We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #15 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Good stay at The waldorf with my family we stay fro 4 nights and soon we had the inmpressiona as usually that from the service to the clean of the room everything is perfect. What to say I can wait to come back. I'm sure is the right choose to stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickyus-newyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Rickyus-newyork,

Thank you for your review of your most recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. It gives me great pleasure to read that you and your family had a pleasant stay and that our quality of service was to your like. We are thrilled to learn that you will be visiting with us again in the future. Your loyalty is highly valued. We will look forward to serving you and your family again, hopefully soon.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,830
    218
    107
    32
    20
See reviews for
525
908
111
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deland, Fl
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Spent three days with wife and daughter in Chicago to see Yankees/Cubs series. We stayed in a Gold Coast suite at this Waldorf which was a large two room accommodation with one and a half bathrooms. The living room was well furnished though not opulent, had a gas fireplace and a large balcony with nice views of the neighborhood. The main bathroom had a huge shower separate from a large soaking tub...double sink with tv in the mirror. The service was exceptional...unsurpassed in my experience having stayed in other five star hotels in New York and internationally. The neighborhood is wonderful for Chicago first timers..upscale shopping and dining and within walking distance of many sights. We used the hotel's private car to shuttle short distances which saved cab fare and was just one of many extra amenities which come to guests at no cost...others include wifi, bottled water, in room ice machine. The room service food was excellent and promptly delivered....expensive but not outrageously so for a hotel of this class. Once you have stayed here, it would be hard to risk choosing another hotel in Chicago...the bar is raised very high.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YankeeFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear YankeeFanatic,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your candid feedback of your stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed the Gold Coast suite and all of the amenities it has to offer, especially the unique ones in the guest rooms bathroom. Thank you for your positive comments pertaining to our hotel amenities. It gives me great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed using our House Car and that our In Room Dining service was to your like. Your patronage is highly valued and appreciated. We will look forward to serving you again, hopefully in the not far future.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Elegant hotel with very good service overall. Reception/check-in has always been a strong area for this property. They make a point to come around the desk and stand closer when handing you the key. Nice touch. Rooms are generally spotless. Housekeeping seems to be on their game. Last room I stayed in had paint on the wall touched up - an area of the wall had been painted on 3/4 of the way up to the ceiling. They tried to match the paint but it wasn't perfect. Not in your face noticeable but an obvious shortcut. Scuffs and scratches here and there. Wear is to be expected with people moving in and out of rooms constantly, but you go in expecting perfection at a property like this and it's slightly disappointing to see little blemishes. The iPod speakers/docks are a nice touch but if you have a later iPod you'll need an adapter to use it as apple changed the socket a while ago.

Spa is nice and clean. Tiles are coming off in the whirlpool and you can feel the missing ones because the corners of the remaining ones are sharp! There is a thermometer floating in the whirlpool that is tethered with a ... shoelace. Little things like these - missing tiles and shoelace-tethered thermometers just seem wrong in a place like this.

There are only 2 elevators for guests. As some other reviewers have commented, the wait for an elevator can at times be ridiculously long. This is obviously something that can't be easily fixed now that the building is built, but it can at times be very frustrating.

Balsan - the restaurant, is fine. Generally nothing to get excited about but convenient.

Overall, an excellent hotel that is getting a little worn at the edges.

Room Tip: Ask for something on a higher floor to ensure a better view. Chances are you're going to be wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Madeline V,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your most recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am happy to learn that you enjoy the hotel’s ambiance and décor. Thank you for your kind comments pertaining to our service team, especially housekeeping. I will certainly share your positive remarks with them, for I am sure they will find equally rewarding to read of your acknowledgement of their efforts to leave all of our rooms spotless to make our guests' experience more pleasant.

Thank you for your detailed feedback pertaining the amenities and physical state of your room and our Elysian Spa & Health Club. I have shared your concerns with our Director of Engineering and Spa for immediate internal review and action. Your feedback is highly valued for it is the most effective tool that enables our continue pursuit of improvement in the quality of our products and services. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Waldorf was a great experience. My first time in Chicago and I stayed here. Their staff is very attentive and the rooms are pretty huge but you get great value. The hotel's location is walking distance to a lot of good establishments and transport around the area is good too. Room service is a little slow but the spa service is one of the best in town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Van C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Van C,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago as your hotel of stay for your very first visit to the Windy City and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your suite, the hotel’s location and our Elysian Spa & Health Club. I apologize for the delayed service from our In Room Dining team. Thank you for your kind words pertaining to our staff. We will look forward to serving you again, should your travels bring you back to the Windy City.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago for 2 nights with my boyfriend in a beautiful suite. The room was flawless, everything was immaculately clean and tidy. There was a huge bath and a TV in the mirror in the bathroom!! The sofa was very comfortable and the bed was the biggest I have ever slept in! There was a nice view of the city from the balcony but it was very noisy to sit out there due to what I think is their air con units (I don't know to be honest).
Although there was a microwave they didn't provide any plates or cutlery which was a little strange.
The staff couldn't be more amenable and polite but the other guests were not the same kettle of fish. The people in the suite next door to us had brought their dog with them and went out early evening leaving the animal barking and scratching at the door. We complained and the receptionist called them and they came back. I did however hear the dog again on a subsequent occasion. There are 2 points on this we were unhappy about - 1. We don't expect to be disturbed by a dog in a nearby room when we've spent $1,000 on a fancy suite and 2. Does that mean that a guest with a dog has stayed in the room we slept in? Yuck!
The Waldorf should have asked us if we were happy to be in the next room when we checked in.
All in all it was wonderful and this didn't ruin our stay. Perhaps we were just unlucky in that one respect.
Chicago is awesome too!

Room Tip: Ask about the pets policy if you dont want to be disturbed. Higher floors have less A/C unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Emmagrin,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback of your most recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your suite and the various unique amenities it has to offer, especially the television in the mirror. I regret to read, however, of the various inconveniences you encountered during your visit, especially with regards to the noise caused by the dog in the room next to yours. We do allow small dogs to stay with us (under 35 pounds). Please rest assured that our suites are thoroughly cleaned after each guest departs. I apologize again for the continuous disturbance and I certainly hope that this unfortunate event will not change your opinion of the quality of our service and products. We will look forward to a second opportunity to properly serve you should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Breakfast package was not a complete breakfast, and then was charged for breakfast and had to get it adjusted off the cost upon check-out. Very large rooms, really overly large. The meeting room was overly large for our group of 15 and they weren't able to control the temperature.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear John T,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your most recent stay with us. I regret to learn of the miscommunication pertaining to your breakfast package. I am pleased to read that our team was able to rectify it. Thank you also for your comments pertaining to the temperature in the meeting room. I have shared them with our leaders in our events and engineering departments for internal review. Your feedback is highly valued as it is the most effective tool we can use to continue to strive for improvement in the quality of our products and services. Unfortunately, these valuable lessons have come at your expense. I certainly hope you will give us another opportunity to properly serve you should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at this glorious hotel. From start to finish everything was perfect. We were celebrating a big birthday and the receptionist upgraded us to a gorgeous suite. We used the fitness center numerous times and had access to the spa amenities at no charge - very classy! This was our second stay at the Waldorf Chicago and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#6 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Property: Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 215 room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 7,500 square feet of private event space; Bernard's Bar & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing