We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #14 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey City, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing property”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Both the rooms and the staff make this a property you want to stay at while in Chicago. HAve stayed at many hotels...this one takes the cake. The rooms are modern but classic. Internet connection wasnt amazing, but what hotel's is. Valet for the rental car was up in seconds compared with waiting forever at any other property I've stayed at in Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
4 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Ben S,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago as your hotel of stay during your business trip to the Windy City. It gives me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed the hotel’s décor and ambiance and that our service team made your stay a little more comfortable. I regret to learn that our internet connection was unfortunately too slow during your visit. I have shared your concerns with our Director of IT. I hope this did not cause a major inconvenience during your visit. We will look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you back to Chicago either on business or pleasure.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,890
    226
    109
    34
    22
See reviews for
541
939
116
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The Waldorf Astoria in Chicago has a wonderful location. Very convenient to some of the best restaurants. Shopping is just outside the front of the hotel. The size of the room was very spacious, plenty of room for 2.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
3 Thank Ginny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Ginny H,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback of your most recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am truly pleased to read that you found the hotel’s location convenient and your suite comfortable and spacious. We will look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I come to Chicago occasionally on business and have been staying at the Waldorf in recent years, and it continues to be a good choice. Formerly the Elysian hotel, it was purchased in 2011 by Sam Zell who chose Hilton to manage it under the Waldorf brand.

I was very happy with my stay this time in August. My Waldorf Suite was in excellent condition and spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable (some have been too firm in past stays), and the air conditioning worked well and quietly. The bathrooms in the Waldorf Suites are very nice -- two sinks, spacious soaking tub, separate shower, and most everything in marble.

I found the service to be very attentive both at the reception desk and the front door. My room service meals were quite good and delivered on time.

If you are looking for a first rate, smaller hotel just off Michigan Avenue, I recommend the Waldorf.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank InsideScooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear InsideScooper,

Thank you so much for visiting with us again and for sharing your positive feedback of your most recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am truly pleased to read you enjoyed your Waldorf Suite and that found your bed more comfortable than before. Thank you for your positive comments pertaining to our service team and our in room dining service. Comments like yours inspire our continued pursuit of excellence in everything we do. Thank you also for recommending our hotel. Your patronage and loyalty are highly valued and appreciated. We will look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you next to Chicago either on business or pleasure.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Hotel is gorgeous, loved the art work. The gym was excellent with sauna, showers and excellent tid bits to munch on. Appreciated the complimentary Mercedes Benz local shuttle. Ordered a Caesar through room service one day and it was by far the best Caesar I have had.

Room Tip: They serve a choice of complimentary nice coffees and high tea's at break of dawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ronnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear crowneanaheim,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive feedback of your most recent stay with us. It gives me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed the hotel’s décor and its various unique amenities, especially our Elysian Spa & Health Club, our house car and our In Room Dining service. We highly appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

If you want to travel first class, for whatever reason, stay at this hotel. It is beautiful with great service. They not only try to give good service, they do a hck of a delivery and define the word SERVI CE. When you have a celebration or just want to ge away, do it at the Waldorf.

Room Tip: View from the upper floors are breat taking. You have a SUPER view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alvinandjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Alvineandjune,

Thank you so much for sharing your review of your most recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am delighted to read that our service team was successful in making your stay a little more enjoyable and memorable. Comments like yours inspire our continued pursuit of excellence in everything we do. We will look forward to serving you and your family again, hopefully in the not distant future.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Decided to give this hotel a second chance, primarily due to a really nice comparable rate for a (Waldorf) suite. Unlike my last stay, this time was greeted by a warm and helpful front desk. Although room was unavailable for early check in, was given some bottles of water and a promise of a phone call once it was ready (which came soon after).
Suite was well laid out and well appointed. Nice little balcony for fresh air. Room service was slightly later than promised and just so-so. Utilized the house vehicle for a trip towards Wrigley Field (could only take us half way so we cabbed the remainder).
Overall, a nice recovery from my first experience. Still disagree with the no-tipping policy for this type of hotel. Sets up some awkward moments. To their credit, they are consistent in refusing gratuities (even the bell staff had our bags in the room before we got back to check in).
Overall, they redeemed themselves in my opinion. Would certainly consider them for a return stay.

Room Tip: Go for the Waldorf Suite. The slight up charge from the basic room is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Ron J,

Thank you so much for giving the Waldorf Astoria Chicago a second opportunity to properly serve you and thank you also for sharing your feedback of your stay. It gives me great pleasure to learn that our team gave you a warm welcome and was helpful throughout your visit. I am also delighted to read that you found the Waldorf Suite well appointed, but most importantly, I am thrilled to read that you are considering visiting with us again. Our philosophy of service is to provide a sincere and genuine warm service without expecting anything in return, except our guests’ smiles and desire to stay with us again. We will look forward to welcoming you back, should your travels bring you back to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here last July 2014. I must say I was very impressed with the room. We had the one with balcony and it was absolutely stunning. If you like tall buildings then you will definitely enjoy staying here. It is very central and shopping is definitely convenient. The bar is small but the couch were very comfy. The food is very good although the restaurant needs to be renovated as it is very outdated. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marah_rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear marah_rn,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago as your hotel of stay during your last visit to the Windy City this last July and thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. It gives me great pleasure to read that you found the hotel’s location convenient and that you enjoyed your suite and its various amenities, especially the balcony. I am also glad to learn that you enjoyed the creations from our culinary team. We are thrilled to read that you will be visiting with us again in the near future. We will look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,342 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 190 in Chicago
1,466 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 190 in Chicago
1,593 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Property: Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 215 room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 7,500 square feet of private event space; Bernard's Bar & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing