We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the middle of it all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #13 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Right in the middle of it all”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

First time at the Palomar and first time at a Kimpton Hotel. We got a great weekend deal with the Toast to Chicago rate. The hotel is right in the heart of it all, close to fabulous restaurants, bars and of course shopping on the magnificent mile. Check-in (and check-out) was a breeze. The staff was very welcoming and helpful (even before we arrived). If you drive to the hotel, Valet Parking is the only real option (at a steep $48/day), but if you need access to your car it is only 5-10 minute wait for pick-up. The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable (although police sirens were often heard at night from 15 floors up,,,but that is probably same for anywhere in this city). There was a large flatscreen TV, mini-bar and safe, but no coffee maker in the room. However, a coffee maker can be requested. Plenty of fresh coffee is also available in the lobby at breakfast time and complementary wine hour in the evening. (There is also a Starbucks just a block away). I recommend you join the Kimpton Loyalty program before you go (it's free) ...as you will get free WiFi, $10 freebies from the (very expensive) mini-bar and a free newspaper in the morning. You can also make you room preferences known..and they do the best to accommodate.
We did not dine at the hotel other than Sunday brunch, but the quality and service was very high. Like most places, the bar was extremely busy in the evening, but had an excellent selection of wines, beers and spirits.
For the value we got out of our stay, we would definitely return here again !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,010
    578
    87
    20
    10
See reviews for
667
964
123
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west blo
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The hotel is great and the sable resturant inside makes it even better. Very close to shopping on michigan ave. it's connected to the nordstrom mall. Win win!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsmeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My husband and I just spent 3 nights at the Palomar in Chicago and had a great time. The hotel is central to everything so we were able to walk everywhere. The staff were super friendly and welcoming. We had an upgraded room that was huge!! Mark, he's the fabulous Concierge", had Garrett's popcorn and Goose Island beverages waiting for us in our room upon arrival. I can't say enough good things about Kimpton Hotels. I wish they were in Europe - time to expand Kimpton!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillian07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The Palomar consistently exceeds all of my expectations and their attention to detail continues to surprise me on each visit. The staff is attentive and the level of service is commendable. The week of my stay they contacted me to see if there was anything that they could do to assist me with my trip. Their timing was perfect and the Palomar was able to make dinner reservations for me prior to my arrival. This saved me time and left a favorable impression on me. The King Spa suite is worth the extra expense. I appreciate how quiet the rooms are when compared to other hotels in the area. The roof top terrace is a find! Sable restaurant has a great atmosphere and the fresh sorbets are worth the visit. The server recommended the apricot and mint combinations, and I can not stop thinking about it! I also recommend stopping by the wine tasting that they offer. It is a great way to start out the evening. The elevators can get crowded during peak times so allow a few extra minutes. I will be staying there again at the end of June and will post an update. I highly recommend the Palomar!

Room Tip: The King Spa Suite is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimplySustainable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

My friend (visiting from UK) and I had a perfect stay at the Palomar. If you have never stayed at a Kimpton property you must give them a try. Everything from check-in to check-out was perfect including transportation arrangements, drinks in the bar, the spacious-modern-clean-comfortable room and morning coffee/tea in the reception area. We didn't partake in the evening wine reception (as we were never in on time) but I think it is a great perk. In the future the Palomar is the only hotel I will be booking when visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LITTOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear LITTOC:

We truly appreciate the great review you just posted. Thank you for sharing your feedback with the TA community.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The hotel is clean, bright and rooms are spacious.
Staff are happy and cheerful and it makes a big difference!
We were given a coffee machine for the room when we asked about a kettle and bottles of water when we mentioned we were hot on our return one afternoon.
Added to that the lovely idea of a wine reception each afternoon during which you can meet fellow guests and it's hard to beat this hotel.
I would recommend going to the 17th floor pool area later at night to see the spectacular sight of Chicago illuminated.

Room Tip: Ask for your preference - we always ask for quiet and haven't been disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortsmouthLegaleagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear PortsmouthLegaleagle:

Thank you so much for the kind review you just posted on TA. We are very pleased that you had a really good time and that you enjoyed all Chicago has to offer.

We hope to see you back with us soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Was in Chicago for a conference and my colleagues were all staying at various hotels. Mine was hands-down the best. Great staff, big room which was clean, stylish. Wonderful amenities that my friends at other hotels had to pay extra for. It really was wonderful. The only negative would be how close it was to Nordstrom (negative for my wallet that is!).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drgirlnyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,347 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,609 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 190 in Chicago
2,030 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing