We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #13 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Excellent hotel with top notch service froma capable and caring staff. Much quiter than would be expected from a "Rush Street" hotel. Easy walk to everything that matters. Suites are very nicely appointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Robert N M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Robert N M,

Thank you so much for your review of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your suite and you found the hotel’s location convenient. Thank you also for your kind words pertaining to our service team. We will look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not far future.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,369 - 1,375 of 2,467 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

I usually stay at the Park Hyatt in Chicago for work and tried this hotel as an alternative. I've always enjoyed the Park Hyatt, but when they were undergoing construction, I found this hotel (it was originally opened at the Elysian). It really is a special hotel. The rooms, bar, gym and spa are all, in my opinion, excellent. The staff was terrific. I look forward to staying there again soon.

Room Tip: I've stayed there three times and each time, the rooms have been great. I prefer the rooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Jeff F,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share you candid feedback pertaining to your stays at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. We truly value and appreciate your patronage and loyalty. I am truly delighted to read that you gave us an opportunity to serve you and you have continued to stayed with us ever since. It also gives me great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed the various amenities the hotel offers and that our service team has not disappointed you. We will look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you back our way soon.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were in Chicago in peak winter and had a suite with a fireplace - unheard of in ant 5 star place I've stayed in. My husband was unwell so having a fireplace and being able to watch the snow falling whilst being in a suite w a separate loung was priceless. It was 1/2 the price of an equivalent room at the plaza in NY and more comfortable. The restaurant where we booked Christmas lunch was terrible; no Christmas menu to our shock so we had food from the normal menu ( my daughter & her husband had club sandwiches..). The service and all round feel of the Waldorf was lovely and the hotel car to get us about was a nice bonus. If you go in winter pay extra and get the fireplace room - you won't regret it; it absolutely made our holiday in Chicago when the weather outside was way below 0.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Passingthru63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Passingthru63,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback of your most recent visit during Christmas and thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf to celebrate this special occasion with your family. I am pleased to read that you found comfort in your suite and that you especially enjoyed the fireplace. I regret to learn about your husband not being well and the bad experience you all had during lunch. I have shared your concerns with our Executive for internal review. Thank you for positive remarks pertaining to the hotel’s service and overall feeling. We will look forward to welcoming you and your family again should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The Waldorf was absolutely perfect for my families stay during Christmas 2013. The adjoining rooms for my wife and two daughters made the experience so comfortable. The fireplace which we hung our Christmas Stockings, the dinner at the Balsan hotel restaurant, to the neighborhood location which was outstanding, the experience was perfect. Thank-you Waldorf staff!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank MWKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear MWKelly,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago as your hotel of stay during your Christmas trip to the Windy City. It gives me great pleasure to read that you and your family had a memorable time and that you enjoyed your suite and the different amenities the hotel has to offer. Thank you for recommending the hotel. Your loyalty is truly valued. We will look forward to assisting in making another special holiday for you and your family a little more memorable.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I splurged on a short excursion to the waldorf on a staycation (we're both from chicago). We upgraded to a deluxe room which must have been a suite.

The experience was fantastic, I want to find the manager that is in charge of hiring and training the staff, everyone was amazing and service was the best I've had in any hotel I've ever stayed in.

The room was great, the extra space was very comfortable and the bathroom super spacious. The spa was great.

I did notice one tiny imperfection, which surprised me a little with everything else being so immaculate. We stayed in room 1010 and we noticed that the shower handle had a very strange washer holding it together. Maybe it was a temporary fix. By no means did this negatively impact our stay, I just noticed that the hotel staff read these reviews and I thought they would like to know.

Anyway, this hotel is my current #1 in Chicago. I hear they may bring an amazing restaurant back as well (There was a 2 star Michelin restaurant on the 3rd floor).

Room Tip: the upgrade to a suite is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akucharski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear akucharski,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago as your hotel of stay during your staycation in the Windy City. I am truly thrilled to read that this was one of the best hotel experiences you have ever had. Thank you for your positive comments pertaining to our service team. We do indeed share all of the posts on TripAdvisor with our entire staff. I have shared your concerns pertaining to your shower with our Engineering team for immediate action. We are honored to be your number one hotel in the city of Chicago. We will look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully soon. Perhaps next time you visit with us we will have more exciting restaurant news.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Waldorf staff remember returning guests and makes you feel like the biggest VIP. The hotel is beautiful, Balsan (the onsite restaurant) is delicious, and the rooms are large and luxurious. The hotel is in a perfect neighborhood to stroll, shop and eat great food. We love Chicago and will stay here every time we come.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Julius H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Julius H,

Thank you so much for visiting us again at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am delighted to read that you truly enjoy our suites, our restaurant Balsan and that you find the hotel’s location convenient. It gives me great pleasure to learn as well that our team has been successful in making you feel welcome and your stays more memorable. We highly appreciate your loyalty and will look forward to crafting a new unique stay for you and your travel companion, hopefully in the not far future.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I consider this property to be one of the best in North America, and wanted to show it some love on TripAdvisor. Always look forward to staying here whenever I visit Chicago - would never even think about staying anywhere else unless I was forced to do so. Physically, this hotel feels on par with some of the best Paris hotels - the lobby and courtyard are just incredible. I can't believe that Sam Zell bought this property for only 500k per key, what a steal. The rooms are lovely with a perfect light grey color scheme. The service is always wonderful - a quirk is that no employees are allowed to accept tips which allows for a smoother experience. Despite the grand feel, it is always very low key and quiet, as it doesn't have a large bar or cafe that generates non-guest traffic. The location is slightly awkward (across from a Walgreens) but a close walk to the Magnificent Mile.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 780brianl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Brian L,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on TripAdvisor. Your loyalty and patronage are highly valued and appreciated. I am truly delighted to read that you always find comfort in our suites and that our service has not disappointed you. Thank you for positive remarks with regard to the hotel’s ambiance and décor and for considering us one of the best hotels in North America. We will look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you back our way soon.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 191 in Chicago
1,601 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,656 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
#25 of 191 in Chicago
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £253 - £498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 215 room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 7,500 square feet of private event space; Bernard's Bar & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing