We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel we have ever stayed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #34 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portage, Indiana
1 review
“The best hotel we have ever stayed.”
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Everything was just exquisite. Our room was amazing and we were able to upgrade it which made everything more wonderful. We were able to walk to our destination.... The Chicago Theatre.... and return for evening cocktails. This was our first stay in a Doubletree/Hilton hotel. We have visited 45 states and this was the best stay in any hotel ever. I can't express in words how much we loved our visit to theWit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmc1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,534
    632
    206
    71
    57
See reviews for
430
816
129
748
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2011

This Saturday I checked in with a friend to the Wit Chicago. First impression is great because of the convinient location of the hotel, the overall image it portrays and the fact that this was a great way to start off a weekend of exploring Chicago.

The front desk staff that checked us in was helpful and friendly. We went to the Roof before going to the room and dropping our belongings. The 27th floor had a great view, was obviously quiet since it was lunch and the staff again was friendly. From there, we just dropped things off and went out sight-seeing. We came back around 6:30 pm to rest and get ready for the evening. We put on the T.V. and an hour later got a noise complaint. This was surprising because nor was there any disturbing noises nor was the T.V. on too loud. This was in a "connecting" room. The beds, the bathroom and the overall ambiance of the room was great. Around 10:30 we went to the Roof. Obviously the party had started, people seemed in a good mood and the music was good. We ordered drinks from Johnny the bartender who was very upbeat and attentive. Security was nice but seemed to be all over the place. We met Jim Meyers who was a pleasure to talk to and very insightful. Javier, one of the food runners, was beyond hospitable and extremely friendly to us which is very much appreciated. When the evening ended, we went back to the room. Obviously, being late, we were careful not to make noise or talk loud. However, about 10 mins after going back to the room and started to get ready for bed, we got banging on the door from the room next to us. Then 15 mins later, we got a phone call from a rather rude male employee telling us to keep it down and that if necessary, they would come and kick us out of our room in the middle of the night. This to me was very unprofessional and plain rude. I have paid for my room like all the other guests, and expect to be able to talk in it, the whole night if I want to. Nor was there any T.V noise, no banging or screaming, so I do not understand what the problem was (because that's exactly how the gentleman on the phone made it sound like, a big problem). If there are people who need complete silence, then you should not check them in this type of "connected" room. I do not think this was a pleasnt thing to be told in the middle of the night and to have to feel threatened that I might be thrown out and left on the street. The gentleman on the phone made it very clear that we basically needed to shut up completely. Again, I do not recall having read any rules about talking in your own unit. This for me was the downfall to the whole day and night of fun we had. Very unprofessional and not appreciated at all.

Check out was at 12 and they started banging on our door at 11:15 am. Again, this was very pressuring and made us feel unwelcomed and rushed to leave. We wanted to have breakfast at the hotel, but all of this pressuring lead us to just want to leave. Downstairs, checking out at the front desk, I asked for a comment card. The woman at the front desk seemed to be disturbed and annoyed by the fact that I needed assistance. Once again we felt were were being pressured to leave. I asked if I needed to sign something or if any other procedure was necessary and her response was "No, you just leave now." After we asked for the comment card, she never inquired if there was a problem, or what was nice about our stay, etc. which would have been a professional thing to do and a recovery for the hotel.

Again, the beginning of the stay seemed to start off nicely, but then again, we spent only 5 mins in the hotel before going out to the city and therefore had no real contact with the staff and the service. I felt like the hotel got what they wanted from me and when they got it, they no longer cared about maintaining a good customer service.

Point is, I will not come back here and I will not recommed the hotel to anyone of my friends or family. It is a beautiful hotel and at a great location. However, for someone who wants to have a good overall experience that includes friendly staff members and good customer service, it is not the place to go. As a guest I want to feel appreciated and taken care of from start to end, not harassed in the middle of the night because the neighboring door has someone staying that can't sleep or has problems with me talking in my own room. It is the hotel's responsibility to make sure that both I and that person remain happy, not to call and harass me. Again, good location, bad experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katbraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

A great Christime time getaway for shopping and theatre. First time at the Wit and definitely not the last... Great staff, and great room... ( 2 room suite for 4 days) The rooftop bar is a must see and a trendy place to be seen. Close to shopping. Overall the best!! A Green hotel...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoKaOi34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We spent a night at The Wit on their Witty Stay package. We had a great room and two tickets to the play, Wicked. Great seats for the play. Orchestra, Row L

After booking the room online, I received a very friendly phone call from the hotel confirming which night we wanted to go to the play. Our tickets were available at the desk when we checked in as promised.

The staff at the hotel was very friendly. From the front desk, to those walking around the hotel, and the bar wait staff.

The room had a great view, was VERY clean and decorated very upscale. Great large, clean shower. HD TV (best I have ever seen in a hotel). Bed was comfortable.

We stopped in the rooftop bar for a drink and hors d'oeuvres. Great atmosphere. Friendly staff. A little pricey, but, the view is spectacular.

Our room was on the 17th floor. We could hear the trains going by, but, it did not bother our sleep. I would think the trains would be a little louder if you were below the 10th floor.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ititravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

I have stayed at The Wit before and had a pleasant experience, so we decided to give it another run and stayed for 2 nights to celebrate my birthday and take in the city.

Let me start by saying I have Diamond status with the HIlton brand and stay at alot Hilton properties. The hotel has a nice vibe when you walk in, a great location and very nice rooms. Since we were having a few people down to celebrate my birthday, we went with a suite that had a kitchen/dining area, famliy room and a very large soaker bathroom. I must say, the electric push button blinds/curtains were pretty fun (they only have those in the suites). Overall, the hotel is very nice.

Now, the bad part and the reason i wont go back. My wife and I have a bit of a tradition, when we go out for our birthday, anniversary, etc, we always surprise each other with a nice bottle of Champagne/Wine and some type of chocalates/fruits delivered to our room-its fun and romantic. My wife called in the day before to have the champagne and chocalate delivered at 5pm (HIlton is normally perfect at delivering right on time!). So as I was anxious to get ready for the night and wanted to leave the room, she patiently asked me to wait. Long story short, 5pm passes and at 5:45, she breaks down and tells me the items were supposed to be delivered at 5.

We called the front desk 2 times over the next 45 minutes, two times they said they would call us back with an update, but didnt, so we start to get ready for our night and at about 6:30, our items finally show up. I nicely told them we no longer wanted the items as they were 90 min late and we were now leaving for dinner. I called the front desk one last time and mentioned I turned down the room service and they said a manager would be contacting me, but he never did. They did offer up a free bottle of wine for our room, which I turned down.

I am not super picky with service and Hilton Hotels have always been great! I get that mistakes happen, but this had that "so what" feel to it which was a disappointment.

I will add that outside of this, the service was good.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2011

I celebrated my 50th birthday at the Wit with friends and had a wonderful experience! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was super clean and the beds were incredibly comfortable. We were within walking distance to shopping and the theatre. I used the gym every morning and had a wonderful spa experience. The restaurants were outstanding and so was the lounge on the top floor. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaatraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago area
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We could not have asked for more and the staff was wonderful. Ceremony, photos, cocktails, and reception were all held onsite. ROOF is spectacular for drinks. The banquet food was absolutely wonderful. All of our guests loved their rooms, and one even insisted I come up to see how great it was! Would highly recommend it for anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 190 in Chicago
1,045 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,689 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Green Hotel in Chicago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing