We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pain-free way to take a river trip in Chicago” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago Water Taxi

Chicago Water Taxi
Ranked #1 of 29 Transportation in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are Chicago's river transportation service. An iconic fleet of black and yellow boats, we serve all three branches of the Chicago River from March to November. Our stops include Michigan Avenue, Chinatown, North Avenue, Clark and LaSalle, The Chicago Riverwalk, and Union and Ogilvie Train Station. There is no better way to get around Chicago than by boat!
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pain-free way to take a river trip in Chicago”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I recently took a water taxi trip with my wife from downtown Chicago to Chinatown. It was nice to just show up at the dock, buy a ticket from a machine, and then hop on the boat when it arrived( which was exactly on time.) The staff was friendly and the boat was clean. It's a couple bucks cheaper during the week but still only $10 for two people on the weekend. The trip to Chinatown was about 20 minutes. As the boat was not overcrowded, we got to sit in the outdoor seats and enjoy the beautiful city architecture. The dock in Chinatown is less than five minutes walk from the town square. Would recommend to anyone who wants a cheep and relaxed boat ride.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel0ver999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    203
    28
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corinth, Texas
Level Contributor
157 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“River Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Nice trip on the water. Tour guide was well studied on history and architectural informational sites. Took some great shots. Also they have a bar open form sodas to mixed drinks.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicagoWaterTaxi, General Manager at Chicago Water Taxi, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Teresa,
Thanks for the review, were glad you enjoyed your experience! We hope to see you again! Thanks for for riding!

The Chicago Water Taxi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice trip in the river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is a convinient and affordable way to see the beutiful river side building and architecture of this pretty city. They have river cruises but this is a lot more affordable and you get to see most of the good looking bulding that are on the river.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rijos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Boat Trip to Chinatown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We decided to load up the family and play tourist. We grabbed the Water Taxi at the Michigan Avenue Bridge with our intentions to go to Chinatown for food. My first complaint was that there was no kiosk to buy tickets outside the water taxi launch at Michigan Avenue. We had to go all the way back up, around the Wrigley Building and then down the stairs to the Wendella Boats for a kiosk to buy tickets and then all the way back up the stairs, around the Wrigley Building and down to get on the water taxi. During this three stooges adventure, we happened to miss two boats...so that was a little annoying but now we know if we ever want to play tourist again.

You can buy a 10 ride pass for around $17, which seems like a great deal at first, until you get to the Train Station boat launch and they tell you that you have to get off and wait for another water taxi to go to Chinatown. Oh and by the way there is no free transfer...it will cost you another ticket to get on that taxi to Chinatown. I am just glad we did not buy the $5 one way tickets because this review would have been 1 star! Also, when you buy the 10 ride pass it can be used for everyone in your group, so you do not need to buy individual ones for everyone traveling with you. That is a nice perk and it saves you plus the ticket never expires.

Besides the double charge to get to Chinatown my review is for the amazing way to travel the Chicago River. How much fun to go from Michigan Avenue to Chinatown on the water. Traveling by boat just made Chinatown seem so close to the city and with no traffic or road rage and construction. It is great to ride on the water and we enjoyed the spectacular views of the Sears Tower, Trump Tower and the Opera House to just name a few. The water taxi reminded me a little of our trips to Venice and getting around the city. I just wish that the water taxi went even farther into the city then just the 5 main stops. Recently they added a stop at North Avenue near Lincoln Park.

What a unique way to travel. I am glad that we got to try it and I look forward to doing it again...well we are going to have to do it again because I still have 4 single rides left! On a positive note it gives us a reason to eat in Chinatown again!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Antkneee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Grab the water taxi to head to Navy Pier, as we were the only ones on board, the host gave us a great commentary, pointing out all of Chicago's amazing history and beautiful architecture. Stories of Al Capone, prohibition, and every day Chicago life. Looking up at the buildings from the water gives a whole new perspective and to see the river lit up by the reflecting lights was awesome.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chicago Water Taxi also viewed

 

Been to Chicago Water Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing