Gold HHonors member, you should definitely receive complimentary internet. Thank you for letting us know of this issue as it will assist us in ensuring that this does not happen our future guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to Chicago. Have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

theWit Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a great experience here. The hotel met or exceeded our expectations. The staff was very attentive and accommodating. Looking forward to a return visit when the weather is warmer and we can enjoy the rooftop bar.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DScobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear DScobey

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at theWit Hotel Chicago! Our team prides itself on delivering amazing experiences for our guests to enjoy.

I am happy to hear that we made your stay a memorable one. We hope to see you back on your next visit to the City. Have a fantastic afternoon!

Sincerely,

theWit Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I stayed in a Junior Suite for a night during the 4th of July week.

Check-in was smooth. We got there quite early and they were happy to hold our luggage until our room was ready while we went out and explored the city. A bellhop (wish I could tell you his name) gave us some great suggestions on what to do on a short stay, and we were off!

When we returned to check in to our room, we got cookies (warm!) and our luggage was delivered to the room within minutes. The room itself is beautiful, clean, and the floor-to-ceiling windows give you an absolutely stunning view of the city.

We were on the 25th floor and there was a little noise from the rooftop bar later at night, but it was minimal and we had been notified about the possibility and told that if there were any problems with it that they would be happy to accommodate a switch. Wasn't enough of a problem to take them up on the offer.

On the down side... for the price of a fairly high-end hotel, I do resent paying $12 for basic internet access. Maybe a picky point, but in the neighborhood of $300/night should be enough to cover wireless access.

Otherwise... great place, great location, great service,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Mr. ConstantTraveller

Thank you for your glowing and very thorough review of your stay at theWit Chicago! I am glad to hear that we made such a positive impression on you during your visit.

Our team prides itself on delivering unique and personable service so that all of our guests get a customized experience, which has helped us secure the TripAdvisor’s Traveler’s Choice Awards as well as maintain our AAA Four Diamond status.

We look forward to welcoming you back to theWit on your next visit to Chicago. Have a wonderful afternoon!

Sincerely,

theWit Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 191 in Chicago
5,002 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#20 of 191 in Chicago
1,191 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £96 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing