We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The finest hotel you will ever stay in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #10 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Without a doubt, this hotel will exceed your expectations! Everyone on staff makes you feel like part of the family. The no tipping policy is great, you dont feel as if everyone has their hands out, and if you dont tip them they wont be back. The rooms are elegant and extremely clean, every detail is included. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,287 - 2,293 of 2,396 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2010

Whatever the travellers goal,staying at the Elysian will ALWAYS be the best choice.We stayed with kids ages 10 to 20 years old,all loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HSGESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Without a doubt and without question the best hotel my wife and I have ever stayed in by every metric and I have stayed in countless 5 star hotels.The rooms are indescribably beautiful with every up to date convenience you could ask for. is. Furthermore, the hotel staff will not except tips for any service. This includes luggage handling and valet service among others. This made me feel uncomfortable as they were deserving, but they acted insulted the more you insist. We were loyal and frequent guests of the Princess Hotel, a 5 star property, no more. This hotel is far better and I didn't think I would ever find another hotel to come close. The Elysian exceeds the Princess in beauty, customer service and every other metric you can imagine. Whoever is behind this property, congratulations and I hope you build more. You get and your hotel is the only holet we will now stay at when we visit your fine city.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randybruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

The hotel is a sheer elegance -- both outside and inside, easily the best looking hotel I have ever stayed in, worldwide. We stayed there for a special occasion, booked a deluxe room, and the first day was nice but not great: the spa treatment for my wife took much longer than planned, and there was annoying A/C and refrigerator noise at night. I complained the next day, and we were almost immediately offered an upgrade to a much bigger, nicer, and quieter suite, with a balcony and a much better view, as well as 50% off the price for the first night. The manager on duty by the name Charles was very polite and efficient in arranging this. My wife's spa treatment next morning was very pleasant. The spa itself is very nice, with a small but very pleasant pool. The staff in general was genuinely friendly and efficient. We made a mistake, however, having breakfast in the hotel's restaurant Balsan --- they clearly are not set up for a classy breakfast, do not know how to boil eggs to your specifications, and seem to try hard to economize on butter and jam. My advice to the hotel management: make your A/C and refrigerators in the smaller rooms less noisy, send Balsan people to Europe to learn how to serve good breakfast -- and your hotel will be the best in this country.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelreluctant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

I have stayed in at least 10 of the better downtown Chicago hotels in this is far and away the best. The hotel itself is lovely, clean, spacious, quiet and very tastefully decorated. Every employee we encountered during our stay was pleasant, helpful and went beyond the call of duty. This is my first review as I have never had an experience so over the top as to merit taking the time to do so. When in Chicago again, I wouldn't even explore another hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chagrinfallsoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

I cannot say enough about this hotel. I live in Chicago and booked this for my wedding weekend and I didn't want to leave! The decor of the common areas and rooms are stunning from the moment you pull into the English-style courtyard. You don't lift a finger in the hotel as staff is very attentive and detail oriented. We had an instant upgrade upon arrival to a 1200 square foot suite with a balcony. The bed is the best bed I've slept in and the bathrooms are very luxurious. The spa is gorgeous and relaxing and I had the best massage of my life there. The staff also had homemade pastries, champagne and rose petal on the floor as a surprise on our wedding night. They accommodated any special request we had.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karijo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

This is a 5 star experience in every way. The rooms, service and food are all as good as it gets. I have stayed at the best all over the world and can't remember better. I was shocked when the valet that delivered the bags refused a generous tip and said that their aim was to spoil us during our visit. The same thing happened several times during our stay. Needless to say we were spoiled. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dignatuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,552 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,528 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £236 - £504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 215 room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 7,500 square feet of private event space; Bernard's Bar & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing