We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #12 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Our 4th visit to the Palomar when coming over to see our daughter at UChicago. Hyde Park (location of UChicago) is great but we prefer a downtown location and we are always very confident that we will be delighted in chosing the Palomar. We simply jump on the Metra or take a cab which is not horrendously expensive. We find it hard to fault the hotel and quite honestly have no desire to criticise in any way as the property offers everything we need and more! The location is perfect for downtown attractions and businesses....the Loop, Michegan Avenune, Navy Pier, the Lake etc. We are not great sleepers and at home we live in a very quiet neighbourhood but for a central location we have no problems sleeping and find the rooms very comfortable and quiet. The rooms are not all massive but if you need more space the suites are competetively priced given the type of hotel and location. We' ve enjoyed wonderful service from the general manager Nabil and all his fantastic staff who go out of their way to be helpful and provide a warm welcome every time we visit. The Sable Restaurant (on the ground floor) is very good and very popular....it's a good idea to book early for evening meals...even in the winter. The staff here are also great....oh on another great touch with the wine reception and nibbles every evening at 5pm that's included in the price. Right across the street is the excellent Cantina Laredo (Mexican) Restaurant and many other good eating places nearby. Within a few yards is the excellent Jazz Record Mart - a wonderful old fashioned record shop (that's a compliment by the way!). You will have guessed by now that this posting is from delighted guests who hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Upper rooms are probably quieter and ask for a suite if you need more space or extra beds etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anderida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Dear Anderida:

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a stellar review. We truly appreciate it and hope you will continue to contact us when you come to town to visit your daughter.

See you soon.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,571 - 1,577 of 2,767 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in early march and had no complaints. I'm a sucker for a Kimpton hotel I admit it. I love being a rewards member because they not only provide free wifi, but drop my favorite papers off at my door each morning and have a yoga matt and workout bands waiting for me in my room. The room was spacious and pretty. The bathrooms were functional and classy. The view was sub par as was the room service and check in/out process but they weren't terrible, just adequate. Wine and gourmet pizza hour each night is a nice touch and the Sable kitchen bar in the hotel is superb, especially their craft cocktails which I could order up to my room. The location was ideal, within walking distance to the magnificent mile and shopping. Great hotel overall.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade for the better view...because it's still not a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Dear Katrina C:

Thank you for your review. I am glad you thought we had many great small touches that made your stay even more interesting. As for the views, we are a long narrow building in the middle of a busy downtown full of tall buildings. A typical city view in this part of town is of other buildings, sometimes a part of the river and / or lake depending how high up you are.

We hope you come back and visit again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chiacgo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Stayed for a week with my big black lab.There were no fees associated with having a dog, which is a very pleasant surprise. Based on your activity level, there are even public dog parks within 8~ blocks. For quick bathroom breaks it's a little more difficult as there are no grassy areas around the hotel except the restaurant across the street (Cantina Laredo) and the post office a block away.

Hotel itself was lovely. It had a fun personality with animal print robes and fun colorful carpets. Nothing looked worn/dated. Hotel pool is on the smallish side but it is cool that its on the 17th floor. No lifeguard or staff so it can get rowdy with kids/frat boys. The pool area is dimly lit so don't expect to go and read the paper by the pool.

Service was hit or miss. Some staff were genuinely pleasant and attentive, making sure to have treats for my dog when we came back from our walk. Others like the doorman who stood there pretending not to see us, were rudely dismissive. Of course I can open the door myself but if you're the door man and aren't doing anything else, why don't you open the door for me?

There is a great tea and coffee station set up in the mornings and a wine "happy hour" at 5pm. Both are complimentary. Great selections of teas in the morning along with soy milk, skim milk and half and half. It will cost you $3 to have that same tea later on. The happy hour get pretty crowded, with guests setting up in the lobby starting around 4pm. Its really just a glass of wine and a pizza or two. Both are lovely perks for the hotel to provide.

Other than some of the can't-be-bothered staff, my only other v minor complaint is the two elevators are pretty slow.

Overall I would def stay here again, esp if I am traveling with my dog. The free wifi is great, rooms are well appointed, got a great city view even though I didn't upgrade to that room type, and the location can't be beat. Plus the froyo across the street is delicious!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear JJcookie:

Thank you for your detailed review of our property - we appreciate all of the candid feedback. I am so glad we were a good fit for you and your big black lab.

I am sorry that some of the door men did not open the doors for you - we will make sure they are more aware out there.

We hope to see you again soon and maybe next time when you come you will find some quiet time outside when we open up our outdoor pool patio on the 17th floor and our outdoor hotel patio on the ground floor. This being Spring Break week we did have a lot of families visiting us.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I had very high expectations from the rewievs on tripadvisor.unfortunately we had a few issues while staying here,but the service is very good and the staff do all they can to solve problems.
Rooms were nice with good beds and a flat screen tv,bathrooms were very small and the showers not the best.the locations is very good,close to good restaurants and shopping.
The hotel is very good if you are looking for a small hotel with good service-I would probably not put it as number 7 of all Chicago hotels,but will return.

Room Tip: Join the kimpton In touch program and get free Internet -corner rooms have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cirkeline74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Cirkeline74:

Thank you for the review and I am so sorry that you had some minor issues to contend with during your stay. We certainly try our best to make sure evrything is in good working order and up to snuff before our guests set foot in to this building and their rooms.

We hope you will give us another chance to prove that we are worthy of our ranking on TA.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

A hotel that lives up to previous reviews.Easy access to all attractions shopping, navy pier etc.A very relaxing hotel from check-in to check out, beds extremley comfortable ,staff very helpful and friendly. Complimentary tea/coffee and water Bar attached to hotel good to eat and drink in and always busy.Tried a couple of restaurants and good with the exception of (steffans) More of a fast food joint while food was ok you were made to feel uncomfortable by staff constantly sitting on your shoulder bill on table before desert arrived Mag mile very expensive

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIBBLES1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear DIBBLES1997:

We are so glad you had a good time at our hotel - especially close to all of the great shopping areas of Chicago. We are also thrilled you were able to try Sable Kitchen and Bar next door - they are fantastic and a true Chicago institution for incredible American cuisine and cocktails.

See you soon.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Luxury hotel at a good price. Signed up for the free wi-fi which was excellent; can also connect via ethernet. Hotel room was large, big TV with great picture quality. Made use of the nice gym and pool. Hotel put on free snacks and drinks during their hosted wine hour which was excellent. Hotel is in an excellent location for shopping and seeing some of the local sights.

Had a fantastic stay. First time staying at a Kimpton hotel and I was very impressed. Will be looking out for their name when planning future trips.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear David B:

Thank you so much for the great review. We are so glad you have found Kimpton Hotels. We are all over the USA in every major urban city - almost 60 hotels and restaurants strong.

Come back and visit soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights and were very impressed with the hotel. The location is perfect - it's a very short walk to the river and Michigan Avenue, the subway red line and great restaurants. The front desk staff and bellhops were fantastic. They were professional, friendly, helpful and seemed genuinely happy to be there.

The room was very clean and smelled fresh, had a great desk area with an electronics charging station and a good amount of space to unpack and put away clothes and other items for 2 people for a week. The in-room safe was nice. It was large enough to hold my 13" wide laptop and a DSLR camera with room to spare.

The only area I am marking down is sleep quality, but that is a highly personal thing so what doesn't work for us may work for you. We were on the 12th floor facing south and heard ambulance/fire truck sirens very clearly. We didn't hear any other street noise, though. Ear plugs did help block out the noise a little bit. The bed was very firm and it was hard to get comfortable.

Overall, we really enjoyed the hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyk213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Dear jennyk213:

Thank you for sharing your Palomar experience with the TA community. We are so glad you had a good time with us. We also love this location, it is just the right distance to all the interesting things to do in Chicago.

We hope you will come back soon.

All the best,

Nabil Mouabyed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,477 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,831 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,534 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £115 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing