We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnolia Studios
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Great find. We stayed in Studio 1 and had a great 6 nights. Two adults, one 7 year old and just the right amount of space for all of us. Very comfortable and quiet. The kitchenette was fantastic, enjoyed the complimentary coffee and water, and took advantage of the laundry towards the end of our trip too. We were there during cold weather and the heater worked great, not too noisy and cranked out tons of heat. The courtyard the studios overlook is very picturesque and even had Christmas lights up which made it extra festive. Short 2-3 block walk from the train station. All the towels and blankets you could need. It seemed like someone was staying in the other studio a couple of the nights and they were pretty quiet, but I could see the potential of loud "neighbors" being a nuisance.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
57
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
469 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

The apartment itself is really nicely done, clean and comfortable. I stayed with a friend and it was great to have both a bed and a sofabed. The bathroom is clean and nicely appointed. The kitchen was stocked with tons of K-cups - essential for two coffee fiends. Overall, we had a great stay, but there were a few little things that were kind of annoying... We had problems with the wifi, the keypad on the door gave us issues one night and we had to knock on the owner's door upstairs (we felt kind of bad because it was late), and the front gate was always frozen in the morning so we had to stick a pen through to lift the latch. I would definitely stay again, but they could use a tweak on some of the amenities.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slsnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a perfect stay. Kate is very friendly and helpful. There is enough information in the studio and we were very happy to use the saving card for Dominick's and a road map.
Parking is easy in the garage and the studios are located in a quiet neighborhood, nearby main roads. The studio (2) is well decorated (nice colours) and the shower is perfect. Everything is clean. Only the floor is making cracking sounds when you walk on it and you can hear water running when people in studio (1) taking some water from there kitchen/shower. The walls aren't that thick. But that's it.
Everything else was perfect. We loved to make our own breakfast and one evening we made our own dinner because we didn't want any more hamburgers, chicken wings, pizza's, spare ribs or other kind of meat. The studios are provided with coffee, tea and water. And you can use as many towels as you wish. The tv was perfect with a lot of tv chanels to choose from. There is a free use of a laptop and enough privacy.

Halloween was lovely to see in the neighborhood, despite the rain.
Thanks Kate. (Hope you find the savingcards in your mailbox).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We are very satisfied with our stay at Magnolia. The location is perfect if you want to live outside the tourist area. It was walking distance to Andersonville where you can find nice restaurants. It was very close to Bryn Mawr metrostation. The studio had a very comfortable bed, nice shower and it was really clean.
If we ever go back to Chicago Magnolia will be our first choice.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BIRM
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I enjoyed my stay at in one of the Magnolia Studios. The room was well appointed and very clean. While there were guests in the other studio, I couldn't hear them. The shower was wonderful and I was glad to have the Keurig coffee, refrigerator, microwave and internet access. The location was perfect for my visit to Edgewater. It's nestled in the midst of a neighborhood and was very quiet. I recommended this place to several Chicago friends for their future visitors and I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAURIE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

These little studio apartments are great. Nicely furnished, clean and very private - you can come and go whenever, without having to bother anyone. Entrance to the studios is by combination keypad. Great Edgewater location, close to Andersonville and public transportation, but on a quiet residential street away from the traffic.

We have stayed with Kate twice, and will do so again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This studio apartment was clean, comfortable, and easy to find. Great location in Andersonville meant we could walk to the beach and be just a few minutes from restaurants, coffee shops, etc. Cheaper and much nicer than a hotel with street parking - why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Rogers Park
Hampton Inn Chicago North - Loyola Station
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#49 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
House 5863 Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 22 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Studios

Property: Magnolia Studios
Address: 5705 N Magnolia Ave, Chicago, IL 60660
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Guest House situated on a quiet, tree-lined street in Chicago’s Edgewater / Andersonville neighborhood, Magnolia Studios offers a choice of 3 unique Chicago suites, only five minutes from the beach and thirty minutes from downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolia Studios Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing