We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top quality rooms, great location, really truly nice staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Top quality rooms, great location, really truly nice staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

This was our first trip to Chicago so we selected this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. When we checked in we mentioned that it was our anniversary and when we returned from our walk we found iced champagne in our room with a card from the concierge. We enjoyed it on the rooftop deck. The hotel location is perfect for walking and for taking the Red Line subway. The wine tasting from 5-6 pm every day is so nice. It is served in the 'living room', is free, and serves as a nice place to meet other visitors to Chicago. The staff members here are a happy group. This place is well-run. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYtraveler1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,931
    550
    85
    19
    10
See reviews for
634
933
120
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Town and Country, Missouri
Level Contributor
167 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Nice sized room for Chicago. We stayed in a beautiful 1 bedroom suite. It knocks the socks off the Four Seasons where we usually stay. Great location - who needs to stay on Michigan Avenue? Restaurant and bar were incredible. Loved the small plates. Will return here next time we visit Chicago.

Room Tip: Become an InTouch member
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthkred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night while attending a Cubs game. This hotel is great. Clean rooms, friendly staff. What more can you ask for? The hotel may cost more than others - but its worth it. It is also right across the street from an L station. I will stay here again when I go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TN-Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Having stayed in a few Kimpton hotels, we decided to try the new Palomar in Chicago for a family weekend. The location is great, a few blocks from Michigan Ave., walking distance to theaters and wonderful restaurants. The staff was very friendly and didn't not ignore the kids as is the case at many "hip boutique" hotels. They were given goody bags, with colored pencils, yoyos etc. Everything needed to keep a "bored" kid busy while waiting for dinner, the yoyos were in constant use on our walks around the city. The room was a true one bedroom suite with ample couch room for the two kids. The bathroom was glorious, one of the largest bathtubs I have ever seen! As for the restaurant and bar, the bar has one of the best cocktail menus, more of a book, I have ever seen. Defining hand crafted. The only meal we eat at the hotel was a breakfast, which was good, but the service was very slow, possibly due to the fact that is was Sunday morning at opening time. We would highly recommend this Kimpton property, it is now our first choice for weekend getaways in Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

I came in April with my family and loved the Palomar. When my friend and I planned a trip with our tween daughters I told her that we had to say at the Palomar. My experience was not as great this time. Our room was not ready until 4:15, and I never got an apology. I had even requested early check-in. I wasn't expecting to get in early, but someone could have at least said he/she was sorry that our room wasn't ready at the normal check-in time. I was given a free breakfast coupon for the two "children" for being a rewards member. When we got to the restaurant we saw on the menu that children eat free all the time. We had a hard time getting enough towels and shampoo. They are stingy with the pizza at the complimentary wine hour. There were a lot of dogs in the lobby. It's a nice hotel, but it's not the fabulous hotel I visited in April.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieH203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Room was spotless and staff super friendly and helpful. The hotel was pet friendly but we only ever saw dogs at reception. Very quiet with great views of the downtown. The location is amazing. Across from the metro and steps from the Mag Mile and both big parks. Food at the restaurant was good although not the best. Great experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hyperballad4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We spent a week in hotel Palomar and were very pleased . Location is perfect : metrostation around the corner, 10 min's walk from the loop, 10 min's walk from the lake, in the heart of a vibrant neighbourhood with lot's of nice restaurants, bars, ...
Staff was friendly and helpfull. The room (King Deluxe) was very clean, spacious, luxurious, just perfect. We enjoyed the pool and the roofterrace and had a great diner-experience in "Le Sable", the hip hotels restaurant. The daily free wine-degustation was a nice finishing touch.
Would not hesitate to stay again @ Palomar!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tio-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,294 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#12 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing