We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Palomar!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #12 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Just got back from spending an extra night in Chicago. Was in town for business and also stayed at the Doubletree. Got a great deal at the last minute as I needed to stay one more night and the Doubletree was sold out. Thanks to the TA promotion online I got a King size bed in a great room for only $111!

The Palomar has a great retro/modern vibe. A lot of use of lighting and contemporary features make it feel more spa like. Some of the pro's are that everyone working there was exceptionally courteous and friendly, eager to help in any way. Rooms felt more like a nice little apartment than a hotel. They also have a complimentary wine reception and although I didn't use the indoor pool and fitness center, they looked very clean and well maintained. It's not a place where you see a lot of families with little kids running around, it's more of an adult themed type of place (which I prefer). A nice touch is that the majority of lights in the room are on dimmers.

The only two con's I could think of are the lack of a coffee maker in the room, (but it is free down in the lobby in the morning) and the ridiculously small area to drive into when you first check in. It is literally big enough to hold only 2 cars, but the valets are always there to help get you in and out in a hurry. Beware, as parking anywhere overnight in Chicago is pricey, and the Palomar is getting $46 with in and out privileges.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSchrute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear DSchrute:

Thank you so much for leaving such a detailed review on TA. We appreciate the great comments and hope we can be your hotel of choice whenever you make it to Chicago.

Coffee makers can be requested for the room and we will deliver the convenient Keurig one cup machines to you.

As for the hotel driveway, you are right it can be a tight squeeze. We were lucky the city even granted us the rights to have one at all, but our valets do try and get cars in and out of there as quickly as possible.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,104 - 2,110 of 2,767 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

The W on Lakeshore used to be our favorite hotel in Chicago, but no longer. Hotel Palomar exceeded our expectations on every level. We stayed on the 14th floor, super hip original artwork in the hallways. The corner suite is comfortable & the view is great. The restaurant Sable downstairs is an amazing experience, we dined w/ 8 ppl. (4 teens) & everyone enjoyed something new. The location is perfect, you can walk everywhere you want to go. Everything you see on the hotel's website is true but what you don't see on the website is the wonderful service you will get from the entire staff. (Ashlee, Gad & Bobby) WOW! is the only word to describe it.
You will want for nothing during your stay! We spend 3 nights there the week after Christmas & loved it so much that I am taking my daughter & her friend back for another stay next weekend! THANK YOU HOTEL PALOMAR!

Room Tip: Corner Suite has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabbigurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear gabbigurl:

I am so honored to have you write such a great review. We are so pleased we made a special connection with you and teh family and I agree that our staff really make a difference.

We really look forward to having you come back soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary get away. Great staff Ashlee even sent up a bottle of champagne with a note. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rjs1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear Rjs1978:

Thank you so much for such a great review and happy anniversay. Let' s do it all again next year.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Had our entire wedding guest list stay there last year and my wife and I just went back or a 1 year anniversary night. Front desk staff has unmatched professional courtesy. Great accommodations for reasonable price. Will stay at Palomar for every Chicago return trip.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkennethr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My aunt, two cousins and I stayed at the Palomar for a quick Chicago shopping trip. We were impressed with the quality of service and great location. The concierge was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. They do charge $46 for overnight parking but the extra money is worth it. My cousin forgot something in the car and the valet went out of his way to retrieve the items. The hotel bar draws a nice crowd and the complimentary happy hour from 5-6 is a chic bonus;)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nchetcuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I have been a follower of Kimpton for almost 20 years now and after a recent stay at the Palomar I know why. They just know how to do it right. My husband and I spent a night there on December 30th (we live in Chicago) for our yearly stay-cation. As expected, service was excellent. The decor of the hotel is beautiful. I love the way the sitting area is seperated from the check in. Our room was so nicely appointed with a mini-bar stocked with anything you could think of, food and non-food items. The concierge arranged a last minute reservation for us at a popular downtown restaurant, GT Fish and Oyster, which was excellent. Prior to dinner we sat at the hotel bar in the Sable Grill and were treated to great service by Bobbie. It was fun to watch him mix drinks...truly an art. We could have sat there all night. We ate breakfast at the Sable which was amazingliny inovative. Not your typical eggs and bacon. Finally, the River North location is within great proximity of Michigan Avenue shopping and many fabulous restarurnts. We did not use the pool, but it looked nice and the gym was a good size but a bit hot (according to my husband). The only complaint I have is that they should have built a few more elevators when they constructed the property. We had a room on the top floor and the elevators were slow and crowded. A small inconvenience for a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gullygroup5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Great location and laid back vibe. Love the lounge and the room's decor, very clean and modern. The restaurant/bar Sable are just the icing on the cake, great specialty drinks and friendly bartenders.

Room Tip: Stayed in a Deluxe king and it was quite roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyoftravelers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,479 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,833 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,534 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £114 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing