We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Ranked #82 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    421
    104
    30
    26
See reviews for
301
210
87
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I just spent 9 days in Chicago - 2 nights at the InterContinental on the Mag Mile, 3 nights at the Hilton Palmer House and 3 nights at LaQuinta. I expected LaQuinta to be my least favorite hotel. Surprisingly I had my best stay here. It may not be as plush as the other 2 but I was treated much better here. Every time I entered the building I was greeted by the very pleasant staff. The other 2 hotels were noisy. I slept soundly every night here. There was a problem with my toilet not flushing. By the time that I returned to the room, it was fixed. The breakfast is varied and very good. I especially liked the ‘make your own waffle’ stations. The breakfast room was full every day but you could always get a table. There is an “L” stop less than 2 blocks away. The location has its pluses and minuses. It is in the financial district so it is quiet at night and on weekends which means there aren’t a lot of people walking around esp at night. I did walk alone at night without any issues. It was great having a coffee maker, fridge and microwave in the room. The room was large and spotless. I have no complaints at all about this hotel. They offer a great service without breaking the bank. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy_R-Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, B. C.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel on March 10th,2013. A very pleasant experience, walking distance from Union Station. Room was a good size, bed was comfortable & the FREE breakfast was fantastic. Definitely would recommend this hotel if you are travelling to Chicago. We have a Janitorial Business and this Hotel was clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Success60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We got a great rate through Living Social for this Loop hotel. Because it is a business travel hotel, the weekend rate was great and the room was very comfortable. The amenities were very good, including a strong free continental breakfast. Importantly, you can travel to many desirable locations easily from the Loop, including the lake and its parks and museums by foot and outlying neighborhoods by train only a block away.

Room Tip: Take a king bed even if there is a need for two because the divan is a comfortable sleep - you can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neslryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverhead NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The La Quinta Inn in the financial district of Chicago is convenient to all the favorite sites - the Art Institute is less than a mile away and it's only about four blocks to the river.The Willis Tower with incredible views of the city is about two blocks from the hotel. It's very quiet at night, since all the offices are closed - as they are on weekends. That's not so good if you're looking for a place to dine. Our room was clean and the beds were exceptionally comfortable. We missed having a refrigerator in the room. The included breakfast was more than ample, and staff members went out of their way to share directions and suggestions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljane234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, LA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel is in a good location, free breakfast, pretty noisy area though. The room was pretty clean, but sheetrock was rotted with water damage in the bathroom, and had been somewhat repaired. The day staff was very friendly and helpful, but don't expect the same if you check out early in the morning. The morning desk guy is a little rude. Maybe he wasn't a morning person. It was an overall good stay, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#9 of 189 in Chicago
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Address: 1 South Franklin St, Chicago, IL 60606-4611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Business Hotel in Chicago
#61 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
La Quinta Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing