We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buckingham Fountain”
Review of Grant Park

Grant Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$76.30*
and up
Chicago Fireworks Segway Tour
More Info
US$70.84*
and up
Chicago Segway Night Tour
More Info
US$37.86*
and up
Museums and Parks at Sunset Tour
Ranked #41 of 648 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dedicated in 1844, this park covers 319 acres along Lake Michigan and is home to the Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium, the Field Museum and the Art Institute.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Buckingham Fountain”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I went to the Buckingham Fountain in Grant Park to take a large group photo. This was a great backdrop to document the start of our event. The view of the city is great and although we just stayed around the fountain it appears to be great place to walk along Lake Michigan as well. I would highly recommend stopping by here when visiting Chicago. It was clear there was so much more to the park then the small spot we viewed and enjoyed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank doublemint921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    276
    65
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Photo Opportunity”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Go to Grant Park for great views of the skyline and to see Buckingham Fountain. There are plenty of opportunities for excellent photos.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“LOVELY LANDSCAPING”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is another park in Chicago you don't want to miss. As you walk through, you will notice there is a garden club that sponsors a portion and the flowers are absolutely beautiful! Everywhere you walk, you can see fresh cut grass, well trimmed shrubs and flowers. There is a special rose garden with a water feature in the middle, etc. Very peaceful and relaxing place to sit with your thoughts. Really enjoyed this park.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kentucky101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not worth visiting twice!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This event was staged at Grant Park. No entry fee but food was over priced! Food tickets had to be purchased at booths. Basically there were two servings of food offered; "Taste"~ 4-5 tablespoons of food & "Regular"~ small containers holding 1-1 1/2 cups of food. About 40 food venders & several over-priced venders selling hats, shirts, & misc. tourist gifts. A couple of stages were set up with bands playing/singing. Came with a group of friends from Miami, FL. All agreed that this event wasn't anything special. Not planing to ever return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
723 reviews
302 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 648 helpful votes
“Good spot to walk or relax in downtown Chicago”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I walked through Grant Park to start my morning. The park is adjacent to Millennium Park and had several different sculptures as well as a fountain to enjoy. There are also nice views of Lake Michigan and the city skyline. If you are looking for some open space and wanting to just sit back and relax, Grant Park is a good spot to consider. It looked like not to many people actually walk through the park, but stay on the lakefront path, so I had the feeling I had the place to myself until I got to the Buckingham Fountain.

I would recommend Grant Park if you are looking to take a few minutes away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Chicago.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grant Park also viewed

 

Been to Grant Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing