We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Ranked #76 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
A La Quinta traveler
Kewaunee
11
Reviewed 21 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

After finding this property on Google Maps, I checked the reviews on Trip Advisor. Almost all were very positive so I decided to take a chance and book. Great decision. Very clean property. Staff is SUPER friendly and cooperative.

Check in went very smoothly and the staff was very willing to answer any questions and provide suggestions. Lobby is very clean and modern.

Room was also very clean and modern. Not real big, but we weren't playing basketball. The beds seemed a bit small, but they served their purpose. Very large and thick towels in the bathroom and excellent water pressure in the shower.

Hotel located within a block of Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts, Chipotle, Noodles & Co., Walgreens, 7-11, Potbelly Sandwiches, and CTA train and bus stops.

Breakfast included waffle makers, biscuits & gravy, hot oatmeal, toast, bagels, muffins, and cold cereals. Drinks included coffee, hot tea, orange juice, and water.

Exercise room had one elliptical and two treadmills; all TRUE brand and high quality. We did not go to or see the indoor pool.

Parking is right next door at 201 W. Madison. $45/night which is fair in this area of town.

I would highly recommend this property and will stay here again if we don't need to be right on Michigan Ave.

Room Tip: We asked for a floor on a higher floor so we wouldn't hear any street noise. however I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llandeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were first nervous about visiting a BIG city like Chicago. The vertigo-menacing skyscrapers, rumored heavily congested traffic, and the bone penetrating cold the “Windy City” is known for can be overwhelming for first-timers.

So finding a great place to stay only added to the stress.

But our anxiety was quickly relieved once we booked a room at La Quinta. The staff made sure our visit was pleasant, comfortable, and enjoyable.

Angie, at the front desk was polite, friendly, and insanely accommodating. She was very attentive to our needs, satisfying all of our concerns with a welcoming smile.

She could have easily thrown a few staples at us in response to our pestering requests but instead remained as cool as the temperature outside (burr) yet warm enough to make us feel as though we were back home in Miami (ahh). We truly felt like valued guests.

The maintenance, housekeeping, and food service crew also deserve high praise for their solid efforts. Their commitment to providing outstanding service showed throughout.

Not only were the rooms modern and spacious, but also spotless and stocked with plenty of the essentials (personal care products and towels).

The breakfast dining area was well-maintained and loaded with goodies. Their complimentary Bright Side Breakfast options will satisfy even the most demanding in the family. I had the eggs and sausage with biscuits, waffles, and a nice cup of fresh coffee. So tasty and filling!

And the location was just right! The property is conveniently located within a few blocks from the Willis Tower, and other great attractions and restaurants. Not to mention minutes from United Center, Lincoln Park Zoo, and Wrigley Field via Chicago’s transit system.

Take advantage of the staff’s vast knowledge and ask for parking suggestions, transportation options, and directions to attractions and restaurants. We did!

Thanks to management and staff for making our visit to Chicago a breeze. We greatly appreciate your warm hospitality

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juli n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A La Quinta traveler
Crowley, Texas
1
Reviewed 9 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with our hotel stay in downtown Chicago. This was a Christmas gift for our family where the men went to cheer on the Bears and the women went shopping. From the moment we arrived we couldn't have asked for anything better. The friendly staff that greeted us at the curb, the reservation staff and even the young man who fixed our TV ever so prompt. The staff provided us with recommendations on where to dine, shop and addresses to areas of interest. The cleanliness of the entire hotel was exceptional. The parking garage was conveniently located, well lighted and safe. Over all we can't say enough about our experience and I was leary because of difficulties of getting the hotel booked through an on-line booking company. We had two requirements - a pool for our granddaughter and free breakfast since there were 7 of us. La Quinta exceed our expectations and we can't wait to return. We will definitely use this hotel again and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank AJWilliams0816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We checked in on January 1st and was happy to be greeted right away by the doorman which I did not expect a La Quinta property to have but then again we are in Downtown Chicago. We pulled up on Franklin Street given that the address after all is 1 S. Franklin. The doorman told us it was okay to leave the car there with the flashers on while we checked in and go up to our room to drop off our luggage. However, after giving us directions to enter the parking garage on Madison Street we discovered that it had a nice shoveled driveway out of traffic. Strange why the doorman didn't tell us to drive around so that we weren't unpacking our luggage in the street where the snow and slush was not cleared.
We were in room 723, it had a king size bed but it seemed more like a queen size bed and a sofa/futon style sleeper that the kids used which was fine and served it's purpose. The cushions end up on the floor and they give you bedding/sheets/blankets if you tell them during check-in if you need it(the doorman brings it up)
The room is wrapped around with windows that overlook the part of the Chicago skyline but there are tall buildings that are close and offices/desks that look directly into your room. I like looking out the window at night and especially in the morning so I never closed the curtains. I didn't care if anyone was looking in because as far as I was concerned they were all too busy working. I'm not worried about voyeurs but my husband and kids weren't as comfortable as I was.
The hotel is connected to Argo Tea which I LOVED and also connected to The Noodles Store/Restaurant which was nice. Starbucks is literally across the street if you don't like tea but then you'd have to put a coat on and weather the storm and we didn't feel like doing that. Plus Argo Tea was a treat and not as common as Starbucks so we enjoyed it for the two days we were there.
We walked over to the Money Museum which was free and you don't even need the little coupon card advertised in the hotel. It was a small exhibit but worth it, they should definitely expand and provide more services/education. We got a free bag of real shredded out of circulation money.

Room Tip: Get the highest floor so you can see a great skyline view of the city. Ask for a corner room if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#89 of 192 in Chicago
583 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Address: 1 S Franklin St, Chicago, IL 60606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Business Hotel in Chicago
#61 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £97 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing