We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the few hotels I would stay at again without second thought”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #12 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“One of the few hotels I would stay at again without second thought”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I have high standards and wasn't sure what to expect when we chose to stay at a "boutique" hotel. However, they have good reviews and we got the room at a nice discount/promotion they had at the time. I should *not* have worried! Room (standard 2 queen bed) was as expected- clean, nice decor, average size for being in a major city; we had enough space for 2 adults and a 5 year old. We had a decent city view. Pool was warm and clean with an excellent view of the city since it is located on 17th floor. Location is perfect- the red line is literally around the corner and the hotel is within walking distance to restaurants and shops. The real highlight was the staff; service was beyond excellent! Our son celebrated his birthday over our trip (that and Spring Break were the reasons we went to Chicago) and we mentioned it to the front desk. Later that night, they brought him 2 bottles of Goose Island root beer, some snacks, and coloring activities. We could have had a goldfish in our room, too, but we declined since we were out all day on most of the days we were there. We also received a complimentary bottle of red wine "just because." Complimentary coffee, water, and juices are served all day in the lobby with wine hour nightly. Overall, I will stay here again next time I am visiting Chicago.

Room Tip: Higher is better to avoid street noise. Avoid the 17th floor- that's where the pool and fitness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbellire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear abbellire,

Thank you so much for taking a chance on us and it is great to hear that you were not disappointed! Wonderful to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy our services and your kind comments about our staff are very much appreciated. We hope to see you again later this year for your son's next birthday, or anytime in between!

Sincerely,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,991
    570
    85
    20
    10
See reviews for
656
951
123
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at the Palomar Chicago. Our 2 adjoining rooms were comfortable and had a great view. I had a great Sunday morning with good coffee and the NY Times in the lounge. Excellent service and a good value as we'll - we will be back!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rolland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Rolland S,

Thank you for sharing your feedback here with the Trip Advisor community. Wonderful to know that you had a great visit and that your room accommodations were exactly right for you and your family. I must also mention that your Sunday morning with fresh coffee and the NY Times is a great way to go! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Chicago Palomar.

Kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here twice and will return in future. They just do it right! Very clean. Friendly staff. Nice rooms. Big bathrooms. It all just works, and works well! And they are more than willing to accept your pets!! (Have stayed here once with our pugs).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahornaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear ahornaday,

Your wonderful review and five star rating are very much appreciated! Glad to hear that you have had two great stays with us and that you plan to return. We look forward to it and your pugs are ALWAYS welcome!

Sincerely,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

As first time visitors to Chicago we relied heavily on the recommendations of others on trip adviser and we were not let down. The hotel Palomar is well located, well decorated and employs exemplary staff; I doubt we could have found better. We were delayed by two days because of the weather (our flight was cancelled) and the hotel was flexible with us allowing us to amend out booking at the last minute without charge.

I do have three minor "gripes" which are worth mentioning but not worth being reflective in the score I have given this hotel -
1. Rooms need to have decent toilet paper. Currently Palomar use really cheap toilet paper.
2. The pool needs to be heated. We tried to use it. It it was too cold!
3. Check the rate before you arrive. We booked at $179 per night but they'd any we checked in the rate had gone down to $111. If necessary cancel and rebook or chat with the front desk before checking in to save yourself some money!

Overall would definitely recommend this hotel though.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank charding81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear charding81,

Thank you so much for your detailed and very kind comments here. We appreciate your feedback tremendously and I thank you for sharing all with the Trip Advisor Community. Allow me to say that your "gripes" are anything but! We rely on such feedback and critique in order to improve and I thank you for sharing. One note on our pool, though - it actually is heated, but perhaps was a bit under temperature when you were here - something that we can certainly look into with our engineering team to ensure that all is in working order. I do thank you for your recommendations and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Chicago!

Best regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The trending reviews on the Palomar are correct. Its our first time at this property and we were very satisfied. We stayed there over New Years and found the hotel and its staff very welcoming. I've stayed in many Kimpton Hotels as a In Touch member and I found this property to be one of the best. The staff were consistantly helpful, cheerful and professional. (When was the last time you saw a doorman run to open the door?) I was sick on NY Eve and ordered room service. It was quick and delicious. Hands down one of the best burgers I've had and I called the chef to tell him!
Location is perfect and Eataly is just around the corner. What else could you ask for?

Room Tip: Higher floor is preferred as street noise (sirens) can disturb you at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear RFBoston,

Glad to hear you chose to stay with us for the NYE holiday, but sad to hear you were under the weather that evening! I certainly hope that did not ruin your weekend. Thank you for your kind comments about your experience with us and our team. Great to hear that you are a Kimpton fan and we hope to see you again soon here in Chicago.

Safe travels in 2014 and Happy New Year!

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platte City, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

If your planning to visit downtown Chicago the Palomar Hotel is an excellent place to stay. It's close to great restaurants, shopping, and transportation. The staff were all extremely polite and professional throughout my entire stay. When I asked for recommendations on where to eat or things to do they guided me to some of the best places in Chicago. Overall the Palomar offered a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanyTwinsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear GermanyTwinsFan,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and comments about your stay with us this past fall. It is great to know that you had a nice visit and were treated well by our team. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit!

Kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I've stayed in Chicago before but never here. I was a bit skeptical since I've visited a lot of nice hotels here before with all the great reviews I thought I'd try it out. The minute you walk in the service here is unbeatable. The decorations and cleanliness of this hotel shows the amazing quality they work for. The location is unbeatable, one block from the metro a ton of restaurants and right next to magnificent mile. The hotel even has a free wine hour in the lobby! I had a few special request as I was celebrating a special occasion and the hotel went above and beyond to make sure I had a special stay. I haven't even left yet and had to write a review! I will never stay anywhere else in Chicago again! Also the views from the hotel rooms are AMAZING and the pool on the top floor surrounded by floor to ceiling windows couldn't be prettier great place to relax and take in the entire city skyline. No wonder this hotel has such great reviews, we'll done!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Erin B,

I cannot thank you enough for such a generous and kind review of your recent stay with us! We are so glad to hear that you will now make the Palomar Chicago your home away from home when you are in town. Thank you for giving us a try and we certainly appreciate your five star rating and recommendations. We look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,306 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,530 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#13 of 189 in Chicago
2,729 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing