We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #10 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Omaha
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I am a huge Kimpton fan. The service at this hotel is superlative.
I called 48 hours in advice and requested an upper level room with a view. When I arrived I couldn't have been more pleased. It was on the 16th floor with windows facing North and West. The room itself was immaculate and the design was unique. It was truly enjoyable just to be in the room.
Now the service. The staff at the front desk remembered my named. The entire staff, maids, room service, and doormen, were both friendly and attentive to the guest's needs. In the evening wine is served in the lobby at no charge. Many of the guests come down and it's a great time to meet other travelers. Few other hotels go out of their way to see that the guests have such an outstanding experience.
There is no doubt that this hotel deserves its place on the top of TripAdvisors list of hotels in Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maninomaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,019
    584
    87
    20
    10
See reviews for
674
967
123
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stinson Beach, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This hotel is fantastic. Stylish look, professional staff, quiet rooms, excellent location close to Michigan Ave. My only beef is that they do not offer hot water in the rooms for tea & coffee--it is available mornings only in the lobby. No breakfast unless you pay to eat at the restaurant.
I took the CTA to get there from O'Hare & it was OK, though a long trip (about an hour). We had a great view from our 11th floor room.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedar run new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We arrived at Hotel Palomar whose decor is modern elegance. Because the room was not quite ready, we were invited into ther bar/lounge for cocktails of our choice. Within a few minutes the room was ready. The furnishings, design, cleanliness and linens over the top. A bottle of champagne, fresh strawberries with a chocolate dipping sauce awaited us, gratis.
There is a fabulous 17th floor terrace with great views and lots of cushioned seating to enjoy your own byob drinks along with a indoor lap pool and gym. Each evening 5-6pm, there is wine tasting and yummy flatbreads. The staff are courteous, warm and friendly. We highly recommend the Hotel Palomar.

Room Tip: There appeared to be rooms with balconies on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank french0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear french0:

Thank you so much for posting such a great review. We truly appreciate it and love it when our customers share their experiences.

I am glad you managed to take advantage of our 17th floor indoor pool and sun deck. They make for a quiet oasis.

Just an FYI regarding rooms with balconies that you mentioned. Those are actually residences that make up the top half of our building and are not part of the hotel.

Thanks again for yor review.

Best,

Nabil Moubayed - GM Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Nice room, beautiful hotel. You have every thing at walking distance. We chose Hotel Palomar cause we liked a lot the once thay have in DC. The only thing we did not like is the shower. It should be bigger.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orimarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hewlett, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Great Location, cool atmosphere, excellent staff......what more can I say. Can't wait to check out Kimpton properties in other locations. Love the lounge area, very comfortable. Even an umbrella when it rains.

Room Tip: Stay away from the side that faces the Fire Station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongIslandRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, RI
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

My parents recently celebrated their 60th anniversary so we planned a weekend extravaganza in Chicago. We chose Hotel Palomar based on previous positive experiences with Kimpton hotels in San DIego, NYC and DC. and our choice could not have been better. The staff was terrific every step of the way.

We needed multiple suites for the weekend and dealt with VIP reservations who insured that our room requirements were easily addressed even though we certainly aren't VIPs. The concierge, Mark Kramer, was unbelievably helpful with all of the arrangements for our party of 12. He provided theater tickets, connections to a florist and a private room for dinner at Shaw's Crab House which allowed my father who doesn't hear well in loud restaurants to enjoy his special day.

The hotel was beautifully decorated, conveniently located in the River North area of the city and the staff were friendly and helpful. The suites were large enough for the 12 of us to spend time together looking at old photos and enjoying the company of family. The housekeeping service was exceptional as the rooms were spotless. The turndown service was great; they must be ghost-like as we never saw them or felt intruded upon.

Needless to say, the weekend was a huge success and my parents are still talking about their wonderful anniversary. Our entire family extends our thanks to each and every member of the staff. This is the level of service and attention to detail that should be the gold standard for all hotels.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RItraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We were planning to visit Chicago on pleasure trip and looked at Kimpton Hotels - found Hotel Palomar. I also joined the Kimpton Hotel membership for free internet while staying there... Enjoyed wine reception with appetizers each evening, nice room, beautiful hotel, close to subway system, walking distance to shopping and museums! loved it! Even hotel restaurant was good, as well as great restaurants nearby!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodiewinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,688 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,388 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 190 in Chicago
2,091 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing