We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, Underwhelmed by the Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #39 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Nice Hotel, Underwhelmed by the Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

I had booked a one night stay in the two room King Spa suite at this hotel as a birthday surprise. We also invited a few friends to join us for drinks and dessert in the room that evening as part of the celebration.

Service: Because it was a special event, I had specially ordered dessert from an out of town bakery for the evening, and had it delivered via mail to the hotel. I called ahead to the hotel to let them know this was a special occasion and made sure it was possible to receive my package this way; I was promised the package would be accepted since I would not arrive until 4pm at check in. Unfortunately, my package was never accepted and my dessert never came. According to the tracking number, they had attempted to deliver it. I spoke with multiple people at the front desk to no avail. Offered no alternative suggestions for dessert, finally, in house dining called and offered a very mini cupcake display (at a premium of $33). I had no choice but to take it or go without any dessert.

Cleanliness: The room was nice and clean, but the windows were hazy from fingerprints. Not entirely what I expected to see out of a $389/night room.

Spa quality: There was a big tub and comfortable robes. You have to pay for anything additional.

Value: With all the chaos of dessert, we ended up putting down over $500 on the one night. This included the two room suite, overnight parking, the replacement dessert, and a spa item (bath soap?).

While we really did have fun in the suite and at the hotel, it was definitely a bit pricey. I think my overall experience was tainted because of my missing dessert with no consolation. Maybe it will work out better for you.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 27 October 2010
We are always thrilled to host special events and occasions as part of theWit experience, and our guests typically rave about the amenities, accommodations, and service provided. It was disheartening to read of the missed special delivery that was to be part of the weekend festivities, and the subsequent follow-up.

We are pleased that we had the opportunity to speak with you since then and to research the circumstances which saw the package arrive back at the hotel on Monday- after your visit- as discussed, and that we may soon have the opportunity to host you again.

Our goal is perfection and guest satisfaction, and we are confident that future Wit-experiences will be positive ones.

As always, guest comments and feedback are greatly appreciated.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,392
    605
    199
    70
    52
See reviews for
383
757
122
701
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

I have always had good service at this hotel, but this stay was exceptional. I brought my mom down for a birthday celebration. We were able to check in to one room at 10 am and the other by 3 pm. We were surprised with a corner room, which was a little larger than a normal king room. It was really clean & had INCREDIBLE views of both Millenium park and the lake beyond. It even had a window in the bathroom! The room was on the 15th floor on the Lake St. side of the hotel. I did not hear traffic noise nor noise from the el train.

Even my parents (in their 60's) were impressed by the rooftop bar. Service was always prompt and friendly and the drinks were good.

The concierge was very good about a lunch & dinner reservation and printed out a few different restaurant menus for us. Also, we had coffee brought up to the room by room service. It was delivered promptly, with the requested 5 cups & five glasses of ice water.

After staying here a few times, I am still impressed with the rooms and service. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in the loop.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coso333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
Dear coso333,

Thank you for sharing your experience at theWit Hotel! We hope to see you back soon. Have a marvelous afternoon!

At your Service,

theWit Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

We loved The Wit. It was hip, but not too hip to feel snobby. The room was great. I was a little disappointed in the bathroom, not in itself but that it didn't have a bathtub... but that was my fault for booking a standard room.
The rooftop bar was fun and it was a beautiful day, unfortunately there was a wedding reception going on when we tried to go back. But, what are you gonna do? It would be great place to have a reception!
I would definitely go back, but upgrade to a spa room!

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rachel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

This is THE place to stay in Chicago. The moment you walk in you are served unlike you have ever been served before. The staff to a person is totally involved in making sure your stay is exemplary and memorable. Thanks for a wonderful business/personal time in Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gcjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

the food and room service was not very good, go somewhere else to eat.. the service at Breakfast was extremely slow on a Sat. morning. .Also very loud obnoxious music playing early in the morning. There was a strange chemical smell in our room upon arriving. Housekeeping checked it, couldn't come up with a solution and told us to open a window. i actually liked being able to open a window in my room, you seldom can any more. Thought it would be very loud next to the train and having the #1 night club there but it wasn't. We were on the 26th floor. Not a serene, quiet hotel, it's very hip and good for the younger crowd. But my teenager,16, said she really didn't want to stay there again.I liked the location and even the birds chirping in the hallways.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poppyseed15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 18 October 2010
Our location certainly is on the spot with Chicago area theater, shopping, parks and entertainment all close by. Typically our service and feeback on our food is on the spot as well. All inconsisitencies are noted and actions are taken to make positive changes for all guest tastes. In fact, guests will notice brand new menu items in several of the Restaurants @theWit throughout this Fall and through the Winter months.

Again, all feedback is greatly appreciated as we continue to enhance theWit experience for all guests.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

We just returned from our trip to Chicago where we stayed at the Wit Hotel and I have to say it was a fantastic experience. What a sight to be greeted to the city by the iconic Chicago sign of the Chicago theater, which sits right next door to the Wit.

Our taxi we took from Midway (approx $31) was promptly greeted at the street by helpful staff who assisted my wife out of the taxi and help us with our bags inside. The lobby was very chic, but didn't come off pretentious.

The girls at the desk were extremely friendly and got us checked in quickly. They quickly explained some basics of the hotel amenities and informed us that though the roof bar was open to the public and had become a very popular night spot, as guests of the hotel we were entitled to immediate entry (the line for the elevator to the club was around the corner) and if we had any problems getting to the front, to just check at the front and they would escort us there. We asked them if a late checkout would be possible and the girl quickly answered "not a problem" and upped our time until 2pm.

We left the lobby to go to our room and the well decorated hallway on our floor was filled with serene outdoor sounds. A nice juxtaposition when compared with the chaos of State street on the other side of the window. Our room was the basic King room but we were so excited with how modern, yet comfortable, the room was. Nice amount of space for a city hotel room and all the amenities were well placed so the room felt full of features but never cluttered.

We enjoyed our room for a while and decided to go and check out the roof bar. We got up there around 10pm and it was definitely a popular place. There was plenty of room to walk around, but seating was obviously a scarce commodity. We decided to each have a drink and take in the ambiance before roaming the streets. Drink prices were about average (glass of wine + Jack and coke = $20) but the bartenders were friendly even with the daunting crowd.

The hotel is located a block from the river and for non-city types, we never felt security was a big issue when walking around the immediate area. There are quite a few homeless people that roam these tourist areas, however, unlike experiences in other cities, we never felt anyone was overly aggressive when asking for a handout. Though you can't help everyone, the ones you do seem thankful and the ones you don't never made a big deal out of it.

We returned to the hotel around 1am and there was still a huge line in the lobby to get up to the roof bar. They rope off a single elevator for that line and hotel guests have the other three to use (need your room key to get elevator to work).

We had a very comfortable sleep in our room and enjoyed the hotel throughout our stay and since we had a late check out we even got to enjoy some early morning shopping before heading out.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the city. It was a great experience and I will definitely return as soon as I can.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serberus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

We just returned 10/11/10 from a 3-night stay at TheWit in Chicago. We were in the city to watch the Chicago Marathon. It was a great location for the race - within walking distance to the host hotel and the start/finish lines. The room was clean, the bed was very nice, and the food at the State & Lake was good with reasonable prices considering it's a 4-star hotel. Check-in was smooth except pulling up in the car to exit with the bags was frustrating since there's no designated area for arrivals. The bellman was helpful and once inside, I forgot about the hassle. The maid service was good but housekeeping usually occurred late in the day. The hotel arranged dinner reservations for us at 6pm on Saturday (sort of at the last minute) which was a blesssing. We ate at the Rosebud Trattoria on N. Dearborn St. The food was excellent but the place was noisy. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCinIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
LondonHouse Chicago, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing