We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #13 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed at the Palomar while stranded in Chicago in early January. The were fantastic, we had a beautiful room and they hotel thought of everything to make the stay special. The room was impeccable, the linens nice, and the staff very helpful. In fact, when they found out we just got engaged they upgraded us to a nicer room!

We will now make Palomar our go to hotel chain to stay with!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doodles12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Doodles12345,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. Glad to hear that, during an unfortunate situation of being stranded away from home, we were still able to help you and your fiance have a nice time. And by the way, congratulations on your recent engagement! It is great to know that we have made you a loyal fan and I do thank you for your business.

Very kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,992
    570
    85
    20
    10
See reviews for
656
951
123
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Spent a weekend here in Jan with a girlfriend on a girls weekend. We booked the hotel a few hours before as we had reservations at the James that fell through. This hotel was 2 blocks away. Great location, close to everything lots of dining, bars and shopping. Everything is in walking distance. Hotel bar was a lively speakeasy bar that was fairly busy late into Friday night. Concierge were good, helpful. Loved the free coffee and hot chocolate in the lobby in the morning. We had a double room. Beds were comfy. The only two downsides of the experience (1) elevators were a bit slow and (2) there was a dog that was barking quite loudly in the room next to me early in the morning and late at night....the rooms were not that soundproof.

Otherwise, i enjoyed my stay and would likely choose the hotel again for the central location and good price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreedomTraveller1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear FreedomTraveller,

Thank you for sharing your review and feedback here on Trip Advisor from your recent girls' weekend stay. We do appreciate your gracious comments and willingness to return. Glad you enjoyed our location and found our hotel services as well as Sable Bar inviting and comfortable. So sorry for the elevator traffic being a bit heavy as well as the barking dog waking you up...With our pet friendliness, we do our best to maintain a quiet atmosphere, but every so often we do have the "barkers" that can be a little more vocal than others! For your next visit, please make sure to mention this experience when you check in so that we can do our best to avoid any sort of repeat issues...

Until next time, take care!

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Had a great stay at the Palomar for my wife's birthday. The check in/out process was quick and easy. The receptionist was friendly and answered all of our questions with ease. I the room was fantastic, The bed was perfect and soft, same for the pillows. Everything was clean, I couldn't find anything dusty or dirty any where in the room which is awesome. We ordered some room service off the late night menu. they called back and told us that popcorn was no longer carried but they would comp all the other stuff which was awesome. I wish the pool was opened 24hours. We didn't get a chance to use it since it closed at 10pm, only complaint I would have.

The location of the hotel is perfect walking distance to a insane amount of good restaurants and bars (if you into that). We live near chicago, so we know where all the good food and places are, but if your from out of town ask the front desk and the valet guys. Water tower place is a 15 min walk which is nice. Eatly is a 5 min away

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Austin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Austin U,

Thank you for your generous and kind review and rating. Your praise and good comments are very much aprpeciated and it is great to know that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the hotel, as well as some great restaurants and shopping destinations in our neighborhood. Please come back for a visit soon and I wish you safe travels throughout the new year!

Best regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I was very much looking forward to staying at the Palomar as I'd heard great things about the Kimpton property. We had family coming in from out of town and made reservations for 3 rooms. We were celebrating my husband's birthday. Speaking to reservations only reinforced to me that out of all of the choices in Chicago for places to stay this would be a great one. They asked me for all of the children's names and ages in our party so they could have something special waiting for each of them. They also asked for additional info on my husband and his birthday. Finally, they guaranteed a crib in the one room in which it was needed. We arrived and were greeted warmly by door men and front desk but rooms were not ready. We relaxed in the lounge. Overall, facility was nice, and location was great. When we did finally get to our rooms, nothing was waiting including the crib. We had to request the crib multiple times and it finally arrived around 9pm. No other "surprises" were ever delivered despite the front desk telling me they would be when i called to inquire about the crib. Overall, this would not be viewed as complaint worthy--except that the Palomar had taken such great effort to take detailed Information from me and thus set up the expectation that some nice and unique touches would be added.

Property was nice enough and kids enjoyed the pool but small touches were never followed through...left me feeling less than impressed. Oh well....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LRY72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear LRY72,

I want to thank you for sharing your comments here regarding your recent visit. Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and your stay, but I certainly understand that these were overshadowed by your frustration with our lack of follow through on your expectations (which we set) prior to your arrival. We absolutely do our best to help make special memories for our guests, of all ages, especially when birthdays are being celebrated, weekend getaways, and just time with the family...We clearly dropped the ball here and I offer my sincerest apologies. Please contact me directly here at the hotel so that we can work to resolve this unsatisfactory experience and allow us to redeem ourselves by coming back for another try.

I do hope to hear from you soon and again, my apologies for these issues.

Kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The location is perfect. Within a few blocks are several great restaurants, nightlife (Howl at the Moon, RedHead Piano Bar), Eataly(the new all things Italian shopping and eating destination), all in a very walkable area of the city. There is a grocery store across the street. Public transportation, the Red Line on the CTA, is also right around the corner. We loved the pool area and fitness center on the 17th floor, very clean, good equipment, and a great view of the city. Also in the rooms were yoga mats and videos on the TV. We loved the complimentary wine hour in the "living room" and also the heated living room area outside the hotel. It was quite popular with hotel guests on the Friday night so go promptly at 5 pm. Service was personal and amicable. The front desk was dogsitting a puppy when we arrived. Later the owner of the hotel took the puppy home for the night. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom very clean with good quality toiletries. The animal print robes were also quite fun. I also liked the desk with six outlets for all our tablets and cellphones. This was our first experience here and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor with a view of the city and also less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear lkic,

Please allow me to thank you for such a wonderful and detailed review of our hotel and surrounding area! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed all that we have to offer and all that the energetic River North neighborhood has to offer as well. Please come back and see us soon, and we may even have another furry friend behind the front desk to greet you, once again!

Kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Once again had a wonderful stay at the Palomar. From the super quick, friendly check in to the complementary wine and flat bread pizza from 5:-6:00., a great experience. Room was spotless as always. Was upgraded to a city view room, no charge. My favorite hotel in Chicago.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Michael H,

We love being one's favorite hotel in Chicago! Thank you for such loyalty. And thank you for this wonderful and kind review. We certainly look forward to your next visit and please travel safe.

Very kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We were so impressed by the level of service at this hotel. Our room, exercise facilities, and pool area were all clean and comfortable. The staff greeted us (and our dog) by name and the housekeepers in particular went out of their way to make our stay pleasant (never have we stayed in a room that was cleaned with so much thoughtfulness and even whimsy). The toiletries (Etro) were much appreciated. The room service was prompt and reasonably priced, with good quality and portions. We will look forward to returning soon, with or without our pet. We were first-time guests at a Kimpton property and are now big fans of the brand. A wonderful find in a great location!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdumsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear rdumsp,

Welcome to the Kimpton family! It is so nice to read that you all enjoyed your time with us, and truly embraced all that is "Kimpton Love"...Please know that we are grateful for your kind review and five star rating and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Chicago.

Best regards and a happy and healthy 2014,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,307 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,534 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
2,729 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing