We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Airport shuttle wait was over an hour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Ranked #135 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Airport shuttle wait was over an hour”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here for 1 short night. Arrived on Friday, March 14th at around 9pm. As soon as my flight landed I called the front desk for instructions on how to find the shuttle. They explained who to get there and to stand by door #2. They said the shuttle arrived every 30 minutes. We waiting about 25 minutes and I called the front desk to make sure the shuttle was on the way and they said it was just about to leave. I googled the hotel distance to be about 9 minutes by car. 20 minutes later, no shuttle. Now we have a group of 15 people waiting for Holiday Inn-Cumberland and every other person waiting for other hotels has gotten on their shuttle. 20 MORE minutes (total of 1 hour and 5 minutes from when we arrived at the door NOT from when we landed) and no shuttle. I called the front desk AGAIN and they said they would call the driver. They get a hold of the driver and the driver is 1 minute away.
A grumpy old man hops out and starts grabbing bags and we all rush into the shuttle. It took us 8 minutes to get to the hotel.
At check in the front desk people recognized my IHG status but were extremely sarcastic about the entire shuttle waiting experience. I would think they would have apologized instead of attempting to make light of the situation.
I head up to the room to get settled and my room keys don't work. I head back down and the gentleman at the front desk makes another sarcastic comment about wanting to come see him again. Not really funny. Just want to get in the room. He also tries to make up some excuse that the keys are broken (which never happens especially to both keys) when in reality he goofed up because he was too focused on making his little funnies.
Room was clean and nice, bar and restaurant next door had a very good breakfast.
Overall the hotel structure was great but something with management needs to be tweaked. If there were no people at all involved in my hotel experience here i would have given it a 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbinsdale_Runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Robbinsdale_Runner, I want to apologize on behalf of the hotel for not fully providing the service we usually do. Our shuttles are big aspect of our hotel and I will be looking into what happened with the transportation that day as well as your check-in experience. If you could please reach out to me at jbugara@lakhanihospitality.com I would love to anything it takes to make you our guests again.

Jonathan Bugara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    214
    165
    54
    51
See reviews for
117
128
90
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The Holiday Inn at Chicago O´Hare Internatioal Airport is a very good option for any layover. The service is really good and the staff ever so helpful. The rooms are very ample and the bed is really confortable to ensure a good rest. The food at Harry Caray´s is fantastic, you can not miss it !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanFPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you JuanFPerez for your kind words and enjoying our full range of services. We look forward to your future stay and hope that we will be able to provide you with a 5 star experience.

Jonathan Bugara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is a good hotel if you need to be close to the airport. they provide a free shuttle to the airport and the CTA train station to the city is right across the hotel.. free parking and Wi-Fi. The rooms are of a decent size and clean. Reception desk staff is professional and helpful. the fitness room is adequate . there is a really nice outdoor pool but it is closed during the winter. Bar Louie is on the premises. Overall a good affordable option close to the airport for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Really appreciate you taking the time to let the Tripadvisor community your thoughts and experiences, Nadou123. You highlighted many of our amenities that a lot of guest enjoy on a nightly basis and come back for. Make sure you come back in the summer time to enjoy our outdoor pool!

Jonathan Bugara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Came here for my clinical skill exam. The rooms are spacious and well kept. Breakfast was good. Their restaurant/bar serves great food all day. Free parking and wifi too. Staff were helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
I am very pleased that you, Ashmed E, experienced the level service that we provide to every one of our guests. Hope all the studying and rest pays off and we look forward to your future visit.

Jonathan Bugara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel as my flight was delayed and American Airlines has given me a voucher for an overnight stay. I just stayed here for a night, therefore my review is not adequate. One thing that really bothered is the staff.

The lady at the from desk (her name starts Ism...) did not provide shuttle to the airport in the morning.

It was clearly mentioned at the front desk they have a shuttle to the Airport for every 15 minutes. When I reached the front desk at 4.14 AM in the morning, she mentioned to me that the shuttle has left which was supposed to leave at 4.15 AM and the next shuttle is only at 5.00 AM. She told me that she would call a cab. Instead of calling a cab, she called a Limo. Why would I need a Limo to go Airport?

After 10 minutes, I could see two shuttle buses parked outside the hotel. Still she did not make an effort to help me. I have to call a cab on my own to catch the flight on time.

I really think management should look into their practices to keep the customers happy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subbu547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Subbu547,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Taif, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a very cooperative staff who provide a very good service . Complimentary breakfast and free Internet is another advantage. The local train station is nearby and one can comfortably do shopping and business work from here .

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ibrahimmasoodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
With us being in the service industry, what you experienced is what we try to portray to all of our guests. A relaxed welcoming enviroment where service is first and foremost. Thank you for seeing that and sharing you thoughts on tripadvisor.


Jonathan Bugara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

For Chicago the hotel was at a reasonable price, everything quite standard in it. There were no real high points but a few low ones:
...old hotel needs a renovation, nothing looked fresh in it at all
...odd breakfast area that looks more like a bar, was not inviting at all, food was OK though
..very busy, lot of people in the lobby most of the time - the reception did quite a good job not having to wait too long

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRozsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear TRozsa,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review.

I read with much concern the troubles you have encountered during your stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and truly sorry for we fell below your standards on most of the services and amenities that we provide. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I am truly sorry if we were not able to deliver this to you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our hotel.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We deeply regret that you did not receive the level of service that we strive so hard to achieve. We value you as a guest and we hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
O'Hare
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Chicago Marriott O'Hare
#106 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwest Side
Quality Inn Midway Airport
Quality Inn Midway Airport
#142 of 188 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Address: 5615 N Cumberland Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631-2915 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Barcelo - O'Hare Arpt)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > O'Hare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort meets convenience at Chicago O'Hare International Airport hotel. The Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport Hotel (ORD), just minutes from downtown Chicago, offers you quality lodgings near the airport, making us your top choice for comfort and convenience in Chicago. Come and dine 24-hours in our new Bar Louie restaurant and bar. Bring your family to our Chicago O'Hare hotel, located just off I-90 with close proximity to all that Chicago has to offer. Nearby attractions include the Rosemont Theatre, Allstate Arena, Wrigley Field, Millennium Park, Sears Tower and shopping on the Magnificent Mile. Corporate travelers seeking prime Chicago O'Hare accommodations will not be disappointed in this hotel. O'Hare International Airport is just two miles away, and we are close to numerous businesses such as Career Builders, US Cellular, OCE, T-Mobile, the Big Ten Headquarters and the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center. The Blue Line of the subway is within walking distance of our Chicago Airport hotel. In addition, we offer a business center with a fax machine, copier, printer, computer and free high-speed Internet access. While staying at our Chicago O'Hare hotel, you can enjoy amenities including a heated, outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, an ATM machine and Bar Louie, our new 24-hour restaurant and bar, where kids eat breakfast for free. While traveling, you can bring your furry friends to our pet friendly hotel near O'Hare Airport. Book your Chicago hotel reservations now to enjoy our great rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago o`Hare Hotel Chicago
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing