We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel I have ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #13 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great service, and most quiet hotel I have ever stayed in. Any thing ask for was imediatly taken care of like IT or request for something needed. I would like to stay at this quality of hotel, whenever I travel. I have traveled all over the world, and this is the very best of everything.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Joe L,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. I am truly pleased to read that the team was able to efficiently assist you throughout your stay and that you will be visiting again in the near future. Your loyalty is highly valued. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,286 - 1,292 of 2,469 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

We've stayed at the Waldorf many times, including when was The Elysian. We live in the Chicago suburbs, so we "rotate" our staycations through the various luxury brands (e.g., Peninsula, Ritz, Seasons, Trump, Langham). The Waldorf is still our favorite and was our choice this weekend as we celebrated our anniversary and my husband's birthday. We were graciously upgraded to a luxury suite. As expected, the hotel was again peaceful, unassuming, and elegant. Highly recommended for local and out-of-town visits.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAF76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear JAF76,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago as your hotel of stay to celebrate these two very special occasions, and thank you also for sharing your positive feedback on TripAdvisor. Your loyalty and patronage are truly valued. Thank you for recommending our hotel. We are sincerely thrilled that the Waldorf has become your favorite hotel in the city. We will look forward to celebrating many more special occasions for you and your husband, hopefully in the not far future.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Waldorf Astoria for a night this week for our anniversary. The hotel was just perfect in every way. The front desk was very attentive to the anniversary and being Hilton Honors members, they upgraded our room and provided free wi-fi. The room was just beautiful, more of a luxury apartment, with well stocked kitchen and bar area, fireplace, elegant rooms, a small balcony, and wonderful large bathroom. When we returned later in the day, there was a bottle of champagne waiting and a lovely note from the manager. We ordered a cheese plate and it appeared in minutes, as did anything we asked for. The room was very quiet and the beds amazingly comfortable. Again in the morning, we requested coffee and it was there instantly. I can't say enough good things about this hotel and the staff. It is perfectly located to walk everywhere, is very elegant, and they make you feel comfortable yet pampered at the same time. Everyone is just delightful. We have stayed at many hotels in Chicago and this is the best experience by far. It is not inexpensive, but very much worth it. We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monty36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear monty36,

Thank you so much for celebrating your anniversary with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your upgraded suite and all of the unique amenities it had to offer. Thank you for your positive comments with regards to our service staff. I will certainly share your comments with the entire team as I am certain they will find equally rewarding to read of your acknowledgement of their efforts to make your stay a little more pleasant. I am also delighted to read that you found the hotel’s location convenient and our In Room Dining service did not disappoint. We are thrilled you will be visiting with us again next year. We will look forward to our next opportunity to making a special occasion for you and your husband a little more memorable.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We came into town for a couple events... One was the 100 anniversary of wrigley field and the other my wife's birthday.

I can't say enough about this hotel. The entrance was welcoming the staff was great. The concierge staff was more than willing to make your stay the best.

I was a little apprehensive thinking that we would be looked down upon if we didn't come in a suit. We were wearing our clothes for the baseball game and didn't get any feeling of not being welcome at all.

We ere lucky enough to get an upgrade to the Waldorf Suite and was unbelievable.

The only hiccup we had was we went to enjoy the pool later that evening (open till 10) which is indoor but was cold enough we didn't feel like using it. Did mention it to the Spa staff and they offers to call Maitenance but figured would not change the point.

Then thought we could enjoy a sauna together but found the spa has one for males and one for he females in the Spa so we ended up taking a little time by ourself but wasn't the same.

Another thing that I'm not used to is when you went to tip the valet they didn't except tips it was part of the service.

I also setup the chocolate dipped strawberries which was nice and the VIP chocolates which were good too. The champaign was typical and very Brut and bitter to me but I accounted for that and brought our own just in case.

I requested our type but was not available but was asked if they would like to find it for me which I declined as I already has some on hand.

I can tell that we will be back.

Thanks for the great time and experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank wntsom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear wntsm4,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago to celebrate such a special occasion. It gives me great pleasure to read that our team made you feel welcome during your entire stay and you enjoyed your Waldorf Suite. On the other hand, I regret to learn that you were not able to enjoy our pool in the Health Club. I apologize for this inconvenience. I have brought your concerns to the attention of our Spa Director. I am thrilled to read that you will be visiting with us again in the future. We truly value and appreciate your loyalty and will look forward to welcoming you and your wife back, hopefully in the not far future.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with gorgeous, sophisticated decor and top-rate service. One couldn't ask for more. I would rate this higher than the Four Seasons which we stayed at in April. The Waldorf seemed more elegant and at the same time the ambience was less austere. I think it was a more welcoming place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24,813,579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear 24813579,

Thank you so much for sharing such positive feedback of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel’s décor and ambiance and that our quality of service did not disappoint. However, what gives me even more pleasure is to read that our team made you feel welcome throughout your visit. Your patronage is highly valued. We will look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not far future.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed in a luxury suite and it was quite luxurious! We are a family of 4 and the staff happily brought in a rollaway each night so our kids could have their own bed. The bathroom was all marble, huge and gorgeous! Absolutely loved the tub! We also loved the fireplace in the living room. So cozy! The hotel is in a great location, just steps from all the action of Michigan Avenue, but far enough away to be very quiet. If available, they offer a house car to take guests places within 2 miles of the hotel. It is a nice touch! If you are looking for quiet luxury, this is for you. If you are looking for a lot of action and a busy lobby, you would probably be happier somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank backtomaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear backtomaui,

Thank you for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago as your hotel of stay for your family trip to the Windy City and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. It gives me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed our Luxury suite with all the unique amenities it has to offer, especially the fireplace and the soaking tub; and that you found the hotel’s location convenient. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We recently spent 4 nights at this hotel. Our Astoria suite was beautiful. The hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly, and Maya (a bartender in the hotel bar) was especially great and makes a superb martini (ask for blue cheese olives)! She also recommended a great deep dish pizza place nearby. I was very impressed by the service of the bar staff, the front desk staff, room service staff, and the folks at the door. They were all very helpful and genuinely wanted to ensure you had a great stay. The hotel is in a great location very close to the Magnificent Mile, so we were able to walk everywhere. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and look forward to staying again!

Room Tip: The Astoria suites are lovely. At 915 square feet, you get a ton of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Cathy P,

Thank you for sharing your review of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you quite enjoyed your Astoria Suite and that our service team succeeded in making your stay a little more pleasant. Thank you for your kind comments pertaining to our staff, especially Maya. She will be thrilled to read that you found her martini delectable. I am also pleased to read that you found the hotel’s location convenient and that you will be visiting with us again. Thank you for recommending our hotel. Your patronage and loyalty are highly valued and appreciated. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 191 in Chicago
1,607 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,663 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
#27 of 191 in Chicago
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £257 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 215 room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 7,500 square feet of private event space; Bernard's Bar & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing