We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“waldorf astoria in chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #10 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

the best place to go to be treated like gold....romance is here....great location and a very relaxing bar..there were places within walking distance.(food and drinks) and many stores for shopping....Chicago is a beautiful and friendly town...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
4  Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Grace M,

Thank you for review of your most recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. It gives me great pleasure to read that you found the hotel’s location convenient and you enjoyed its surrounding bars, restaurants and great boutiques. I am also glad you had the opportunity to relax and enjoy some delightful libations in our cozy boîte Bernard’s. We will look forward to welcoming you and your travel companion back, hopefully in the not far future.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,166 - 1,172 of 2,414 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Gave an upgrade to us when room wasnt available.....The service was outstanding and staff very knowlegable and friendly,,,,The in room spa bath was very relaxing ... everything first class The in room food service was great and pn time that we were told..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
3  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Robert B,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback of your most recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that your found comfort in your suite and that you enjoyed the various amenities the hotel has to offer, especially our In Room Dining service. Thank you for your positive remarks pertaining to our service team. I am delighted to read that you found our service efficient and friendly. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Waldorf Chicago is in the perfect location right off of Michigan Avenue. It is quiet and sophisticated. The spa is lovely. The service is exceptional and the no-tipping policy makes it that much better. Highly recommend. My best friend and I were there together but I would also recommend for families or couples.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
2  Thank catherines879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear catherine s,

Thank you for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago as your hotel of stay for this vacation with your best friend. I am delighted to read that you found the hotel’s location convenient and that you enjoyed the hotel’s ambiance and décor and our no tipping policy. Our philosophy of service is to serve without the expectation of receive anything in return except our guests’ satisfaction and desire to visit with us again. Thank you for recommending the hotel. We will look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not distant future.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Incredible accommodations, staff is there when you need them, but other wise not seen. Food is incredible. The house car will take you anywhere within a 2 mile radius at no cost. Leave the tips in your pocket, the staff will not accept them. Set in the perfect spot for walking to shopping and 5 star dinning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
4  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Chris P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of your most recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure to read that you and your family enjoyed your suite, the creations of our culinary team and our house car service. I am also glad you found the hotel’s location convenient and our service provided efficient, yet discrete. We will look forward to serving you and your family again should your travels bring you back to the Windy City.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a 2 night stopover on the way back to the UK

Fabulous hotel, got a room upgrade courtesy of Gold Hhonours status . The suite was lovely, comfortable bed, great bedlinens, housekeeping standards excellent - everything was spotless and seemed as new. Ate in the restaurant one night; really enjoyed the meal had the best comfort food - great roast chicken and the best mash! What really sets this place apart is the quality of the staff: friendly, very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. In some places you get the impression the staff are just following the customer service guidebook but not here, it all appeared genuine. As other posters commented no gratuities were accepted so I hope the hotel rewards it staff well they deserve it

Room Tip: Can't imagine the place has a bad room but some will have better views than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank libbyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear libbyl,

Thank you for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago for your quick stop in the city of Chicago prior to returning to England, and thank you for sharing your positive feedback pertaining to your stay. I am delighted to read that you found comfort in your suite and you enjoyed our menu in our restaurant Balsan. Thank you for your positive words with regard to our service team. Your remarks have been shared with the entire staff for comments like yours are our inspiration to our continued efforts to make our guests’ visit a little more memorable. We will look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed for our 30th wedding anniversary and the Waldorf blew us away! My diamond status with Hilton was acknowledged and we were upgraded, emailed prior to our stay by a personal concierge and upgraded. The room was beautiful (upgraded suite) and we were escorted personally by a concierge to explain the room functions and about the property. The staff from valet to room service attendants will not accept gratuities, nice touch. The colors and decorating are gorgeous and the room was in tip top shape no signs of wear and tear something we did notice the last stay at the Trump. All in all, we have stayed at many 5 star properties including several Ritz Carlton's and the Chicago Trump and the Waldorf "Trumps" them all!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
4  Thank 458julesn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Jules N,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago as your hotel of stay to celebrate such a special occasion and for taking the time to share your review of your visit with us on TripAdvisor. It gives me great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your upgraded suite and the personal attention of our Personal Concierge services. Your loyalty as a Hilton Honors member is highly valued and appreciated. We will look forward to the opportunity to participate in more special occasions for you and your spouse, hopefully in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I cannot say enough about this hotel in Chicago. Everything was perfect and beyond my expections. My stay was business related and brought my spouse along to enjoy the luxury experience and it to was beyond her expections. From the lounging area to the outside balcony, this 900 plus sq ft suite was outstanding. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
3  Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Frank N,

Thank you so much for sharing your review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your suite and that the experience for you and your wife was beyond your expectations. Thank you for recommending our hotel. We highly value your patronage and loyalty and will look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you back our way either on business or pleasure.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,564 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,547 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,233 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £249 - £479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 215 room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 7,500 square feet of private event space; Bernard's Bar & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing