We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! 700 interactive exhibits”

Museum of Science and Industry
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.00*
and up
Museum of Science and Industry Chicago
More Info
US$99.75*
and up
Chicago CityPASS
More Info
US$75.00*
and up
Chicago Explorer Pass
Ranked #6 of 648 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The largest science museum in the Western Hemisphere! Housed in the only remaining building from the 1893 World’s Fair, MSI is a Chicago must-see. You’ll experience 14 acres of hands-on exhibits and have the chance to stand before a 40-foot tornado; climb aboard a World War II German submarine; take a run in a human-sized hamster wheel; descend into an Illinois coal mine; tour a fully functioning eco-friendly home; board a 727 hanging from the ceiling; transmit your pulse to a 13-foot, 3-D beating heart; and much more! MSI is not a place where you walk around quietly and observe. No way! You get involved in the fun—and learn—by doing. Just a few miles from downtown with convenient underground parking.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
New England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow! 700 interactive exhibits”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Wish we could have spent a n extra dat at the museum. They do close at 4:00 Pm. If taking mass transit, you have to take a bus out to the wonderous spot.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bookma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,726
    1,619
    479
    121
    47
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place to visit.”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

There is always something different to see and enjoy at MSI. I just wish there were more educational opportunities for young tweens in the summer

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JAM360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It has changed, better for children than adults”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I was really looking forward to spending the day at this museum, but it changed a lot. It seems to have changed into a childrens science museum with a lot more of the new multi media stuff you see in museums. It is not bad since my daughter just loved it, but childrens science museums make me sleepy and I think a lot of the multi media stuff is not necessary. I loved the museum in the past. Last time we were there we got to see the coal mine and uboat for free and the regular museum exhibits and it was a great value for a museum.

One exhibit we probably spent 2 hours in was the weather exhibit. I do not think I really learned much from it but it was a fun area

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank debkr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the best museums anywhere”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I really can't say enough great things about this museum. It's among the very best I've seen, as a kid or a parent.

It's huge, with a variety of exhibits that will entertain/educate people of all ages. Among the attractions are "The Great Train Story," a scaled model railroad that simulates a journey from Seattle to Chicago; an actual 727; a working coal mine; and an actual German U-Boat from World War II. There are exhibits on genetics, storms, energy, etc., plus an Omnimax theater.

While we were there, the "Mythbusters" show had a special exhibit going.

I was also pleasantly surprised by the food court: It had a ton of options, including fresh salads, sandwiches to order, and pasta -- in other words, this wasn't just greasy junk food.

One word of caution: The museum *is* expensive. Some of the most popular parts of the museum -- the coal mine, the U-Boat, etc. -- require extra tickets, with set times. Particularly on more crowded days, you'll want to buy those tickets early and as part of a package.

Transportation: The museum is by the lake and south of downtown, near the University of Chicago/Hyde Park.

The easiest way to get there is to take the Metra Electric District trains, which is a commuter rail line that you can catch downtown at either the Millennium or Van Buren stations, each one a block from CTA-el lines. (The closest station to Millennium Station is closest to Randolph; the Van Buren Station is closest to Adams.) Once you get on the Metra, you go to the 55th/56th/57th Street station -- it's about 15 minutes. The museum is two blocks from the station -- you can't miss it.

Alternatively, you can take the CTA red or green lines to Garfield, then transfer to a city bus that will drop you at the door. We did the Metra route this time, the CTA-bus route last time. I thought the Metra was easier, but your mileage may vary.

Of course, you can also drive and park or take a cab.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BSRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lot's to see”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

It was cool to see a real U-Boat and the flight simulators were fun.
But you have to pay extra for everything.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank tinalemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Science and Industry also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Science and Industry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing