We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Rooms - Communication A Bit Off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #10 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I stayed at the Waldorf during the first part of January 2014 when it was extremely cold. On the plus side, there was a fair amount of open rooms so I was provided a very generous upgrade. The suite I was given was quite large and very comfortable. I would certainly stay there again.

The one reason for pause was how the hotel handled an unfortunate incident involving a water line breaking that resulted in the cable, telephone and wi-fi going out the remainder of my stay and the fire department arriving to the hotel with sirens blaring. Obviously, a water line breaking and flooding a server room is beyond their immediate control. Unfortunately, the bitter cold night was not really conducive to walking about outside to burn time.

Practically speaking, I had my choice between hanging at the hotel bar or sitting in my room. With no internet connection, keeping up with work email was out of the question and there was no cable. In the end, I made the best of the situation and read the newspaper and some work related periodicals. What was disappointing was what heappened the next day when I checked out. Without prompting, the front desk staff diligently took my email information, adding me to a long list of departing guests. I was told someone from the hotel would be in contact about the lack of services. Great, nice gesture.However, the only contact I received came a few days later and it was a bill for a bottle of water from my mini-bar. Which I guess would be okay if I actually took anything from the mini-bar! Bottom line, the Waldorf is a top-flight hotel. I don't know what they did to reach out to the other guests that stayed during this unfortunate time period, but just brushing it off, particularly when I was specifically asked for my email information so the hotel could contact me, presented a customer service experience well below what this grand hotel should be delivering to its customers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank BiciFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, Hotel Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Horton-SFO,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago.

First and foremost, I would like to apologize for the series of inconveniences you experienced during your stay and sincerely thank you for kind patience and understanding. We did indeed reach out to all of our guests who stayed with us during this unfortunate incident. I regret to learn that we failed to reach out to you.

I would like the opportunity to speak with you to personally apologize and discuss what we can do so you can give us another opportunity to provide you with the quality of service we proud ourselves in. I can be contacted at Joe.Piantedosi@waldorfastoria.com, or alternatively, my direct number is 312-646-1353.

I look forward to the opportunity to regain your faith in our ability to properly serve you.

Apologetically,

Joe Piantedosi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,278 - 1,284 of 2,415 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

There was not a single flaw (as far as I could see) in this wonderful hotel in the heart of Chicago. The rooms are beautiful and incredibly spacious. We had a suite on the top floor (even though all the rooms are nice) and enjoyed the views, the space, the ammenities and the FIREPLACE!!! Yes a fireplace for the cold Chicago nights. This is my 4th time staying here and it has become one of my favorite hotels in the states. The staff is excellent and the best part is: IT IS A NO TIPPING HOTEL! What a pleasure to not have your wallet out every minute. They are also very generous with the hotel car as long as it's within their boundaries. I never had to wait long. Well run and beautiful hotel. And you are one block away from Oak Street and excellent shopping.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Rachel T,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share such candid feedback of your most recent visit with us on TripAdvisor, and of course, thank you for staying with us again. You loyalty is highly valued and appreciated. I am truly pleased to read that you have enjoyed the different suites you have stayed in and the various amenities the hotel has to offer, especially the house car and our no tipping policy. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back our way soon.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Had the pleasure of staying here during the week while in town on business. Perfect location just in the gold coast. The hotel itself is stylish and tastefull. The bar area is a hive of activity in the evenings, great crowd but not too busy. The food is devine, the breakfast coffee is amazing!! My one issue was the Cable TV speed as it was temperamental and cut out sporadically. One last thing the staff are amazing. From carrying my bags, to the very attentive bar/restaurant staff. they were a joy to deal with. Looking forward to my next stay

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Robert C,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago as your hotel of stay during your business trip to the Windy City and for taking the time to share your feedback of your visit on TripAdvisor. I am truly pleased to read that our service team made your stay more enjoyable and most importantly, I am thrilled to read that you will be visiting with us again. I regret to read about the problems you had with your television. Your concerns are being reviewed with our IT team. Just like you, we look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary this weekend and stayed in a gold coast suite. Everything about this hotel is top of the line and far exceeded our expectations, from our greeting at check-in by our "personal assistant", to the morning coffee service personally delivered to our suite, to the champagne waiting for us after we returned from dinner. The service at this hotel cannot be beat, and everything was 100% top quality. What a fantastic experience and great way to get away from it all!

Room Tip: If it's winter time, you can't beat a suite with a gas fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryoung9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear ryoung9,

Thank you so much for celebrating your 25th wedding anniversary with us and for taking the time to share your candid feedback of your stay on TripAdvisor. We know it is a very special occasion; we thank you for letting us making it a little more special.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the Gold Coast Suite and that the quality of our service did not disappoint. Thank you for your positive remarks. Your patronage is highly valued and appreciated. We will look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I took my husband to see the Buddy Holly Story and we stayed at the Waldorf in Chicago. This is the most amazing hotel we have ever stayed at. We travel alot so have seen more than our share of hotel rooms but nothing like this one. Everyone, from the valet, front desk and concierge was so friendly and polite. We couldn't get our key to work and went back to the front desk. They came back with us to show us how to work it and then showed us how to use all the amenities in the room, the fireplace, the tv in the bathroom mirror. Everything in the bathroom was marble. It is the nicest place we have ever stayed. We are going back for my birthday next week-end and are so excited. It you want to be pampered and feel like a king/queen, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth32571250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Beth32571250,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago to celebrate such special occasions and for taking the time to post your feedback of your stay during Father’s Day. I am truly pleased to read that our team was able to efficiently assist you during your visit and that you enjoyed your suite and all of the unique amenities it has to offer. We are thrilled to learn that you will be visiting again next weekend to celebrate your birthday. We will look forward to our next opportunity to assisting making this special occasion for you and your husband a little more memorable.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We've been treated with royalty all the way ,for all the days of our stay we stayed for almost 1 week at the grand sweets and it was a great stay ,the staff and the receptionsit were so kind and lovely ,,smiles always on there faces .

They let you feel apart of own family , i think all the credit goes to the management and the staff cooperation and understanding .

For sure we will comeback again

Room Tip: Corner suits are large and sunny with more private services
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nidotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear nidotraveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your candid feedback of your most recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. It gives great pleasure to read that you found our service team consistently helpful and welcoming. We will look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you back our way, hopefully in the not far future.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and i took a last minute trip to the city and were able to take advantage of points to get a room for the night. We have stayed at a few 5 star hotels in the Chicago and we felt most welcome at the Waldorf. Everyone at the hotel is welcoming and helpful and other guests even seemed to be more friendly that at other high end hotels that we have stayed at. The only downside (if this is even a concern) was that the wifi was very spotty and we lost signal many times.

Room Tip: The fireplace rooms are great for just sitting and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trede212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear trede212,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. It gives me great pleasure to read that our service team was able to efficiently assist you throughout your stay and that you found peace and comfort by the fire in your suite. I regret to learn that you had problems with our wireless internet connection. I have shared your concerns with our Director of IT for internal review. We will look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,565 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,547 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,233 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £250 - £478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 215 room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 7,500 square feet of private event space; Bernard's Bar & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing