We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #10 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Livonia, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We booked on HotWire and got a great rate on St. Patty's Day weekend - last minute. The hotel was above our expectations, everything was great. Check in and front desk service was great, our room was beautiful and we especially loved the fact they turned down our sheets and set the lighting low for us every evening when we came back to our room. We also loved the $10 mine bar credit, the pool and sun deck. Our only "complaints" were that there was no closet in our room, the food was EXPENSIVE, and there was no complimentary breakfast. But that last one is being a bit nit-picky. We LOVED the coffee and tea each morning, delicious fresh local sodas and candies and complimentary wine hour from 5-6. We would stay here again as long as we got some sort of deal on the room - $300/night is a bit too rich for our blood.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Jennifer Q:

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so glad that you had a great time in Chicago over St. Patrick's Day weekend. The great weather made it an even better experience.

Just to clarify for our TA community - every room in the hotel does have a closet. I can't say exactly why you were not able to locate it, but it is immediately situated to the left or right side once you enter the room. I am sure our staff would have been more than happy to show you.

Although I do not agree that our restaurant Sable, is particularily more expensive than other dining options in the River North area, I am glad you were able to take advantage of all of the complimentary features at our hotel, such as the morning coffee and tea, afternoon sodas and candies and of course our signature evening wine reception. These are not commonly found at other non-Kimpton hotels in the City.

Once again thank you for the review and we hope to see you back in Chicago soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,019
    584
    88
    20
    10
See reviews for
674
967
124
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in late December celebrating my birthday. The location is great, weather was mild and allowed us to walk quite a bit. Our room was very comfortable, had a city view and was generously sized. Housekeeping was great, bath toiletries were higher end and good quality. The room has an iPhone dock which was great to listen to music prior to dinner, etc. I would hands down stay here again when in Chicago.

The hotel acknowledged my birthday by sending a bottle of wine and chocolates to our room, this was a very hospitable gesture and another reason why we love Kimpton hotels.

We had room service for breakfast one morning and it was very good. We ordered French toast and eggs though so that is pretty hard to mess up...


My only suggestion, don't bother with Sable Restaurant. We ate lunch here on our first afternoon and it was so-so. Chicago is a foodie city and this restaurant offered nothing special. Not to mention the decor was stark and tired, think the Delano hotel in 2002. Unoriginal food in an atmosphere better suited for sweltering Miami nights...not Chicago.

Had two nice meals at Table fifty-two and Gibson's. Had hoped to score reservations at Alinea but no such luck...book that early!

Stayed December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank FLNOLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

What more can you ask for. Great location, close to the mile. Hip decor with design flair. Discreet service; present but not imposing. Great workout facilities; rooftop pool with million dollar skyline view. Great pricing. Top line restaurant in house. Would enjoy this over the "W" any day.

Room Tip: Join the loyalty program for free internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FoodieGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The husband's been lucky enough to stay at this hotel a couple of times before (business), he has so enjoyed his trips that as a special treat he took me over for 3 nights (from London, so we are talking big treat here). As it happened this coincided with the St Patricks Day celebrations. I figured I'd better make some restaurant bookings well in advance. I got into contact with Jessica Ebacher one of the hotel's amazing team of concierges. She was extremely helpful and more than happy to get everything organised, very prompt in replying to emails. In the past the lovely Mark Kraemer has helped the husband with his restaurant bookings, and on this occasion Mark re-confirmed the bookings and ensured that we got special tables and exceptional service. Check in (at around 6pm on a Thursday) looked at if it was mobbed - but it wasn't, in fact they have an evening wine sampling and guests were milling around clasping large glasses of vino - which I have to say I gazed at longingly. As we checked in, because we 'just' missed the wine tasting we were presented with two tickets entitling us to claim a complimentary glass of the evening's wine at the Sable bar (more on that in a moment). I'd also signed up as a Kimpton InTouch Member (it's free), this further entitled us to free wifi for the whole of our stay and a one off $10 'raid the mini bar'! We had been upgraded to a corner room 1604 and I was totally blown away by the size of the space...there was a large working desk and chair, a large flatscreen TV, a coffee table with a three seater sofa and easy chair and a gi-normous bed. Plenty of storage space. A couple of wacky dressing gowns and even a yoga mat (with a special TV channel that you could tune into to do various exercises). The bathroom was almost as large as our first flat. A Jacuzzi bath for 2, which after a long day of pounding the streets was fabulous. A walk in shower for 2 plus guests!! All the usual complimentary smellies and a whole host of things in the mini-bar if you had forgotten anything. The hotel is well situated for plenty of really good restaurants including Joes Seafood, just around the corner, and Smith & Wolenski on the river just down the road. In the mornings you can amble downstairs to grab tea or coffee, also available mid-afternoon, thereafter iced water and a selection of sweeties (I noticed some people taking handfuls). The Sable bar was buzzing every night, great atmosphere and the food looked pretty good too. The husband wasn't feeling so well on the Saturday evening so I asked Mark if he could work his magic and ensure that I had a seat at the bar so I could enjoy a drink on my own - sure enough he liaised with the bar manager and they reserved me a spot, much to my great appreciation. All in all this is an absolute gem of a hotel, all the staff are delightful from door men (one of these guys, wears a hat, has the most amazing whistle I think I've ever heard!) to room service. My special thanks however remain for Mark Kraemer, in him this hotel has the greatest gem of all.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great, very large and very sunny - get a room at the back, it might not have the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BalhamBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I should've known this would be one of those memorable hotel experiences after Michael at the front desk cheerfully arranged for the complicated delivery and storage of a package before our arrival. Or when Mark was happy to arrange for an artistic fruit bowl to be delivered to a friend at the hotel before our arrival. Once we arrived, we were delighted with the friendly welcome, iced water bottles at the door, fresh coffee and gourmet organic teas every morning, wine reception at 5 pm, striking art pieces and furniture throughout the hotel and 17th floor rooftop terrace. Alex was happy to print our boarding passes and arrange for luggage storage, and Blue the doorman put us in a shiny limo to the airport--for the same price of a frumpy taxi. The hotel is in the center of the Miracle Mile and has a luxurious yet playful feel.

Room Tip: 17th floor rooms have great views of the city and lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 18hf18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear 18hf18:

Thank you so much for your recent review of our hotel. We always appreciate a detailed review and it is appreciated when you recognize our staff members who helped make your stay memorable.

We truly hope to see you back in Chicago soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed at the Palomar Chicago for 2 nights on return from a week in Vegas. Wanted to stay somewhere handy for all the attractions the city has to offer and the hotel met that expectation. We took the train from the airport and the hotel is a short walk from the station. Next day we walked a few blocks down and were at the bus stop for the City tour.
Check in was a breeze and as Kimpton in touch members, we got free wi-fi and were able to 'raid the minibar'. Rooms are not huge, but enough space to get around. Bathrooms on the small side but very clean & modern. As we were celebrating an anniversary, we were given champagne & strawberries on arriving in the room - nice touch. The corridors of the hotel have some rather quirky artwork. Be warned though as some of them stick out in places and you might just catch your arm on them! The pool area and outside deck are gorgeous. In fact, I think they make the Palomar a real winner as many city boutique hotels don't have pools or outside sun decks. We went for a late night swim and it was fab! The hosted wine reception in the evening is a great place to chill for an hour and chat / relax. Great wine & great pizza! The lobby and lounge area are really nice with a gorgeous fireplace. We ate an evening meal at the restaurant and the quality was very good although this is reflected in the prices. All in all, this was a good stay for our short time in Chicago. Would recommend to others and would happily choose this hotel, and the Kimpton brand in the future.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meet-the-Furkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Our family stayed here for two nights in march. The hotel is clean, friendly and run very professionally. The location is right next to nordstroms and within an easy walk of all the miracle mile shops

The doormen were helpful in arranging transport to the museums and the blackhawks game

The rooms are bright, quiet and very clean

A lot of the guests were there on business or were from europe with lent itself to a very efficient stay which is what we liked.

The pre-supper drinks and morning coffee were a treat. The restaurant in the hotel has top rated food (although skip the coffee for breakfast as it free in the lobby)

We shall definitely return and highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadianwarmth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,395 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 190 in Chicago
4,698 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 190 in Chicago
2,096 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing