We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good hotel & in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Ranked #86 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pretty good hotel & in a great location”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 days on business. I must say I came in with low expectations but was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was in a fantastic location. The rooms were large, clean and well maintained. The staff was polite and helpful. Overall I would recommend this place for a short stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street on lower floors will not have much privacy ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G_the_Globetrotter84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    418
    103
    30
    26
See reviews for
299
207
85
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed over a weekend, the hotel was in a good location and at a good price. The room was on the small side but no problems with the cleanliness or comfort of the bed.

There was a loud fan noise that I was told was the clean air circulation system as the hotel has no windows, and it could not be turned off. I got used to it though and it did not end up affecting my sleep.

The breakfast was good with a very decent selection.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caleamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I went with this place since it had great reviews on TripAdvisor and it was literally next door to the building I was attending a training seminar for the next two days so it worked out perfectly. First off, just note that there is no parking provided by this hotel and you have to use the public parking lot which is attached but $45 per day! So keep that in consideration if you plan to drive a vehicle and park it there. Had I known that, I would have just got a taxi to and from the airport and walked/biked anywhere else.

The hotel staff was very nice and when checking in they provided me with the information that was needed such as where to get breakfast, their amenities, and the wifi password (which was none).

Breakfast in on the 2nd floor and I had it the first day I stayed. There’s plenty of room to sit and the area smelled great since they had 6 waffle stations available and lots of options such as muffins, oatmeal, cereal, toast, bagels, etc. They have a person there that serves you eggs, hash browns, and/or sausage if you would like those, which I assume is not a safety thing since you make your own waffles, scoop hot oatmeal, and toast your own bread. It’s probably for people who take too much of them. However, the hash browns were inedible, tasted like paper, were cold, and I spit them out! The eggs weren’t that great either and were runny and spongy but I ate them.

Parking – Expensive and should be included with the hotel stay.

Shower head – It was just your basic one and did the trick but would be nice if they upgraded them. Speakman makes nice ones that are available at Westin type hotels.

Bed – This was very comfy and the pillows were great too.

View – My room was on the inside area so I was facing other rooms but it’s all downtown anyway so unless you’re on a top floor, don’t expect much.

Water – Water pressure was fine and got hot.

Air Conditioner – The air unit wasn’t working in terms of accuracy but it was running and kept the room cold but it would say it was 70 degrees in the room but it was probably 75. I just bumped it down to 65 and it was good. Probably just the particular room I was in and maybe the batteries were bad in the digital thermostat.

All in all it was a good stay and I would go backl, however I would make plans to get breakfast somewhere else and take a taxi there instead of park.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANTMARSAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

It turned out to be better than I expected. Free breakfast was included but why was there no bacon on the buffet!!!!??? The staff in the kitchen was wonderful. They told me that they serve bacon Monday through Thursday only....why the heck do they do that??? Oh, I hated missing my bacon on those days.

I don't like that they didn't know that they didn't have any more fridges or microwaves to bring to our rooms when we checked in. I requested and never received it. I should have requested it when I made the reservation (note to self next time). The staff was happy to put your food in the their fridge and give you a claim ticket to retrieve it later.

The bed was comfortable, room okay size, nice and clean. The problem occurred at 3 a.m. when some folks wanted to get their groove on loudly!!! I thought it was a kid in distressed at first. I had just feel asleep when I heard the cries and noises. I went up and down the hall because I thought a kids was being hurt. Finally I found the room where the noise was coming from and after listening for a minute realized it was adult "having fun" I guess...in-considered guests.

Anyway, it was nicer than I expected. The pool area could use some updating. Small jacuzzi but at least they had indoor facilities which is necessary in Chicago.

Room Tip: If you desire a fridge and microwave request it when you reserve your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sthompson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorain, OH
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Clean hotel with courteous staff. The price was average for downtown Chicago. Our view was an office building with just as many windows as the hotel, so we had to keep our blinds closed the entire time. We weren't impressed with breakfast at all. It felt more like continental breakfast than a full breakfast. Boiled eggs, biscuits with sausage gravy, and waffles were the most elaborate hot items available. People were anxiously grabbing food like it was the last food they'd ever eat! We ate out every morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank classyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My stay at La Quinta was very nice. While I personally do not like spending so much money on a hotel, I think it was right for the area. You are in the middle of downtown Chicago, where anything is accessible, and it was an easy walk from the South Shore Millennium station. Most of the staff was very friendly, and the complimentary breakfast was a nice perk. You can make your own waffles, get hash browns and sausage and different juices as well. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and La Quinta makes sure you are fueled for everything you are going to do in Chicago!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent the weekend at the Franklin Street LaQuinta and were very impressed with the hotel and staff. The hotel and rooms were lovely; clean and well maintained. Plenty of hot water in the bath! The free breakfast provided ample food choices for the pickiest of eaters. The fresh-made waffles being a wonderful treat. The pool was the perfect size for playing with the kids and keeping a close watch on them. Most importantly, the hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. And they were well informed about local attractions and transportation options. The location was convenient to public transportation and the best of downtown Chicago. And let's not forget -- the regular price of the hotel was BETTER than anything available on those discount internet sites. We will stay there again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Allegro
Kimpton Hotel Allegro
#82 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Address: 1 South Franklin St, Chicago, IL 60606-4611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Business Hotel in Chicago
#61 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
La Quinta Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing