We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ditto! On all of the excellent reviews.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #12 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We loved this hotel, and would absolutely stay here again! The staff, the location, the decor, the rooms, especially the quiet HVAC system (thank you!!) are all excellent. I'm going to kimptonstyle.com immediately to order one of their down pillows. The rooftop terrace was also a favorite stop for our family of four after a day of touring Chicago. I will certainly seek out Kimpton properties in other cities.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pilates28_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

pilates28_12:

We love to hear that you loved our hotel!
We're really proud of the facilities and services we provide to our guests and are glad you noticed.

We can't wait to have you back.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,823 - 1,829 of 2,784 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

I have stayed in other Palomar properties, so I expected equally great service. The Chicago
property did not disappoint. The staff is ridiculously pleasant, professional and efficient.
I had never stayed on State Street before, but the hotel was well located in a sea of bars, restaurants and shopping. My room was clean and exceptionally quiet for being on the 7th floor.
And may I say that your lobby bathroom is one of the coolest bathrooms on the planet! You can't miss Palomar, always a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hall with dual windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ebethxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Ebethxxx:

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the TA community.
We're are thrilled you chose our hotel and had a great stay.
We hope to see you soon!

All the best,
Joe Pagone
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Imagine a long day in the Chicago sun...then you walk into the Palomar. Sangria waiting for you in their lounge with wine tasting every 5pm (free) with their homemade pizza. Always a drink to be found in their lounge..so lovely.
Fabulous location! Concierge bang on on their recommendations! Room lovely and they have a lovely sign in their bathroom that says they will provide you with anything-anytime-really.
Very impressed by the Kimpton experience---will have to try more...

Room Tip: Corner suites lovely. Go for an upgrade if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pantelitsa0468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Pantelitsa0468:

Thank you for the great review.
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel.
We love a good drink and thought our guests would as well; glad to see you did.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This was our first Kimpton experience and we will definitely use these hotels again. The Palomar has an excellent staff: from the doorman, to the front desk staff to the wait staff at the bar. Staff was very accommodating and helpful. You could tell their goal was to enhance your stay. Daily cocktail hour in the lobby was lovely feature. Refreshments provided all day e.g.- coffee, water, iced coffee, juice boxes for any kids. Stayed in the King Spa Premier Room. Very comfortable and spacious with a modern and inviting decor. We left relaxed and re-freshed after our stay. Hotel has great access to all Chicago has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOMfromMarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear MOMfromMarkham:

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TA community.
We're glad to hear you enjoyed our amenties. I can't agree more, our staff is great.
We will be sure to share this with our entire team.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This hotel is in a great location. The rooms are very nice. They have a wine reception and they have free bikes to use. Front staff are very friendly and knowlegable, but our room was not made up until late in afternoon. We typically had several events planned for each day - walking, cycling in the morning and specific events in afternoon. This past week been hot and humid the hotel would offer respite unfortunately the room was not made up and that created our only issue - for us a significant issue.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Hohenbalken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear Hohenbalken:

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I was happy to hear you enjoyed our property, services and that our staff took great care of you. Sorry your room was not made up till late afternoon. Our housekeeping team cleans rooms throught out the day. They typically start with cleaning the rooms that have checked out, by doing this it assist us in getting new guests into the hotel and keeps us from disturbing guests who wouls like to sleep in a bit. Should you ever want your room cleaned while you are out feel free to let us know you are leaving your room for a bit and we are happy to have your room serviced.


Sincerely,

Joe Pagone
AGM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Sadly only a one night stay at the wonderful Palomar but I loved it. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful; one porter even found the address of my next destination without me asking, in order to advise the taxi, which was much appreciated.

Our room was gorgeous on the end of the hall with dual aspect windows flooding the room with natural light - a rare treat in a hotel room. The decor was pleasant and serene. The doors were heavy and sound proof, the bed was like a cloud and the bathroom nicely appointed too. The pool and roof terrace were also nice and the free coffee in the lobby was appreciated.

The location is great, right on State St., less than a block to the Grand CTA on the red line, a few blocks to Michigan Ave and a few blocks to State St. shops; Macys etc.

Doubt I could afford the full room rate and it was a treat at a hotwire price of GBP160 but hope I have the chance to stay there again! Joining the Kimpton loyalty programme gives you free wifi too which is appreciated.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gingerSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear gingerSW:

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your stay with the TA community. We hope that next time you can stay with us for more than one night.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We recently spent a long weekend at the Palomar in Chicago and found it, overall, a good experience. We informed them ahead of time that we would need an early check-in but, upon arrival, that wasn't available. They did hold our luggage while we went out for brunch and some sight-seeing. The room was nice although not very large. The bathroom was very nice with a great shower and tub. The location of the room on the 12th floor and the end of the hallway was very quiet as far as hotel noises but it is hard to escape the noise of the nearby fire station! The free coffee in the morning as well as the wine hour in the evening was a very nice addition to our stay and gave us some time to socialize with the other guests.

Room Tip: High floor probably quieter than closer to street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nanciface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear nanciface:

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We appreciate all of your feedback. Sorry about the street noises - unfortunately even with double paned windows, that is the reality of life in a big city.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,208 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 192 in Chicago
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#9 of 192 in Chicago
2,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £103 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing