We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a Wonderful Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #10 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dearborn, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Overall a Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

My fiancé and I decided to have a two day get away to Chicago, decided to stay at the Palomar, and we are happy we did. The staff was always on point, very courteous and professional. The concierge “Bobby” was able to help us plan out our weekend, with no regrets! We arrived Friday afternoon, and joined the free wine reception near the lobby from 5-7pm (it was very classy and gave us a chance to socialize with other people from all across the nation.) The following morning we had breakfast at the hotel’s restaurant “Sable Kitchen & Bar” where the staff and the meals really impressed us. The rooms were unique and comfortable. On Sundays check-out again the staff was helpful and had us leaving satisfied with our stay. Overall the Palomar was a great experience at an affordable price and can easily pass for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,019
    584
    87
    20
    10
See reviews for
674
967
123
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
orange county
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I started staying at Kimpton properties 4 years ago. I've stayed at Kimptons in Denver, Arlington, and Miami. They all impress. Palomar Chicago was no exception. The guys in the front are super friendly and greeted me as I entered. Jessica at the front desk checked me in, she was very friendly and helped any way she could. The rooms and bathrooms are very comfortable and stylish. Great decor in the hotel. I cant say enough about the staff here. I didnt get names, but the big African-American guy at the front door was funny and friendly. I also bumped into one of the bellman in the elevator, he was an Asian-American, we chatted about California a bit, he asked if I was checking bags in or anything, very friendly. Whenever I stay at a Kimpton property, I feel like I'm at home. The staff makes the stay that much better. The property is also very exquisite and close to a lot of restaurants. The Red line is across the street. Excellent location. This is the hotel of choice when I'm in Chicago.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Traveled with my wife for weekend without the kids Feb 10-12. Everything about the hotel was perfect. The room itself (King Spa) was wonderful. Employees were outgoing and friendly. The location was convenient to everything.

I love this hotel and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinDano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

great location - walk to miracle mile. nice wine reception in evening. great rooms, very modern. door to bathroom was odd (sliding) so not as much privacy as you'd like. would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisamahnkenelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This was a fabulous, relatively cheap (for Chicago), hotel! Perfect location-the redline is just a stone throw away, and walking distance to Michigan Ave and the theater district. We stayed here on the coldest weekend of the year for the auto show, and the staff was always pleasant, even the poor valet and doorman outside in the bitter cold! The wine reception (a Kimpton standard, I think, because they had it at the San Francisco Kimpton I previously stayed) is a nice touch- the cocktail area with fireplace was packed. At check-in, we also got a "Raid the Minibar" voucher which was fun for drinks while getting dressed for the evening. As for the room, it was funky and unexpected, in a very good way. One of the nicest touches was the Etro bath products- though it is quite unfortunate because I can't seem to find them online to buy them now that I'm addicted to the musk scent! Overall, a great hotel. I'd suggest parking your car (and yes, the $50/night is standard in Chicago), and explore!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chksrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Chksrgn:

Thank you so much for writing such a kind and detailed review about the Palomar Chicago. We are so pleased that you had a chance to experience all of the wonderful things that make our hotel company so unique.

If you would ike to contact me directly at nabil.moubayed@hotelpalomar.com I am sure we could arrange for you to get some of our Etro products. That particular scent is made specifically for Kimpton Hotels.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My wife and I take weekend getaways to Chicago almost once of month. Last time, we stayed at Hotel Monaco, but this time I wanted to try Hotel Palomar (both are Kimpton Hotels) as it was recently named one of the top 25 hotels in the country.

Our perfect weekend was engineered by concierge Bobby Gonzalez. Due to lack of a response while setting up in-room spa services, I had sent an email to the hotel expressing my disappointment. Bobby did everything from getting us a room upgrade to setting up a private table at La Scarola to make up for my inconvenience. It was a pleasure to see that customer service is not a foreign concept to Mr Gonzalez.

Hotel Palomar is a gorgeous hotel with all the amenities one would expect from a property of this level. I will not stay anywhere in Chicago other than Hotel Palomar.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Yobs:

Thank you so much for the stellar review you left for us. We truly appreciate it. We are also thrilled that you singled out Bobby for providing such great customer service. He is truly a wonderful asset to this hotel.

Thank you also for making this property your Chicago choice for future stays. That is music to our ears.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,688 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,388 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 190 in Chicago
2,091 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing