We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #13 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We had a nice weekend stay at the Kimpton with our 2 children...great location and friendly staff. The $58.00 for overnight valet was a little too pricy. The hot chocolate and happy hour are nice perks and the hotel was clean. If i could, I'd give it a 4.5 rating, but I'm just not sure what all the fuss is about this hotel. The beds and bathroom were ok, but nothing extradordinary. The room seemed a little worn, but overall very clean.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chitej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear tejal d,

Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor from your recent visit. Glad you and your family enjoyed our fun perks with the hot chocolate offerings as well as our evening wine reception. I can understand if you were not "wowed" by your experience as many of our other guests are, where "to each, his own" certainly comes into play. We simply try to offer the best service we can and help in anyway possible to ensure that our guests enjoy their visits and feel like family when here. I wish you and yours a very Happy new Year and I thank you for your business.

Kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,305 - 1,311 of 2,799 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

From the moment you walk in you are greeted with the serenity that enfolds this hotel. The check in is quick and the rooms (with great views) are only a quick elevator ride away. The room was clean and cozy. Dim-able lamps, very nice touch. The pool is great and the fitness center as good as most small gyms. The hotel restaurant (sable) is excellent and delicious. Roger was a very professional and courteous waiter. Very much looking forward to the coffee, tea, and hot chocolate bar tomorrow morning:)

Only Con: there is no free hotel parking. Nor is their valet service cheaper than just parking around the corner. It would be really nice if they could work out a discount for the hotel guests.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Joshua S,

Thank you for your very kind review and your five star rating of your vist! We very much appreciate it and I am happy to hear that you had a nice time with us here at the Palomar. Glad you were able to enjoy our relaxing atmosphere as well as dine in Sable with their wonderful menu and cocktails. I do apologize for the high price of parking here in the city. We do try to price our parking within the industry standard in the city, and are actually 5% less expensive than the average cost of parking amongst four and five star hotels in Chicago. Please know that we do appreciate your business and your feedback, and I thank you for staying with us.

Have a wonderful New Year!

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We live in Chicago but wanted to do a weekend in the city. The Palomar had reasonable room rates ( but the $58 night for parking is not, parked across the street for half the price), lovely décor, an exceptionally nice lobby to people watch, NY Time in the morning, very pleasant staff and well located from Michigan Ave., River North and the Loop.. and the greatest robes.. you have to see them. will stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear rick422,

I share your love for "weekends in the city"...I, too, like to stay downtown with my family for weekend trips and I love to hear that you chose us to be your home away from home for this purpose! Wonderful to hear that you were truly able to relax and enjoy your visit - and we certainly hope you will continue to choose the Palomar for future getaways!

Happy New Year to you and yours,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Was looking for a romantic getaway for a night and came here based on the good reviews and my past positive experiences with Kimpton hotels. It did not disappoint. The staff was super friendly despite it being a very busy time of year. The complementary cider in the evening and the hot chocolate in the morning were both delicious and welcomed additions to the stay. The room was very quiet, rare for a hotel of this type. The location is excellent, tons of things to do nearby. Definitely try the Sable restaurant downstairs. Wow, that experience was extraordinary. I'll be posting more details on that on the restaurant's page.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turtleliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Turtleliving,

Thank you so much for your kind review and sharing your positive experiences with our hotel and Sable Kitchen. We do our best to accommodate with the highest degree of guest services and it is absolutely wonderful to read that we were able to help you and yours have a nice romantic getaway! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and we wish you a happy new year!

Sincerely,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Returning to Chicago with daughters and granddaughters in tow, we were introduced to this wonderful home away from home. Friendly and caring staff made our stay even more enjoyable.
Gatherings in the lounge at 5 pm with wine and pizza were a welcome treat. You actually had the opportunity to mingle with other guests. Rooms were roomy and quiet.The central location was ideal as we were able to walk to most attractions and for longer trips the subway (Red Line) entrance was next to the hotel. To return to the Airport ( O' Hare) you just had to take the Red Line and transfer to the Blue Line that takes you directly there. Granddaughters loved the goldfish in their rooms and the Doorman assured them that he would look after them until we return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Mary G,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review here on Trip Advisor. We very much appreciate your kindness and it is great to hear that you and your girls had a wonderful time with us! Glad you enjoyed our wine and pizza and of course, your pet goldfish! Please come back and see us soon and have a happy new year!

Sincerely,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I was looking for a great boutique hotel to enjoy ladies night that would offer a pool, nice atmosphere, clean rooms and a friendly staff. The Palomar offered these things and more! At 5:00pm the hotel offered complimentary wine and pizza for happy hour which was nice. The lobby was decorated very beautifully for the holiday season which added to the ambiance. Colin at the front desk was exceptional with handling our needs and Melissa from the front desk did an amazing job with taking pictures for all of us.

We booked the 3-room king suite and loved it! The bathroom was beautiful and the bed was comfrtable. There were cheetah print robes available for us to lounge in and visit the pool. The robes were not that soft but we didnt mind. It was fun to hang out in them. The room was very spacious and clean. The pool is on the 17th floor and had nice views of the city. No matter our request, the staff had no problem accommodating our needs while we were there.

Be sure to sign up for their Loyalty Program (free) to receive other great deals. We received complimetary Internet, a movie and $10 towards the minibar or hotel bar! We were able to get our room at a good rate because of a" Midwest" promotion that the company was running at the time.

I've visited a few boutique hotels in my young like and I would definitely recommend The Palomar Hotel when visiting Chicago!

Room Tip: Be sure to check for discounts and sign up for the free Loyalty Program
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear TravelinX2,

So happy to hear that you had a wonderful ladies night stay with us here at the Palomar! Thank you for sharing your kind comments and a special thank you from Colin and Melissa for mentioning them in your review. They really appreciate such recognition and are two of our best. I always love to see when our guests take advantage of our fun Kimpton perks like the 5pm wine hour and lounging in our animal print robes. Please come back and visit us soon for your next downtown stay!

Happy Holidays,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband and I planned a last minute trip to Chicago with our two young children, ages 22 months and 4. After booking the trip, I thought what am I getting myself into, freezing Chicago weather and toddlers, but thanks to Hotel Palomar, our trip couldn't have been more fun. From the moment we arrived we were taken care of, and most importantly, so were our children. From the pet goldfish waiting for us in our room to the 17th floor pool, our kids were in heaven. Then we found out they were doing a screening of Elf one evening complete with popcorn and a hot chocolate bar with all of the fixings! It was perfect, my husband got us amazing "adult" beverages from the Sable Kitchen bar connected to the hotel, while our children sipped their hot chocolate. While I'm on it, we're sort of foodies, and the Sable Kitchen was excellent. We had a wonderful Saturday morning brunch. Seriously, check out the place, you won't be disappointed. The front desk staff was very helpful with directions, train connections, kid-friendly (and yet good) places to eat. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and large enough even with a crib, which was graciously provided by the hotel free of charge. We had a great time exploring Chicago museums, shops, and restaurants, but honestly, I think our kids will remember their experience at the hotel. Thanks Kimpton!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Mary C,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. It is wonderful to read that you and your family truly enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to help make some fun memories for everyone. Your recommendations and praise do not go unnoticed and for them, we are very appreciative. I thank you for choosing to stay with us and please come back and see us soon!

Happy Holidays,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,234 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 192 in Chicago
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 192 in Chicago
3,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £91 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing