We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #14 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Waldorf because of its reputation . Near our daughters place so was very convenient. Had a nice room , 1 bedroom suite which was very nice. The room was quite and the amenities excellent. We had some issues with housekeeping coming very late in the day. We had been out all day and came home to a room that hadn't been serviced. Also had some issues with room service not being removed. The hotel responded and didn't that've these problems again.
Didn't get to try the resturant.
All in all very nice except for the above.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Steve M,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback of your most recent stay with us. It gives me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your one bedroom suite and the amenities it had to offer. On the other hand, I sincerely regret to learn of the inconsistencies of the quality of our housekeeping and in room dining service. I am pleased, however, to read that you addressed with our team these concerns and these inconsistencies were immediately rectified. Thank you for your kind patience and understanding. I certainly hope that you will give us another opportunity to properly serve you in the near future should your travels bring you back to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,891
    226
    109
    34
    22
See reviews for
541
939
116
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at many luxury hotels and resorts and several other waldorfs. However, this hotel should be the flagship for the brand. The service was impeccable. The staff, warm and friendly. Our room, the Astoria suite, was spectacular. Worth every penny. The view from our balcony, outstanding. We spent our anniversary here and truly felt spectacular.

The only downside, we had to leave.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank igetcarriedaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear igetcarriedaway,

Thank you so much for celebrating such a special occasion with us and for sharing your review of your stay on TripAdvisor. I am truly pleased to read that our service team provided you with warm and welcoming service during your visit and that you enjoyed staying in one of our Astoria Suites. We will look forward to our next opportunity to create another special occasion for you and your significant other a little more memorable.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I have stayed at most of the upscale hotels in Chicago. We decided to try the Waldorf Astoria. We absolutely loved the hotel, staff, and suite. We had one of the top suites, and felt it was better than other suites at a much better cost. Our annual holiday weekend is already booked again at the Waldorf. We loved the cozy bar for relaxing and a cocktail. The staff is very pleasant and went out of their way to answer any questions we had about getting around in the city. Great, great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Carol S,

Thank you so much for giving us an opportunity to serve you and your husband on your last visit to Chicago. It gives me great pleasure to read that you found comfort in your suite, and most importantly, that you have chosen our hotel for your annual holiday weekend this year. Thank you for your positive comments pertaining to our cozy boîte Bernard’s and the overall performance of our service team. We can’t wait to welcome you and your husband back in just a few months.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

In sum, this was an absolutely beautiful hotel that truly lived up to the iconic and romantic Waldorf Astoria name. I had reserved a king room here and we were upgraded to a stunningly beautiful suite with fireplace, and a balcony. The service was fantastic (room service was extremely quick and polite for all of our needs, and all offers of gratuities were politely refused). If you're looking for a romantic, beautiful getaway in Chicago, then I highly suggest the Waldorf Astoria...it lives up to it's name in every way possible!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Nick L,

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago back in February. I am delighted to read that we were able to offer you an upgrade, but most importantly, that you enjoyed the suite and the different amenities it had to offer, especially the warmth of the fireplace in those cold winter days. Thank you for your positive comments with regard to our service team, especially In Room Dining. We will look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Waldorf with my wife on a Thursday night. It is a beautiful facility from top to bottom. We were treated like royalty during our stay. Michele Obama and Pat Quinn were having a fundraiser at the hotel that night which was a little annoying but that was the only negative. Our Astoria suite was amazing. The view from the balcony was beautiful. The spa was world class. The gym was the nicest that I have used in a hotel. We loved out time at the Waldorf!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Ajsevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Ajsevic,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback of your most recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. It gives me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your Astoria Suite and that our service team was able to provide you with warm and caring service during your visit. Thank you also for your positive comments pertaining to our Elysian Spa and Health Club. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed using its facilities. I would like to offer you my sincere apologies if you encountered any sort of inconvenience during visit. We will look forward to serving you and your wife again, hopefully in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We booked a deluxe double and on arrival got upgraded to a excellent suite the staff were first class so lovely and helpful they couldn't do enough for you amazing... The facility's where fab we only stayed one night on way home wish we had stayed longer amazing place.. The hotel was near all the shops, restaurants.. We would go back for another stay there the whole experience was amazing.

Room Tip: Be lucky like us and get upgraded to a suite but to be honest am sure any room would be excellent..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheryl_walker2160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear cheryl_walker2160,

Thank you for your review of your most recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am truly pleased to read that our service team was able to efficiently assist you throughout your visit in a friendly manner. Thank you for your positive comments pertaining to our hotel facilities and location, but most importantly, thank you for choosing our hotel for your quick stop in the Windy City before going back home. We will look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

On a trip to Chicago in the depths of winter, the Astoria was a welcome shelter from the snow and cold. From the hearty fire in the lobby, to the cosy suite I had been booked into, this hotel was both classy and spacious.

If you're often disappointed by the lack of gym facilities in hotels, the Astoria will restore your faith, with a large and well equipped gym including smith machine, double stack cables and good selection of dumbbells and resistance machines.

The location is great, on the edge of the shopping district, but far enough from the main hustle and bustle of the financial centre. Boutiques and bars are close by, as well as a Starbucks and convenience stores.

If you're looking for a classy hotel in Chicago, with privacy and good facilities, then I'd definitely recommend the Waldorf.

Room Tip: Choose a room as high as possible for light and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daintons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear daintons,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of your last stay in March on TripAdvisor. I am truly delighted to read that the hotel felt like a warm shelter from the harsh winter weather and that you enjoyed the various amenities the hotel has to offer, especially our Elysian Spa & Health Club. Thank you for recommending the hotel. I am happy to read that you found its location convenient. We truly appreciate your patronage and will look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not far future.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,342 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 190 in Chicago
1,466 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 190 in Chicago
1,593 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Property: Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 215 room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 7,500 square feet of private event space; Bernard's Bar & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing