We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location! Super Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #34 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

One of the best hotels I have stayed at this year! Very clean and modern rooms. Hotel staff is very friendly and there is a great roof top bar. The breakfast dining in the morning is excellent, I was pleasantly surprised with their creativity.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Chris E,

Thank you for your great review of theWit Hotel Chicago! I am delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be perfect for your visit. Our team is dedicated to delivering amazing service and experiences and feedback like this shows that we are going in the right direction.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Chicago. Have a wonderful afternoon!

Sincerely,

theWit Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,541)
There are newer reviews for theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,296 - 1,302 of 2,544 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

First, a shout out to Joel at the concierge desk, who managed to book a birthday reservation at a top restaurant. He was knowledgable and opinionated, exactly what you need if you've new to a city. The rooms are spacious, the housekeeping was perfect, the hotel room amazingly quiet. We could walk to almost everything we wanted to see, and bicycled and rode public transportation to sites further away. Chicago is an easy place to visit, but the central location of this hotel plus their friendly attitude made our first visit a happy one.

Room Tip: I think they must be all good.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Camilla R,

Thank you for your stellar review of theWit Hotel Chicago! Our team prides itself on delivering amazing, top class service and it sounds like Joel exceeded your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to highlight his great work. I will be sure to recognize him for his service.

We look forward to your return to theWit on your next visit to the Windy City. Have a fantastic day!

Sincerely,

theWit Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at theWit for 3 nights during a business trip to Chicago, and there are many reasons to choose this hotel:

1) Location; On State and Lake street in Chicago's Loop district. A mere 5 mins walk will take you to Michigan Av, where all the shopping starts. Great central location. Also close to the river and the starting point for the Chicago Architecture Tour.
2) The Roof Bar; one of Chicagos best for sure. Great place for a light meal and drinks. Gets quite busy towards the weekend, but is a must-do in Chicago.
3) The rooms; spaceous, nice beds, clean and fresh.
4) The staff; very friendly and helpful.

Although theWit is rather expensive, it should be on your list if you are planning to go to Chigaco.

Wit it in Chicago!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StianGiskeodegard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear StianGiskeodegard,

Thank you for your recent review of theWit Hotel Chicago! We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy so much of what the hotel has to offer. I am especially pleased to hear that our staff was accommodating and helpful during your stay. We are fortunate to have such a great location for our guests to enjoy and explore the city.

On your next Chicago adventure, we hope you choose to come back to theWit hotel. Have a wonderful afternoon!

Sincerely,

theWit Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Helpful staff, concierge was outstanding with recommendations, great location for a great walking city, convenient to river walk area, restaurants and park, restaurant and wait staff were top notch, food quality and selection was outstanding, only drawback - no movie pay per view available.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Adrien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Adrien H,

Thank you for your review of theWit Hotel Chicago! We are delighted that you had such a fantastic experience while visiting. Our team is dedicated to delivering anticipatory service and it sounds like we succeeded during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Windy City. Have a wonderful afternoon!

Sincerely,

theWit Hotel Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed here to explore Chicago over the weekend. Besides the night club on the rooftop where we had a great night out, the hotel is centrally located, perfect to explore the city. The rooms are modern, sapcious and extremely comfortable. Definitely a hotel to return to.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank heikoheiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear HeikoHeiko,

Thank you for your recent feedback of theWit Hotel Chicago! We are delighted to hear that our hotel made such a great impression on you during your visit. We strive to maintain a trendy, hip environment while still delivering luxury, anticipatory service. Feedback such as yours helps us continue our motivation and direction Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you at theWit on your next adventure in the Windy City. Have a great day!

Sincerely,

theWit Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and 2 teen-aged children stayed at theWit in late July, and we found the hotel to suit our needs perfectly. The interior is fun and quirky, but the staff, while being friendly, were attentive and very efficient. We all had breakfast (actually closer to noon) at their "State and Lake" restaurant twice, and they were both memorable. Really. The hash and eggs were hearty and "artisinal," the service was great, and the coffee was also great. We checked out the rooftop bar, but, while certainly cool and interesting, was too hip for us. The location is great--within easy walking distance to an El stop and the Art Institute. I sensed that the hotel was pretty full, but I heard no noise at night form other tenants. Overnight valet costs for a car are pricey, but this is Chicago; I knew that going into the vacation. I've already recommended theWit to a couple of people and will again to friends I know who are looking for something with color, panache, style, and fun.

Room Tip: On the 20th floor, I heard no street noise at all and had a cool view of interesting architecture an...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Tim P,

Thank you for your glowing review of theWit Hotel Chicago! I am delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy so much of what theWit has to offer. Our dedicated team and fantastic location make this hotel an amazing option to enjoy the city.

We look forward to seeing you at theWit on your next trip to Chicago. Have a wonderful afternoon!

Sincerely,

theWit Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed Aug. 1-2 because I ran a half marathon in town. We had planned to stay two nights, but the Lollapalooza crowds (those returning to their rooms overnight) were just too loud. We were pleased that the hotel staff did their best to accommodate -- especially Natalie.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Amy F,

Thank you for your recent review of theWit Hotel Chicago! I am glad to hear that you found our team to be so accommodating and that Natalie made a great impression on you. I will make sure she is aware that you mentioned her. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Chicago. Have a great day!

Sincerely,

theWit Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 191 in Chicago
1,089 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 191 in Chicago
4,772 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £109 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing