We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, perfect hosts, simple but lovely accomodations”
Review of Magnolia Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chicago
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magnolia Studios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2009

We stayed at Magnolia shortly after they first opened. Kate and Ashley were wonderful hosts -- warm, friendly and helpful.

The studios are in a guest house behind Kate and Ashley's own home, so you have total freedom to come and go as you like. You're a 2 minute walk from a subway station, as well as an awesome bakery (Flourish). You're also a reasonable walk / bus ride away from a bunch of other hip neighbourhoods in the northern part of the city, like Andersonville.

The studio itself is lovely. You have a well-appointed kitchenette, a small breakfast table, a laptop with internet, a nice TV, and a very modern bathroom. The bed is extremely comfortable. Downstairs from the two studios is a washer/dryer that's free to use.

We've been recommending this place to everyone we know who might want to go to Chicago! Honestly, why stay in an impersonal hotel when you could stay at a place like this, with such charm (AND a kitchen!), for less money? I couldn't recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meredi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Magnolia Studios
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2009

The kitchen is very spacious and well appointed. Complimentary wine, beers, coke and water waited our arrival in addition to the complimentary toiletries. The apartment has been decorated to a high standard, the supplied laptop with internet proved to be invaluable and the powerful shower was heaven. Also invaluable were the washer and tumble drier.

That the entrance is electronically operated and thus requires no keys is a big plus. It's location on a quiet street and it's proximity to local shops, public transport and nearby Anderson met all of our needs.

Kate (the proprietor) and her husband Ashley are very welcoming and friendly and couldn't do enough for us. All in all, it was a home away from home and would love to return one day. A very definite recommendation.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth_nin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

My husband and I stayed in studio 1 in August while visiting family in the vicinity. The studio was very tastefully decorated, clean, light and cheerful -- a perfect sanctuary for us Everything we needed was there, down to the smallest detail, even paper towels in the kitchenette. Kate and her husband were friendly and very helpful and made us feel very welcome. The neighborhood is charming. We had a rental car to tote family around, and paid $10 more per night to have use of a garage accessible through an alley, which was a good value, since street parking was hard to find. A large car would not have fit into the garage but our rented Chevrolet HHR just fit. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moi_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

My husband and I stayed at Magnolia Studios August 7th - 9th. The property is beautiful, and in a cute neighborhood. In Studio 1, the wood floors are beautiful and the bathroom is fabulous. The shower just helps you get in the "vacation" mode! Also, there are travel size bottles of lotion, shampoo, conditioner, etc for your use. There is a laptop (with an internet connection) in the room for guest's use, which was very convenient, since we normally travel with our laptop, but it was being repaired back in STL. The bed is extremely comfortable! There are dishes if you're going to eat in your room, along with a stove, microwave, and oven. There is tea/coffee/water/coke in the room that you can have whenever at no extra charge. Also, if you have stayed in Chicago and experienced tiny rooms, you will be very pleased to hear that the accommodations are extremely roomy.
You should plan on street parking if you stay here - but there are a few side streets very close to the house where we were able to find a spot to park.
If you make plans to stay here during your trip to Chicago, you will not regret it. The accommodations are great, the location nice, and the hosts are gracious.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camillimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We simply loved the very new, European comfort and style. Clean, clean, clean! The bathroom, while not large, has beautiful slate floors, sleek modern fixtures, and large comfy towels. Heavenly bedding and mattress. There are many conveniences such as a stove, refrigerator, coffee maker, laptop with internet access, and a view of the enclosed garden. While minutes (seconds?) from Broadway, the studios in the carriage house were off-street, quiet, and private. We are very much looking forward to coming back and we have already recommended Magnolia Studios to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VisitingCollegeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

My husband & I were in Chicago for a short visit in July. This was the first time we stayed at the Magnolia Studios. Apart from being convenient to lots of great restaurants,etc the studio that we stayed in was beautifully done! It was bright & immaculately clean. Added to all of this the very reasonable price made it an excellent choice .We hope to stay again & again when we're in Chicago . I have already recommended Magnolia Studios to friends planning to visit Chicago.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennatraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

As I am about to move to Chicago, I needed to travel to the city for a few days to lock down an apartment. I discovered that Magnolia Studios had what appeared to be the best rate ($99 a night--total, no additional taxes or fees), so I decided to stay there for two nights.

There's nothing to the check-in process. In fact, there really isn't one: before you arrive, Kate (the proprietor) will give you information on how to access your room, which is electronically locked. There are no keys to deal with, so you can just arrive, punch in the code, and enter. Very easy, no-hassle process. When I arrived, Kate and Ashley (her husband) greeted me from the porch of their house, which is in front of the building containing the studios/apartment. They were extremely friendly.

The room itself was a gem. Kudos to the person in charge of decorating the rooms--it was probably the best-looking room I have stayed in anywhere, sporting a non-cluttered, cheerful, and modern layout and design. This really is a fully-outfitted studio apartment that you could live in, honestly, as it has cooking amenities, a fridge, etc. Free wi-fi, a computer, and an HDTV (with satellite hookup) are provided as well.

The location is great for getting to Andersonville and Edgewater by foot, and there's a red line stop only a few blocks away, making travel to the rest of the city a breeze. Magnolia itself is also a rather quiet street, so I often forgot about the fact that I was in such a huge city while in my room.

The room was like a home away from home; I felt almost like I was staying in a relative's guest house rather than in a rented room, as you can just walk to the house in front if you have any needs or difficulties. All in all, this place is a real bargain, and I'd recommend it to anyone not necessarily looking to stay in a ridiculously fancy loop hotel or something along those lines.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleepingdogmatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Rogers Park
Hampton Inn Chicago North - Loyola Station
The Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 191 in Chicago
323 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#52 of 191 in Chicago
793 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Studios

Address: 5705 N Magnolia Ave, Chicago, IL 60660-3413
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Chicago
Price Range: £73 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Guest House situated on a quiet, tree-lined street in Chicago’s Edgewater / Andersonville neighborhood, Magnolia Studios offers a choice of 3 unique Chicago suites, only five minutes from the beach and thirty minutes from downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolia Studios Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing