We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE this place!”

Museum of Science and Industry
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.00*
and up
Museum of Science and Industry Chicago
Ranked #6 of 640 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The largest science museum in the Western Hemisphere! Housed in the only remaining building from the 1893 World’s Fair, MSI is a Chicago must-see. You’ll experience 14 acres of hands-on exhibits and have the chance to stand before a 40-foot tornado; climb aboard a World War II German submarine; take a run in a human-sized hamster wheel; descend into an Illinois coal mine; tour a fully functioning eco-friendly home; board a 727 hanging from the ceiling; transmit your pulse to a 13-foot, 3-D beating heart; and much more! MSI is not a place where you walk around quietly and observe. No way! You get involved in the fun—and learn—by doing. Just a few miles from downtown with convenient underground parking.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOVE this place!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

There is always LOTS to see and do here! (It is our daughter's FAVORITE museum to visit!!) Be sure to take the "WOW Tour" behind the scenes stuff and very interesting!
Food Court is a BUSY place...but the food is meh (at least my pasta was! Overcooked and sauce had too much Basil, but the meatball was yummy). They also have a coffee spot that serves Starbucks coffee, but mine was very bitter (pulled shot too early) and overly sweet (mocha sauce was just squeezed in, not measured pumps), and they didn't have much on the condiment station save napkins and straws.
Museum...AWESOME!!
Food Court..."Meh!"

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,597
    1,581
    472
    121
    47
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We loved the U-505 submarine, and paid for the inside tour. We did not know anything about this submarine, and were fascinated to learn its history, see and tour an actual submarine. If you want to tour the submarine, book it early in the day. The tours fill up fast. About 12 people are able to go on the tour at one time. Most of our time at the Museum was spent here. This museum has something for everyone. It's just wonderful. And...every single employee we encountered was helpful and happy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A great day - had fun and learned a lot”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Great science center. Had City pass and paid extra for coal mine and submarine tour. Spent a whole day there and didn't see everything.

Park on level C if you can as that's the main entrance to the museum. $20/day parking is one of the cheapest among major attractions in Chicago.

Brain food court is quite expensive. Buy the chicken taco kids meal which includes 2 chicken tacos, a fruit or apple slices and a drink for under $7. Best deal in the brain food court.

The citypass lets you skip the long line up and go straight to getting the tickets - huge bonus! One omnimax movie and the flight simulator experience are included. The omnimax movie is great. The flight simulator was lame. We also bought tickets to the E-505 submarine tour ($9 adult, $7 kids) and the coal mine tour (another $9 adult, $7 kids). It was kind of expensive but we really wanted to get the full experience. The coal mine tour was better but the submarine was cool too. If you don't buy the tour, you can still go thorough the submarine exhibit, you just can't go into the inside of the submarine for the tour. All the guides were very knowledgable and very friendly.

The 'birrrrthday party' experience provided a small sample of ice cream made with liquid nitrogen at the end. Glad we went there instead of paying for an ice cream at the ice cream parlor.

The chick hatchery was so cool. My first time seeing a chick hatch.

We spent the whole day there (10-5:30pm) and still didn't see everything. The paid exhibits were cool but you could easily spend a whole day there without buying any of the paid exhibits. Look in the schedule for all the live experiences that happen throughout the day in different locations.

One small complaint: the water from the bathroom sinks was too hot, majority of the hand dryers and soap dispensers didn't work.

Helpful?
Thank bipy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Public transportation Bus #2 disappointing”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We waited over 30 minutes for the #2 to take us there. The only bus from Michigan & Delaware area. The ride got us there too late for us to see the museum. The line for tickets was forever!! Then we waited over 30 minutes to take the #2 back. The other bus [#52 I think] arrived every 5-10 minutes. No one waiting for that one. Our next trip to Chicago will definitely include this museum and we will begin very early in the a.m.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PHYLLIS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Could have stayed there all day.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

There is so much to see and do and most of it is hands on. My husband and I loved it. My only complaint is that some parents don't keep their children under control. The Museum is not just for children. If you come to Chicago this is a must see.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank arteach424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Science and Industry also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Science and Industry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing