We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #13 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Love this place”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I will preface this review by stating that we (myself, my wife, and 7-year-old daughter) stayed here during a non-peak time (two nights in early March 2014), so I realize that our experience may have been different than had we stayed when the hotel was at full occupancy. That being said, the Waldorf in Chicago was great. The room was beautiful and our jr. suite had a fireplace, which was perfect after coming in from the cold. Because it is just off Michigan Ave, you don't have a great view, but we loved the slightly more quiet location. Rooms were everything that you would expect in a top-notch hotel. It has a very nice spa and workout area. The pool is rather small and not ideal for kids, but good enough for my daugther to want to get in and swim a bit. What sets this hotel apart is the service. The entire staff was extremely friendly without any sign of very down to earth. We arrived at 9 a.m. after an all-night train ride, fully expecting to store our bags until check in time. Much to our excitement, we were able to check in. Similarly, we were able to get a late check out on the day of our departure. The hotel has a courtesy car that will take you within a two-mile radius when it is available. The staff politely refuses tips as it is a nontipping hotel, but will not argue if you insist. We ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant. While a bit overpriced (but typical for a hotel of this quality), the food was excellent. The icing on the cake was when we left. Our train was not until 8 p.m. We had stored several bags at the hotel while touring the city that afternoon and evening. Upon returning to get our bags, my wife asked the doorman for a cab. Completely unsolicited and despite that we had checked out hours ago, the hotel offered to drive us to the station in their courtesy car, even though it was outside the two-mile radius. Riding to the train station in a luxury Mercedes during rush hour was so much nicer than a cab ride. This really stood out since it was something the hotel clearly did not have to do and we did not even ask for. Will stay in this place again when in Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GitOutaHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear GitOutaHere,

Thank you so much for sharing your candid feedback of your most recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am truly pleased to read that you, your wife and your daughter enjoyed your suite, the hotel’s house car and our restaurant Balsan. Thank you for your positive comments pertaining to our service team. Comments like yours are our inspiration to continue our pursuit of excellence in everything we do. We will look forward to serving you and your family again should your travels bring you back our way, hopefully in the not far future.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,919
    229
    110
    35
    23
See reviews for
555
950
120
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Waldorf chain is the epitome of luxury and this hotel lives up to the standard. From the entry foyer to the bed to the bathroom to the robes, everything was perfect. But I think the spa was my favorite part, as the steam room had a hint of menthol that really helps you relax after a long day. I slept the best I did in so long after spending time in the spa. The amenities were by Salvatore Ferragamo! The location is also great; it is not too far off from the north end of Millennium mile and so it saves from the crowds and noise that you would otherwise have to experience if you stay in the center. If I'm ever in Chicago, this is the only place I'd stay in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Rohal M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. It gives me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your suite and the various amenities the hotel has to offer, especially our Elysian Spa & Health Club; and that you found the hotel’s location convenient. I am thrilled to read that you will be visiting us again should your travels bring you back to Chicago. Your loyalty and patronage are highly valued and appreciated. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The Waldorf's staff did an excellent job with reservations, compementary house car, purchasing flowers to surprise my wife at check in, complementary champaign to celebrate, they notified the restaurants that we were celebrating our 30th and we were given complementary desserts. In the past we have always stayed at the Four Seasons or the Penninsula for special occasions (and they are both outstanding hotels) but the Waldorf has to rank right up there with the best. The special pricing they had for staying the 3rd night puts the Waldorf over the top. Its our new #1.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Jerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Jerry N,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago as your hotel of stay to celebrate such a special occasion. I am truly pleased to read that the team was able to make this special visit a little more memorable. Thank you for your very kind words pertaining to our service team. I have shared your comments with the entire staff during our morning meeting. We are truly thrilled to learn that we have become your number one hotel in the city. Thank you again for letting us be part of such a special celebration. We will look forward to commemorating many more with you and your wife.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. Everybody in their staff is courteous and professional, rooms are very clean and serviced promptly, including turn-down service. Concierge is always helpful with great dining recommendations, directions or tickets to local venues that are delivered to the room. Also, great location in the Gold Coast neighborhood close to Old Town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear dbocca,

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback pertaining to your most recent visit with us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that the quality of our service did not disappoint and that you found the hotel’s location convenient. Thank you for your positive remarks with regard to our Concierge team. I am delighted to learn that they efficiently assisted you with your activity planning during your stay. We will look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The Gold Coast Suite is highly recommended and it was the perfect setting to do a marriage proposal. Get one of the corner suites that has a fireplace, great views, patio, and an overall great setup. It was a moment i know she wont ever forget, especially since there is a local spa on site that offers couples massages too. Would definitely come back here for any special occasions in Chicago!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devilpup88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear devilpup88,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago for this once-in-a-lifetime celebration. I am truly pleased to read that our Gold Coast suite was the perfect setting for you. I am also delighted to read that you and your fiancée had a memorable time and that you enjoyed not only your suite but also our Elysian Spa & Health Club. Your patronage and loyalty are highly valued. We will look forward to making many more special occasions for you a little more memorable.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Just had a 4 day stay at the Waldorf Astoria in Chicago. The hotels location is great, right on Rush street and close to Michigan Avenue. The staff is wonderful, including the concierge who knew us by name. They arranged transportation for us to Milwaukee one night, and helped with other bits of information. We used Uber for all our other transportation needs, as it's a lot faster than a taxi (and a lot nicer). We stayed in a two-bedroom Grand Suite, and it was very roomy, well appointed, and had great bathrooms. Note if you are staying in this room with a family, it's basically just two suites with a common entrance, so a lot of wasted space unless you like being totally separate while in the room. Only drawback was the food at their restaurant, and in-room dining was not very good. While we did have breakfast in the room each morning, it was average at best. They certainly could improve upon this area. Overall, would certainly come back, just would probably not eat there again. Outstanding property otherwise.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mattmayse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear mattmayse,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. It gives me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your Grand Suite and that our service team, especially our concierges, were able to provide you with a friendly and efficient service. I sincerely regret to read that you did not enjoy your dining experiences at the hotel. I have shared your concerns with our Executive Chef and his team. Really exciting changes will be happening in this area very soon. I am thrilled to read that you and your family will be visiting with us again. Your loyalty is highly valued and appreciated. We will look forward to serving you again, hopefully in the not far future.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I stayed at the Waldorf during the first part of January 2014 when it was extremely cold. On the plus side, there was a fair amount of open rooms so I was provided a very generous upgrade. The suite I was given was quite large and very comfortable. I would certainly stay there again.

The one reason for pause was how the hotel handled an unfortunate incident involving a water line breaking that resulted in the cable, telephone and wi-fi going out the remainder of my stay and the fire department arriving to the hotel with sirens blaring. Obviously, a water line breaking and flooding a server room is beyond their immediate control. Unfortunately, the bitter cold night was not really conducive to walking about outside to burn time.

Practically speaking, I had my choice between hanging at the hotel bar or sitting in my room. With no internet connection, keeping up with work email was out of the question and there was no cable. In the end, I made the best of the situation and read the newspaper and some work related periodicals. What was disappointing was what heappened the next day when I checked out. Without prompting, the front desk staff diligently took my email information, adding me to a long list of departing guests. I was told someone from the hotel would be in contact about the lack of services. Great, nice gesture.However, the only contact I received came a few days later and it was a bill for a bottle of water from my mini-bar. Which I guess would be okay if I actually took anything from the mini-bar! Bottom line, the Waldorf is a top-flight hotel. I don't know what they did to reach out to the other guests that stayed during this unfortunate time period, but just brushing it off, particularly when I was specifically asked for my email information so the hotel could contact me, presented a customer service experience well below what this grand hotel should be delivering to its customers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BiciFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, Hotel Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Horton-SFO,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago.

First and foremost, I would like to apologize for the series of inconveniences you experienced during your stay and sincerely thank you for kind patience and understanding. We did indeed reach out to all of our guests who stayed with us during this unfortunate incident. I regret to learn that we failed to reach out to you.

I would like the opportunity to speak with you to personally apologize and discuss what we can do so you can give us another opportunity to provide you with the quality of service we proud ourselves in. I can be contacted at Joe.Piantedosi@waldorfastoria.com, or alternatively, my direct number is 312-646-1353.

I look forward to the opportunity to regain your faith in our ability to properly serve you.

Apologetically,

Joe Piantedosi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,388 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 190 in Chicago
1,486 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#9 of 190 in Chicago
1,634 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Property: Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 215 room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 7,500 square feet of private event space; Bernard's Bar & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing