We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago with the grandkids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Ranked #76 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel was perfectly located for seeing the city with kids. Each morning the helpful desk staff would tell me which bus to take for our destination and point it out on the map they supplied. They were close to Giordano's Pizza and the Sky Deck as well as several local restaurants. The pool was a good temperature but a bit dirthy. My 11 year old granddaughters ate so well at breakfast that they weren't hungry all the time. We had non stop bus rides to the Museum Campus, the Museum of Science and Industry, Water Tower Place (for American Girl and Lego stores) and Navy PIer for Seussical at the Shakespeare Theater.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

547 - 553 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

I don't like being ignored for someone who was better dressed because they hadn't traveled several thousand miles on a train with no air conditioning. The girl at the desk just kept asking everyone else what they needed while we stood there with our suitcases. The rest of the staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. If it wasn't for them, service would be rated as "poor".

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Caron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

the rooms were clean they had free internet as well free breakfast, however, the breakfast was not the breakfast you can have, we stayed there for 3 nights and only the first morning we tried there breakfast and it was horrible. mcdonalds breakfsast is actually better. the rooms were spacious and had microwave and fridge which was great. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone who likes to spend there most of time outside the hotel for a great vacation

Room Tip: minute walk to willis tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is close to Union Station and Michigan Ave. Great place to stay, but not too many good places to eat nearby. Smoking rooms only have double beds. Everything was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Had to request a mini fridge.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank char323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We came into Chicago late via Amtrak and selected the LaQuinta due to its proximity to Union Station – less than $5 cab ride – and because I had points saved up from the loyalty program.

When we arrived, they were out of non-smoking rooms in our class, but had already bumped us up to a Jr. Suite.

The room was nice, but since we had asked for two beds and the new room was a king, we had to use the ‘sofa’ bed. Which is the oddest contraption I’d seen. It worked, but none of the sheets provided fit it quite right. It was late and my son isn’t picky – so we did just fine.

The hotel is very nice – staff was great and the room was bright and clean. I liked the desk looking out the window and for a Chicago hotel, the room was spacious.

If you are looking for an affordable stay in the heart of the loop/business district, LaQuinta would work well for you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sdski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is located in the middle of the finical district in Chicago. It was within walking distance to everywhere we planned to go and more. Plenty of restaurants located nearby the hotel as well. The room itself was very comfortable and very well decorated and exceeded my expectations! Enjoyed having a stand up shower and more than enough counter space in the bathroom for all of my hygiene products. The bed was as comfortable as the bed I just recently bought at home. The air conditioner kept the room nice and cold just the way I like it. Over all it was a very pleasant stay! Ashley at the front desk was a pleasure talking with! She recommended a bunch of things for us to do on our last day in the city and a wonderful Mexican restaurant around the corner from the hotel. The only complaint I had was that the swimming pool had way to much chlorine! It was overbearing! It was a very small pool and hot tub but it was very nice to have! Thank you for a pleasant stay La Quinta!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our family stayed in this hotel for one night during the week. The hotel is located in the Financial District and it is an easy walk to/from Union Station. Since it is in the Financial District, most of the people around are working during the week not tourists or shoppers. It was decidedly quieter in the evening, and we enjoyed walking around without feeling rushed.
The hotel service was friendly and helpful. Our room was available for early check-in, and they held our bags so that we could pick them up later after we checked out in the morning. The breakfast staff was friendly and happy to be at work. There was a nice selection of breakfast food.
The standard rooms did not have a microwave or refrigerator. Our room overlooked the courtyard and had no view, the room also seemed a little dark.
The pool had way too much chlorine which leads me to believe chemicals are compensating for cleaning the pool area. The tiny hot tub was foaming so much I didn't even put my foot in it. The pool area was the most disappointing part of the hotel as everything else pretty much met our expectations.

Room Tip: Courtyard view rooms do not have any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuvMex828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#128 of 192 in Chicago
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Address: 1 S Franklin St, Chicago, IL 60606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Business Hotel in Chicago
#61 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £86 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing